We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunlop Inn

Save Saved
You added The Dunlop Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dunlop Inn
552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waterfront Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Five rooms, all but one en suite. Four up some pretty steep stairs on the second floor. Unless you travel light, go for the one on the first level.

Very nicely furnished with direct waterfront views in a convneient location across the street from the Bell Museum.

Adequate breakfast.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a beautiful inn in an incredible location. The room was luxurious & the sitting room downstairs has a wonderful view over the water. You would want to stay for longer except that the breakfast was very disappointing. Help yourself style is fine but, for the price, I expected more than very ordinary cereal, sliced bread out of the fridge, a few packets of jam etc & a piece of fruit. I would suggest some yoghurt, granola, fresh bread & pastries.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Dunlop Inn does not have any owners in residence. A member of staf fattends in the morning to oversee the continental breakfast. Having said that the reception rooms are at your disposal. Both of which are very nice and cozy and the rear one has a wonderful view of the water and lighthouse of Baddeck.
The rooms are clean and light (we stayed in the Garden Room and the Lighthouse Room). The only downside was the size of the bathrooms (just big enough for a shower, toilet and sink).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful 5 day honeymoon stay in the Dunlop Inn. The building is a charming old clapboard house with only a small number of bedrooms (4, I think). In addition, there are 3 public rooms, the drawing room, sun lounge and the kitchen. It is beautifully and charmingly decorated and furnished with wonderful old pieces of Canadiana. It also has a private deck along the shore of the Bras d'Or, as other reviewers have mentioned. We had the "Lighthouse Room" which we strongly recommend with beautiful views over the lake and the charming old lighthouse. An ample contnental breakfast is supplied which set us up nicely for a day's exploration of beautiful Cape Breton. No review of the Dunlop Inn would be complete without a mention of Chris the charming and cheerful housekeeper. Apart from maintaining the house beautifully, her cheerful nature and friendly, helpful manner were the perfect start to each day. We have no hesitation in strongly recommending this lovely old hotel to anyone who wants to get out of the rat race for a while and get reconnected with things that really matter

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the Dunlop Inn this past weekend for one night, as we passed through Baddeck. Although the town seemed to be shut down for the season, it was still beautiful.

The Inn has been restored and is more comfortable than any other Inn we've stayed at. The rooms are decorated nicely and the sunroom (with view of the lake) and kitchen were great bonuses.

A couple of small things - the Bell Bouy restaurant next door had an after-hours party, and the the music shook the whole house until 4:30 am, which didn't allow us to get much sleep. We had eaten there earlier (the Bell Bouy) and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Food was pricy and very bland. Also, the heat seemed to be pre-set and it was quite warm at night (we're used to sleeping with the temp cooled down).

All in all, however, a fantastic place to stay. We had friends over, who were staying at other places, and drank wine in the sunroom, and they all agreed that next time everyone should stay at Dunlop Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This place is a real find. We had spent 2 weeks touring NS with good lodgings and Dunlop house did not disappoint. Breakfast was self serve (as advertised) and although choice was limited, quantity was not. We stayed in the Lighthouse room which had brilliant views over the Island and Harbour. Views from the porch are stunning and we enjoyed watching the sun go down sipping our own wine purchased in the local shop. Several good restaurants nearby although the lobster dinner at the Telegraph House Inn will take some beating.
Taking the small ferry (free) to the Island to swim was a great experience.
The Cabot Trail is almost "on the doorstep".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emeryville, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I had the place to myself as I was travelling pre-season. I had a lovely room right on the water (Lighthouse Room) with excellent WIFI and comfortable bed. It was quiet but I imagine that with a house full of guests and all the hardwood floors it might not be, as this is an historic building. However, the amenities (and restoration) were excellent - it was nice to have a common room (den) on the water to lounge in - had TV and videos, magazines and games. Breakfast was self-serve - but all set out the night before - again, "continental" did not mean cheap pastries and coffee, but choice of cereals, yogurt, fruits, etc plus toast so I had plenty to eat. Full kitchen for cooking if you so desired. The building itself was beautiful. Might be hard for an older person to get one's luggage upstairs. Food is available (full restaurant service) at the sister-inn - The Telegraph House, but was not yet open as it was pre-season.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dunlop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunlop Inn

Address: 552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dunlop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunlop Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunlop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.