We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadwater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Broadwater Inn to your Saves list
Broadwater Inn
975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPRING SPECIAL $99.99!
Ranked #5 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having stayed in business hotels for the last 15 yrs, this was the first B&B stay in a long time. We were able to book at short notice and were personally greeted by John, the owner. He very quickly made us feel at home and while sharing stories he also shared a beer. A great welcome.
John pointed us in the right direction for our tour of the Cabot Trail the next day and even provided us with a covered map with the highlights and insider tips marked on it. We had two breakfasts and the they were, along with the good food, like a living history show.
A most memorable stay and we can certainly recommend Broadwater Inn to any prospective guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Let me first start by staying that right from the start of my reservation John made it truly easy, He is down to earth and a very nice man, He does anything and everything he can to make you feel at home and he does it to perfection.

We are a couple in our late 20's but this place is for anyone and everyone of all ages.

This is not my first time traveling or staying at places, i've been all over Canada for the most part staying at hotels while we travel, HOWEVER we live in cape Breton and for the first time thought we would take advantage of this beautiful island we have and stay close to home, we usually camp but always loved the idea of escaping away to a cabin for a night, well this cabin has anything and everything you need to have an amazing night, from beginning to end.

Haven't ever being at the boardwater inn & cabins before it exceeded our expectations, and brings you back a few years to some amazing history, the properties are VERY well kept, up to date, NOT to mention some # 1 Renting Points: 3 of the cabins have HOT TUBS, the one we had had underwater mood changing lights, needless to say....AMAZING, i didn't get out of the hot tub until 1 a.m how can you when the night air is 11 degrees and the hot tub is 103 !!!! LOVED IT.

There is also bbq's, Fire pits, New flat screen tv's it had to been a 47" or bigger, satellite tv, DVD player, Ipod dock radio, tons and tons of room,Privacy, tons of every day essentials that are kept in the cabin, literally all you have to do is pack your clothes, there is a grocery store like 3 minutes up the road, restaurants, and yes for you fellow drinkers there is a liquor store and convenience store up the road as well.

The pictures does not do it the justice it deserves, the B&B is in its original state and the seeing the old interior truly brought you back to the history of the inn.

I love this place so much i did not want to leave, I love the place so much that you don't want to share how much a gem this place is so you can have it all to yourself, but after seeing and getting to spend one night of peace, tranquility and relaxation i believe everyone should experience this amazing escape .

Don't take my word, come experience it yourself, if you don't you really are missing out, the Guestbook is Awesome to read as well, people come from all over, around here, china, Australia, Scotland, It's great to see people coming from all over the world to enjoy a part of our island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Charming B&B with a lake view in Baddeck. Great place for a relaxing time while visiting Cape Breton. Good value for the price. Very nice porch to relax and the property owner makes a habit of visiting with all customers at the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Broadwater Inn on May 16th and 17th. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. John the Inn keeper a wealth of knowledge. Other guest also loved their rooms and breakfast was just fine. Would not hestitate to go back again and would encourage others to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and nice accomodations. The view of the lake is lovely. The location is a convenient launching point to the Cabot Trail.

We loved the historical context and information provided. If you're going to visit the Alexander Graham Bell museum in Baddeck, you must stay here-- there is a rich history to be learned and John the Innkeeper is very knowledgable. John is very friendly, great story teller and provided helpful tips for sights along the Cabot Trail.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Library room has history and is large with private in suite bathroom. Bay room has better view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Library Room and were so enthralled by the whole feel of this inn and its keeper, John Pino. This man's heart and soul is in the place and he knows the area inside out and is a wealth of historical information. He prides himself on maintaining a clean, well-kept and super friendly establishment. We had many conversations and felt so at-home in the beautiful surroundings. We wre truly impressed and highly recommend the Broadwater Inn!!! Thanks, John :) Vicki and Paul G.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our second stay at this B&B. The first stay was in the cottages and the last a couple of weeks ago in the Inn. There is something about the people of Cape Breton that makes you want to come back so we did. Don't expect luxury. Do expect great rooms and an innkeeper(John) that makes you welcome and serves a great breakfast. John seems to attract repeat customers that are part of the great feeling you get staying there. John's local knowledge was a great help especially during our last stay during the Celtic Colours Festival. The location is perfect for touring Cape Breton

Bruce and Kathryn, Arroyo Grande CA

Room Tip: ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Inn

Address: 975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broadwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Hotel Baddeck
Broadwater Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.