We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Farm Inn B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auld Farm Inn B & B to your Saves list
Auld Farm Inn B & B
1817 Bay Rd, Hwy 205 | Baddeck Bay, Box 498, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very good service, good selection of breakfast, nice view, the only draw back was that an overnight storm made their water yellow.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
89
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seeley's Cove N. B.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Jan & Glen Vickers (and staff) made our visit to this scenic and friendly part of Atlantic Canada a true delight. Their hospitality and genuine rapport make you feel as if you are visiting with old friends or family. They are very helpful in the planning and directions for seeing all Cape Breton has to offer. The room we had was lovely. Beds were very comfortable and the whole place is immaculate. We stayed there four days and had a different hot breakfast every day, all delicious. Baddeck is a great central location from which to tour the whole island especially the Cabot Trail. We really feel that staying at, The Auld Farm Inn, added to our experience of Cape Breton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

After lots of driving round NS we found this little haven where we planned to stay one night and ended up staying three. The owners made us feel so welcome and relaxed. We had the use of a communal lounge where we could make drinks at any time and sit and chat with other guests Breakfast was around a big table where you could help youself to juices, cereals, toast, and a hot dish of the day.
From the lounge window and deck we spent a couple of hours trying to photograph the wildlife.....humming birds, chipmunks, squirrels etc.
Situated 5 minutes outside Baddeck, it was an ideal place from which to explore every day. Jan and Glen were full of useful information to make our stay complete. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Auld Farm Inn to anyone

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Jan went out out of her way to accommodate some special food requests, and to provide excellent advice on touring the Cabot Trail. The room we had was large enough for our family of four, although we slept poorly due to several factors (room was a bit hot and the futon was noisy). The house and grounds were beautifully kept and the breakfast was very good. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights along with another couple. This B & B was more than we expected. The photos do not do it justice. The rooms were lovely, very clean, spotless in fact. The owners make you feel at home and welcome you with stories of the history of the farm. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of variety for everyone. The location of the B & B is great for heading out on day trips and exploring theCabot Trail. Beddeck is a beautiful village. We hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Auld Farm B & B is located in a lovely country setting about 5 minutes easy drive from Baddeck. It was also easy to do the Cabot Trail in a day from here. We also went into Baddeck each evening to some lovely restaurants which overlooked the water. We were given lots of helpful advice and were made to feel very welcome in the communal dining and living rooms. There was tea and coffee available at all times and guests quickly became friends in the convivial atmosphere which Jan and Glen fostered.
The breakfasts were excellent with a large variety of food choices and we found ourselves lingering over breakfast as we all discussed our plans and compared notes.
Our room was small, but very comfortable and clean, with an ensuite. We only needed to use the room for sleeping because we could use the living and dining rooms as our own. the only thing we felt was lacking was space to store our things. There was ample parking near the house and we had free WiFi. We felt that we were leaving friends when we left.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Warm and friendly host and hostess - always available. Breakfast ready at 7:30 am - great for early birds. Rooms well kept and comfortable. Almost always full so book ahead - just not when we need a room again :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auld Farm Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Farm Inn B & B

Address: 1817 Bay Rd, Hwy 205 | Baddeck Bay, Box 498, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 No-smoking rooms (D,Q & T; 4 A/C with private entrance), 1 private & 7 ensuite 4-pc baths. Full or light hot buffet breakfast. Renovated farmhouse in quiet country setting; SaTV in living room; wraparound veranda. Close to local amenities, central for day trips. For your information, please note this property now has a resident pet. She is a low to non-shedding 'Golden-Doodle' and her name is KC. Check out her blog on our home page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auld Farm Inn B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Farm Inn B & B Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Farm Inn B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.