We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunlop Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dunlop Inn to your Saves list
The Dunlop Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in October and it was a very warm and comfortable place. Our room was very nice as was the whole place - beautifully decorated and very inviting. Our room was in the front of the Inn but very quiet. The location was great - right on the water and next door to a very good restaurant. Would highly recommend this place. Go and visit the Bell Museum - it is very interesting and informative.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Dunlop Inn. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with a small bathroom (perfectly adequate for us). The best part was the view of the lake and lighthouse. The house itself was full of charm and character with communal sitting areas and a deck and small beach. Breakfast was good. It was self service but the friendly and informative housekeeper was there to help out and to give us any info we required. Would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone doing the Cape Breton Trail, or just visiting Baddeck (itself a pleasant interesting small town).

Room Tip: The Lighthouse Room has the best view, although it is not the largest of the rooms available.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Dunlop Inn and could not have picked a better location for all we wanted to do. On the water with dock and small beach, pier, museum, restaurants, walking the town it was all about location and views of the water. Our inn keeper was very friendly, the rooms comfortable and the kitchen available. Basic continental breakfast was do it yourself so you are on your own time fame. When in Baddeck I would suggest staying here unless you are looking for a resort.

Room Tip: We had room on front side of house so didn't get the water view, not missed, as we were out on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Dunlop Inn, and would've loved to have stayed longer! The house was immaculate and homely - we had use of the kitchen, sunroom, lounge and garden. The lake-side decking was also a great place to sit and relax with a cold beer! This is a perfect place to spend a few nights before or after embarking on the Cabot Trail. The breakfast is basic, but fresh and tasty with cereals, bagels, english muffins, coffee, juice, fruit, yoghurts etc served. Cris, the housekeeper, was also very accommodating and friendly! Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed two nights here on our travels through Cape Breton. A good launching site for driving thru the Cape Breton Highland National Park. The town of Baddeck is walkable and has some good restaurants. The Inn was very lovely. Right on the water. Rooms were clean and airy and comfortable. Inn is small so was quiet and peaceful. Beautiful surroundings. A very nice breakfast. Nice common areas of lounges. Highly recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I spent one night at the Dunlop Inn and wished it had been more! After my long drive from Halifax up to Baddeck I was delighted with this B&B. The room I stayed in was stunning. The house is immaculate and has everything you could need. The absolute best feature was the sunroom that looks out onto the back deck right on the water. It was truly a delight. You can walk through the whole little town from this location and there are several restaurants near by. I loved sitting out on the deck and enjoying the peace of looking at the water, the lighthouse, the boats and the blue heron sitting on a dock nearby. The house was quite and comfortable for a great sleep.

I left very early the next morning to get a head start on the Cabot Trail so I can't comment on breakfast. However the kitchen was stocked with coffee, cookies, etc. I would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night but wished it was longer. This older home right on the lake has been converted to a B&B. We stayed upstairs in the Lighthouse Room with views of the lake and lighthouse. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional with new high quality towels. The best part was the sunroom and deck where we sipped wine and watched the sun drop behind the clouds. Just lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunlop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunlop Inn

Address: 552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunlop Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dunlop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunlop Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunlop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.