We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True East Coast charm, luxurious accommodations and the nicest hosts you'd ever meet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worn Doorstep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Worn Doorstep
Save
You added The Worn Doorstep to your Saves list
43 Old Margaree Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“True East Coast charm, luxurious accommodations and the nicest hosts you'd ever meet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked our stay here almost by accident and wish we weren't staying just for the night. Gina and Willie have created a truly comfortable and luxurious stay for all travelers. Multi-level deck overlooking the Bras D'Or Lake is breathtaking and you'll fall soundly asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow in the lovely suite. Thank you so much, guys!! Hope to be back again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Aust
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at The Worn Doorstep for 3 nights. Rooms are well-furnished, comfortable and airy, spacious and fully equipped for self-catering - nothing is missing. We had two rooms opening onto a verandah with tables and chairs and the sunset was thrown in for free.

Baddeck is small and you can walk everywhere from the Worn Doorstep. Willi and Gina are long-term residents and are expert on Cape Breton Island. They helped us considerably with our itineraries. Be prepared for lots of local anecdotes.

We note that the plumbing is audible from one room to another - but this is a triviality when everything else is so delightful. There may be better guest houses in Baddeck but the WD exceeds all requirements and is outstanding value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

What can I say that hasn't already been said? My 84 yr old mother, my sister and I visited the Worn Doorstep for 5 nights last week. Willie and Gina were the most helpful, gracious hosts and we enjoyed a suite with 2 beds, a living room and small kitchen. It was perfect for us as a base for exploring Cape Breton. Willie has lots of suggestions for sights along the Cabot Trail, for restaurants and activities. We enjoyed attending several ceilidhs that were at the St. Michael's Parish Hall across from the B&B. They are held at 7:30pm every night in July & August and cost $10. It was suggested to go about 6pm to get seats reserved and we enjoyed front row entertainment Cape Breton style which kept our toes tapping for hours! We would not suggest taking the shortcut from Baddeck to Judique as directed by our GPS. It takes you on a scenic but dangerous unpaved road. At all costs, avoid River Deny Mountain road! The people of Nova Scotia are extremely friendly and helpful. The weather was perfect for a 2 hour sailing excursion on the Amoeba sailboat. Baddeck is a charming village and everything is an easy walk from the Worn Doorstep. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This a a super place to stay, I cant recommend it highly enough. Willie and Gina are welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. Lovely people. The accommodation is spacious, well appointed and within easy walking distance of all the things you may need in Baddeck. We enjoyed our time here very much and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed in unit 4 at the Worn Doorstep for 3 nights whilst touring Nova Scotia. Really enjoyed our stay. Willie and Gina are great hosts and the room was spacious, well furnished and contained everything we needed. Baddeck is a lovely little town with a handful of good restuarants only about 5 to 10 minutes walk away, we found the seafood at the Bell Boy especially to our liking. An ideal base for the Cabot Trail. We would definately recommend you stay here, its comfortable, well located and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I booked the Worn Doorstep based on previous TripAdvisor reviews. Am I ever thankful I did! Thank you to all previous reviewers.

Willi & Gina are the consummate hosts. Helpful in every way, without being intrusive or bothersome.

The rooms are large and beautiful, with both a sleeping area (very comfortable bed), and full living area with kitchenette. Everything you need to make your own simple meals. Or, just make the short walk to downtown Baddeck's good selection of restaurants.

Incredibly peaceful - in a word ... perfection.

If you're travelling to Baddeck, either for fun or business, The Worn Doorstop is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I cannot praise Gina, the owner of this property enough. I emailed to tell her I was arriving late (8pm) and asked where the bus stop was located. She replied that it was on the highway out of town and there is no taxi service. However she then rearranged her day's program so as to be there for me when I arrived (half an hour late). As it I was raining, I was doubly grateful. Gina drove me back to the bus stop when I departed at 9am 3 days later and also rang around to arrange a tour of the Cabot trail for me. The accommodation is excellent. No breakfast (as preadvised) but there was a jug, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and utensils. I would have liked some coffee and sugar, as I was travelling by public transport. The town is only a short walk away. Probably better for those with a car. The room was spacious with everything you could need.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worn Doorstep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worn Doorstep

Address: 43 Old Margaree Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Worn Doorstep Hotel Baddeck
The Worn Doorstep Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worn Doorstep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.