We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I have ever stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Save Saved
You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge Inn
22 Water Street | P. O Box 829, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best place I have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in room 5 for 7 days. It was an amazing stay for us, both because of the area of cape Breton, but also because of the owners and the views. Camilla and Michael were so welcoming. They made us feel at home and we could have happily stayed longer. Great advice on the area and always willing to make phone calls / book tours etc. Breakfast included in the price, located in the gallery at the bottom of the inn- fantastic homemade cakes, breads and delicious waffles made there and then for you. This is a wonderful place to stay and we would happily return time and time again. It is so peaceful. Having
been in Baddeck for the start if the regatta we had great views from the balcony of fireworks too which is an added bonus. The inn has reserved parking spaces too- either at the side of on front of the rooms at the front. The inn is clean and has very comfortable rooms.












  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I had an opportunity to spend an evening at the Water's Edge in Baddeck recently. We were booked into room 2 which overlooks the harbour. Absolutely lovely sitting on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine while watching the harbour activity. The room was spacious, clean and it really did have everything you could ask for including a lovely gallery below. The breakfast was perfect. We both had the cereal, fruit and some of the homemade bread (toast). Just enough food. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely with a balcony overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room was large a spacious, fridge TV coffee etc all you needed. Bed was really comfortable and location perfect with view from the deck across the bay. Breakfast was good and waffles superb. Booked for two nights stayed four !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'm not one for one-star reviews, but I believe it's warranted in this case. We arrived by car after a nice, if long, five-hour drive from Halifax via Marine Drive and Sherbrooke. It was about 5:30PM, so I found it strange that the door to their "inn & gallery" was locked. Knocked, no answer. Knocked louder, same result. Phoned, no answer, left a message. Strange, right? So we decided to grab dinner and come back. Came back two hours later, same story -- simply no sign of hotelier nor guest.

Luckily the tourist information desk was helpful in arranging another option for us, but given that I had written to confirm our reservation a week earlier, I was perplexed.

I did receive a candid mea culpa email from the proprietors (notable: two days later), but it rang pretty hollow. I've stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world, but being jilted like this was a first and I certainly would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, Owner at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Yes, this was our fault. We had a summer student in her first few days
on the job and sadly she made a serious error. I am sorry that the client
found the apology hollow and insincere. It was offered sincerely and
we are pleased that their holiday seems to have worked out well
despite the disappointment. This has never happened to us before and
needless to say we deeply regret it. As you can see from the other
five star reviews hospitality is our business and our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We absolutely loved this charming little waterfront inn. There are about 4 rooms that face the harbor with lovely porches. The room was so well appointed with a king bed and wide screen tv. Very spacious and a lovely bathroom. The rooms here are very large and really tastefully furnished.

The staff was a wealth of knowledge and always available to answer our questions. The owner and manager were both really helpful in terms of trip planner and restaurant recommendations.

Lovely breakfast with waffles, cereals, fruits, and the most amazing freshly baked breads and muffins.

I would highly recommend this inn both in terms of quality and location (right in the heart of downtown, yet 1/2 block off the main street, which makes for a quiet and relaxing stay). There are only 2 or 3 rooms per floor and it gives the feeling of staying at an inn with a lot of privacy in each of the rooms.

Room Tip: ask for one of the front rooms facing the water. some have king beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at The Water's Edge with another couple as part of our annual trip to Cape Breton for the International Celtic Colours Festival. This small hotel is beautifully located on the water's edge of the Bras d'Or Lakes. It has an intimate gallery featuring works for sale by Maritimes artists, which is fun to browse even if you are not interested in buying.

Each of our rooms had a balcony and lovely view of the water, literally a stone's throw away. While we had an excellent bed and clean accommodation, a must for us now, what made our visit special was the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. Camilla welcomed us at check in, passed on information for a good choice of restaurant and presided over a delicious breakfast of homemade muffins, bread and waffles.

While Nova Scotia is known for its friendliness and hospitality, The Water's Edge epitomizes this in providing an experience for its guests that we think is unique.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I just spent a couple of days in Baddeck and were lucky to get a room at Water's Edge, Rm. 5, and were very happy with our accommodations. Fantastic view and the room seemed like it was brand new. Our room had a nice deck which overlooked the bay and the Amoeba, which if you have the chance, make sure you take the scenic tour. We enjoyed the breakfast with it's yummy pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and etc.. We will be back!

Room Tip: Grab rm. 5 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 22 Water Street | P. O Box 829, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small charming Inn on the waterfront at Baddeck with it's own famous art and craft gallery. Complimentary breakfast with an outstanding menu of home-baked, natural selection. An Inn, small enough to take your needs seriously. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.