We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and chalets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Dart Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Dart Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views and chalets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent 2 nights in chalet, staff made us feel very welcome...even with a dog.
Food in restaurant was good but portions were small in appetizers.
Great facilities with lots of amenities to "play".
Room was awesome, clean and comfy and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was spotless and had all that we needed. Small kitchenette was also very well stocked. Wish we could stay longer as there was lots we wanted to do but ran out of time.
Only negative was that the free wifi was very slow and inconsistent in the chalets.

Room Tip: Chalets were GREAT. Up on the hill with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    51
    16
    4
See reviews for
72
175
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked through Hotels.com 3-4 months in advance and paid up front - when we arrived on a Thursday our room was NOT ready at 3pm and we had to wait ~30 minutes to check in.

Our room was barely above ground and did not have a garden and pool view as promised - it had an asphalt view of the parking lot and laundry facilities and did not have a fridge. While I was waiting for our room to be ready I overheard one of the front desk staff quote availability for a two bedroom chalet at $129 per night which was far less than the $157 we had paid and had a view of a good portion of the property particularly the playground and the pool.....somI went back and was told as we booked through Hotels,com that any changes would be an upgrade at a cost to us - my husband had the iPad open with their posted rates and we were then offered the chalet which we took.

Once that was sorted we had a lovely stay, location is convenient to The Cabot Trail, the lovely town of Baddeck and other various towns in the area.

The restaurant food was good - particularly the mussels and the evening show on Cape Breton was quite nice.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a water view - would not recommend a chalet unless you know the people in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spent two nights here during our recent trip to Nova Scotia. We were very pleased overall with our stay. Staff were very nice and accommodating. I had booked a King room in the main lodge through Bookings.com. A view was very important to us. The first two rooms we were shown had an obstructed view. But Room 5 was a winner---fabulous view of the lake and the grounds. Room 15 was above us and probably would have an even better view. We were not bothered by noise at all from the room above us. Some have commented on dated decor which makes me think some rooms may have been renovated and others not. Our room was very spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed and two very comfortable easy chairs. If you had a rainy day you could spend the time quite happily in this room. Bathroom had tub and toilet in a room and sink in the area right outside---I like this when traveling because one can shower while the other is using the sink and mirror. There are several buildings on the property, you probably need to ask some questions to get a room which will meet your needs.

We had breakfast one day and it was okay, not great---but the view is spectacular! We looked at the dinner menu but it didn't appeal to us so we ate dinner elsewhere.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 5 in the Main Lodge was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a good stay last month. Rooms are rather large and very clean. The place feels somewhat dated, but every place in Cape Breton feels that way. We didn't bother getting a "room with a view". As you can see from pictures, there is a huge lawn, and the water is way across the road.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: No need to get a room with view. Save your money for something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Amanda was amazing, but, she is no longer there... she will be missed...
The lodge was a very nice place to stay and the staff made us feel like we were home... Each time we walked in most staff greeted us like we were family... Too many names to remember, but we want to thank all of them for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, huge suite with a separate room for the kids. We had a great time. The room rate does not include breakfast, you better off getting your own breakfast as the hotel breakfast is pretty expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We got this hotel last minute from the Welcome Center in Baddeck. We had been busy all day and had planned to drive another hour or so off Cape Breton Island before stopping for the night, but we were just too tired. The hotel was just fine for us! Great views, the room was large with a balcony. Our room was was clean, beds were comfy. I will agree that it is a bit outdated, but we had everything we needed at a fair price! There was a fun presentation in the dining room that evening that we enjoyed. The hotel is close enough to town to enjoy restaurants and shops. The breakfast was very good. We would stay here again. No complaints!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Dart Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Dart Lodge has Baddeck's best panoramic view of the Bras d’Or Lakes! Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure. The perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience.Featuring Baddeck's finest panoramic view of the Bras d'Or Lakes from McCurdy’s,our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant with lounge and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private beach, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dart Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.