We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Dart Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Dart Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at the SDL on our honeymoon while touring the Cabot Trail. The staff were all amazing to us and very friendly. The restaurant offered many delicious meals and the view from the restaurant is breath taking. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was the best possible experience. We were treated by all the staff as if we had been friends for years. Definitely looking forward to return and most certainly would recommend to others to stay at the Silver Dart!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
WOW - Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and the property. I was so pleased to read your review and will make sure the staff see it as well. We certainly hope you will come and visit with us again sometime in the near future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    51
    16
    4
See reviews for
72
175
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Baddeck is a lovely coastal village. Many use its a starting point to circumnavigate the Cabot Trail. It is also home to the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. Baddeck s filled with many lovely shops and great restaurants. It is also filled. With numerous inns and B and B's. because of that, The Silver Dart could use some sprucing up. The rooms are stuck in the 80's, the wifi is lousy, and the food is uneven in quality. My husband and I spent 2 nights as we were cycling around The Cabot trail. Our first dinner was disappointing, our second was better.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, you need to stay in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry you were not pleased with your visit. We have just completed a major renovation project of most of our guest rooms, however, there are still some that do need a little updating. We have been experiencing a few issues with our WIFI and are presently working with our company to ensure it is rectified as soon as possible. We thank you for taking the time to comment on our property as it helps us to improve upon our products and services for our future guests. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in early June and it was a nice stay. Pretty empty so it was very quiet. Great views with 2 queen beds and a pull out couch, smallish bathroom. Had a nice (kind of hidden) walking trail behind our room. The staff were great in the reception area, very helpful. Our room package included breakfast and a dinner. Breakfast was great (no buffet since it was not very busy), but a full breakfast order and dinner was nice with another fantastic view. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We opted to use Baddeck as a gateway into and out of Cape Breton National Park on our 2-week motorcycle journey to Nova Scotia. While Baddeck has several great hotel choices from which to choose, we opted for the Silver Dart Lodge, mostly because even my first conversation with the reservation agent made me feel very welcomed from the start – they wanted me to stay there. That warm welcome carried through both of our single-night stays at the resort.

Silver Dart is on the main drag just outside of the heart of Baddeck, but it an easy walk to the center of town. It is situated on the lake and many rooms have views. Upon arriving at the resort, you are immediately welcomed with the greenest grass and most colorful flowers I have yet to see. A speedy check-in had us on our way to our 2-room cabin/bungalow which is perfect for families travelling together as they all of inter-room connecting doors. And they boast their own parking area and patios overlooking the lake down below. These rooms are very spacious and feature a sitting area with pellet stove and a kitchenette.

The resort features a heated outdoor pool (while I didn’t swim in it, it did feel quite warm even for so late in the season), a pub and restaurant which serves an excellent breakfast (the BEST English muffins I have ever eaten), and guest laundry which was a godsend to us on a 2-week motorcycle tour.

While the resort caters to bus groups (we saw several during each of our stays), it is equally as accommodating to individuals and made it a perfect getaway in Baddeck. I would gladly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We travelled with a 3rd adult and found the 2-room bungalows perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Good evening: It was so wonderful to read your review! I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will think of the Silver Dart Lodge on your next visit to Baddeck. Hope to hear from you soon! Denise MacLeod, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencaitland, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After having stayed at the SDL on previous visits to Cape Breton, we decided to go for the Celtic Colours in October. The SDL is so central and is ideal for travelling throughout Cape Breton. We started off at Port Hawkesbury for the opening concert, which was oneof the best concerts I have been to. The talent was amazing. We arrived late at the SDL but there was no problem getting into our acccommodation. A lovely room with a view of the Lake and a balcony to sit on when the sun was shining.
As always the SDL reached all our expectations, the food in the restaurant and the friendliness of the staff make it so welcoming.
After the concerts at night the Piping College had a Ceilidh which went on until 3.00 a.m.every morning. It is so well organised for Celtic Colours they have a bus going round the hotels to take you there and return you to the hotel. From the hotel the trip takes about 10 minutes.
This was a great way to meet new people who were staying at different hotels and came from all over.

My only disappointment was that Darrel Keigan no lonmger plays at the SDL and I never managed to catch up with him at any of the concerts.
I hope I can afford to have a holiday like the wonderful one we had in Canada in October, but it would have to be good to beat this one.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Good evening: I was reading your review about your stay last October. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit at Silver Dart Lodge and the wonderful Celtic Colors Festival. The entertainment at these shows is truly amazing! It is great comments such as yours which help us to know if we are pleasing our customers. We hope to see you again at Festival time and again, thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A most pleasant place to stay whether for a long break or to chill out on a long tour as we did. Of particular note was the walk down to the water's edge. Most romantic!

The hotel is well placed for the ferry to Newfoundland and a tour of the Cape Breton highlands.

The lodge is a little dated but it is welcoming and comfortable. Rooms with a view of the water are very large.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was a good place to stay for getting to Cape Breton Island but the lodge is very dated and in need of a facelift. The view from our room was amazing though. We ate in the restaurant the first night we were there and the chef kindly cooked a special vegetarian meal for my friend but when we went for breakfast it had all been under the heat lamps for far too long and was dried up and unappetizing. However breakfast was paid for separately so we just turned tail and found a really nice little cafe in the town so no money wasted at all. The room was clean and very comfortable with a small balcony

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Dart Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Dart Lodge has Baddeck's best panoramic view of the Bras d’Or Lakes! Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure. The perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience.Featuring Baddeck's finest panoramic view of the Bras d'Or Lakes from McCurdy’s,our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant with lounge and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private beach, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dart Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.