We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & New Scotland = A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worn Doorstep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Worn Doorstep
Save
You added The Worn Doorstep to your Saves list
43 Old Margaree Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Nairn,Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old & New Scotland = A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Booked over the internet not sure what to expect but.....
Exceeded our expectations - we were arrived as strangers to a warm welcome and left as good friends of our hosts Willie & Gina - Willie being from "Old Scotland" with that special Glasgow humour and Gina his long suffering wife from Nova Scotia - a great mixture and a amazing couple who could'nt do enough for us and made our all too short stay truly memorable.

Highly recommended this is THE place to stay in Baddeck good size and comfortable rooms with all mod cons (including a whirpool bath !) - gretat location idealfor exploring Cape Bretton.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Didn't actually stay here in the end - an email hadn't got through to us while we were on the island, which informed us that Willie and Gina had had a phone booking just before ours came in, so we turned up hoping we had a room, but weren't sure.

Many people would have just said, sorry, you're not booked in, but within seconds Gina was on the phone to a friend who ran another B&B in Baddeck, booking us a room if we wanted it, which was fantastic. Then some directions, and we were on our way.

Really lovely and helpful people, so I'm sure that if you actually get to stay there, it's even better!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

My sister, cousin and I went to Cape Breton a couple of years ago for the Celtic Colours festival and to hear a friend play a concert in Sydney, and found ourselves at the Worn Doorstep in Baddeck for the majority of our stay.

I normally find it a little confining staying at a B&B, but Willie and Gina made the experience fun and relaxing. They gave us a tour of their home and Willie's workshop, had a great continental breakfast ready for us to eat every morning, and Willie made us laugh with his humor and insight. Once we got settled in, they asked how our day went, what we did, etc; friendly and warm, but never intrusive.

All in all, if I'm ever in need of a place to stay the next time I'm in Cape Breton, I'll definitely be making my way back to the Worn Doorstep of Willie and Gina Hunter, where it feels like I'm at the home of good friends.

  • Liked — The owners, the location (very close to the Bras d'Or Lake)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcntreal, Qc, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at the Worn Doorstep and were able to use this B&B as a base while visiting the Cabot Trail, Louisbourg, the Highland Scottish Village in Iona, the Alexandre Bell museum in Baddeck and playing a few rounds golf.

Our host, Willie, was extremely pleasant and very attentive to our needs. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable for 3 adults. It was clean, quiet and well located. Altogether, our stay at this quaint B&B leaves only enjoyable memories.

  • Liked — Friendliness of host, spaceous & clean accomodation, great location, price
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike, everything was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

There is absolutely nothing I can say about the Worn Doorstep that has not already been said before. It is the best B & B we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot of them!). As ex-hoteliers, we very, very highly recommend the Worn Doorstep. From the beautiful rooms, to the beautiful views, convenient location, fabulous breakfast and the greatest B & B hosts, we give it top marks for everything. Some people have told me that they don't fancy staying in a B & B because it is in someone else's home. This is very different. It is like a private apartment with just "maid service" bringing in breakfast (at the time YOU want it!) and cleaning up after you. No sharing a communal breakfast table in a communal room. Privacy and peace and quiet - what more could one wish for?
We entered as strangers and came away as friends.

  • Liked — Everything - it was totally wonderful, especially the hosts.
  • Disliked — There was nothing not to like - it was great all round
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I find this review very difficult to write because The Worn Doorstep is much more than a B&B. While the setting and rooms are private, clean, attractive, spacious and comfortable, hosts Gina and Willie truly make the place a home. You will not find any human beings on the planet who are more accessible, and in the very best sense of the word.

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying two nights at The Worn Doorstep. We arrived early and frazzled, but were immediately welcomed and given our room (#4). We met Willie, Gina, and their cats, and fell into easy conversation with our hosts. Almost immediately we felt like we were friends, and they ours, as if we had known them for several years. Apparently Gina and Willie impress nearly everyone with their openness, warmth, humor, and genuine humanity. They are, in a word, authentic . . . the "real deal."

Our room was tastefully decorated and had a queen size bed.It was well equipped with cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, kitchen sink. Our room had a very spacious shower, large enough for two (or more) if you like that sort of thing.

Breakfast items for self-preparation were delivered each morning when requested, and included cereal, eggs, bread, rolls, fresh fruit, yogurt. Coffee and tea were also provided. I had more to eat than I could handle, and at 225 pounds I can do justice to almost any meal! Suffice it to say no lunch was necessary.

All of the rooms at The Worn Doorstep overlook the water, and each has a semi-private patio. There is an expansive lawn for play or relaxation. The hospital is across the street and the liquor store is also very close (I don't know if there is any connection). Baddeck (pronounced "Bah-DECK") is charming, and has a few good restaurants.

As far as we are concerned, The Worn Doorstep is a must. We give it our very highest recommendation, and thank all previous reviewers for having provided similarly high recommendations, which thankfully we followed. Should they read this review, we also thank Willie and Gina for the all-too-short stay we had with them.

  • Liked — What's not to like?
  • Disliked — Great hosts, fine room, location, amenities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

The Worn Doorstep B and B in Baddeck is fabulous. Willie and Gina are tremendous hosts who will help you in any way possible to enjoy your stay with them. The accommodation is based on a bedroom / lounge area and breakfast is delivered to your room at a time selcted by you. Differently flavoured freshly baked bread on offer each morning. Plenty privacy and a great area to visit. My wife and I ( 50's ) travelled from Scotland and toured Nova Scotia in September 2007 and enjoyed a very comfortable 3 night stay at this B and B. I cannot reccomend it highly enough. John

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worn Doorstep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worn Doorstep

Address: 43 Old Margaree Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Worn Doorstep Hotel Baddeck
The Worn Doorstep Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worn Doorstep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.