We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North River Kayak Day Tours

North River Kayak Day Tours
644 Murray Rd. | North River Bridge, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
+1 902-929-2628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Baddeck
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NRKT is situated on the Murray Rd. in North River, Cape Breton Island Nova Scotia, Canada. North River Kayak Tours property is located just steps away from our launch site where we paddle anywhere from 3 hours to 5 days along the coastline of Cape Breton Island. See why we are listed within Trip Advisors top 10% receiving their Certificate of excellence in 2013.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unreal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I took my 16 year old son on the 1/2 day tour, and we had such a fantastic day! Right from the minute we got there, we felt comfortable and at home, even though we had very limited experience with kayaking. Justin was our tour guide and he was amazingly patient, kind, and personable. I was a bit nervous of falling in and whatnot, but his reassuring explanations of everything and his humour and wit put me at ease right away. It was just us and one other friendly couple; we had an absolutely lovely time. I would recommend this trip to everyone!! Do it, you'll be so glad you did!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great way to enjoy the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a group of six for kayaking with Angelo and Justin. There were six others with us for our 3 hour kayak excursion on the North River. We felt very well taken care of by our two guides in the double kayaks. Great instruction and safety orientation to kayaking. We had a bit of a headwind and some current to contend with but Angelo and Justin made sure we all made it to the beach (and waterfall) for our snack of banana bread, Angelo's fabulous jam and hot chai. Paddling back was a bit easier and we saw eagles, jellyfish and mackerel in the water along the way. Loved the experience and the care of our guides for a great afternoon in the sun and on the water! Thanks Angelo and Justin and thanks for the music, we enjoyed the CDs during the rest of our journeys in Canada.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best time ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Came here with a few friends and had amazing day. Justin, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and patient. We were shown around the bay and got to visit a beautiful waterfall. The weather cooperated which is a huge plus. This is one of the best things you can do near Baddeck.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great family activity, and a wonderful guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were two families travelling with seven-year-olds, so we opted for the two-hour excursion. Justin, our guide, was fantastic—incredibly knowledgable about the area (and I say that as one who grew up in rural Cape Breton), patient, generous, skilled and funny. We saw several eagles, observed mussel farmers at work, checked out the waterfall and had a great beachside snack (Angelo's homemade jam and custom-blend chai tea are delicious). On top of offering great fun and value for your money, this is a longstanding, locally owned and operated business—the sort of sustainable, grassroots tourism visitors to Cape Breton can feel good about supporting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to Kayak and terrific owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I arrived at North River Kayak and were undecided whether to do our own self-guided tour.....after speaking with Angelo (the owner), we felt perfectly comfortable going out to explore on our own....Angelo didn't hesitate when we expressed our desire to go off on our own and offered to set us up with all the necessary info so that we would have a great time on the River! Angelo is full of wonderful information about the area and is just so very enthusiastic! We couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience....Next time we'll likely do a tour so that we can enjoy the River with really fine folks! Oh, and Angelo makes great music too....been listening to the CD as we continue our travels throughout Nova Scotia and Newfoundland....a most memorable time in the North River area....A special note to Angelo....when you come visit inTucson, make sure you bring that banana bread and homemade jam that we missed out on....for sure, we would have done the tour if we'd known about the Banana bread and Jam....LOL!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North River Kayak Day Tours also viewed

 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to North River Kayak Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North River Kayak Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.