We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our brief stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Save Saved
You added Silver Dart Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cabot Trail Touring Guide
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Baddeck
Halifax & UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our brief stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Initially disappointed as I thought the chalets were detached but we were lucky to have quiet neighbours, and apart from a little snoring in the early hours, and a smoke alarm going off in the morning, they didn’t really bother us at all. We made our own breakfast in the chalet’s tiny kitchenette, coffee maker/fridge/toaster/knives and forks, plates, glasses/washing up stuff and drying cloth were all supplied. The grounds were beautiful, and the trail down to the beach very pretty. Service was excellent, from arrival to departure, and the evening meal lovely. We did have to eat late to work around the visiting coach trip, so might be worth reserving ahead if you intend eating at the hotel, or checking out other options nearby just in case. The pool was so warm and inviting; it was like swimming in a big bath! Yes the hotel was a little rustic, but this is Cape Breton and we have stayed in far more basic accommodation in the past. It’s part of the experience and this hotel had a certain charm which we enjoyed. Thanks for a lovely visit. We’d love to return, and perhaps try breakfast and a lodge room next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    104
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
62
133
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a college student, I worked a summer in the Silver Dart Lodge dining room.
The dining room's view has not changed over the years; thank goodness because it has a panoramic view of the Bras D'Or Lake. The layout of the dining room is a bit different but blends with the decor of the older part of the room.
The food quality remains the same - very good!
Our waitress was well informed re: menu and very friendly and efficient!
The front desk area has changed but not the congenially of the staff.
A bar area and gift shop have been added close the reception area.
Overall the lodge has expanded to include newer motel units, cottages and MacNeil House which was our staff house when I worked as a student.
We have been quests in the motel unit and most recently in the MacNeil House suites.
What a change in accommodations in MacNeil House as I knew it!! This summer, we had a compact kitchen which opened up to a dining/living room area with propane fireplace. The bathroom was small but had a jacuzzi tub. Our bedroom was not very large but had a wonderfully comfortable bed.
The chambermaid was very friendly and helpful.
All in all the friendliness of the staff seems to have remained over the years even with the expansion.
There is an outdoor pool, party room with BBQ and walking trails. The Beach Walk, across the road, leads to the lake which has a portable wharf, sitting area and gazebo. Sure is different from only the rocks we could put our beach towels on before or after we swam!

Room Tip: We wanted a room facing the lake but that was not available when we made reservations. The oldest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have tried several other places in the Baddeck area and this one is our favorite. It is in a great location with a beautiful view.
The rooms are clean and very comfortable, the staff are friendly and always helpful, and the food in McCurdy's dining room is very good.
The breakfast buffet has a lot of choices but you can order off the menu and get anything you might not find on the buffet. Lots of tasty choices!
Best of all, it is an excellent value and a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Since the SDL is a rather large facility the rooms vary considerably from building to building. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Silver Dart Lodge is reasonably priced, comfortable and clean place to stay in Baddeck, a beautiful little Cape Breton village. The lodge has beautiful grounds and a terrific view of Lake Bras D' Or. We stayed in the East Lodge for both our stays there. The rooms in the East Lodge were modern and a typical "hotel room" design. The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping service maid (Sue) was excellent. The lodge grounds have several nice short hiking trails leading to the woods and lake front. Food service and food quality was very good and the lodge staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The lodge, like most things in Cape Breton is a little "rustic", but very clean and with terrific view of the Lake. The house keeping service was outstanding. On our first day, the housekeeper asked us if we needed anything or had any special requests, like extra coffee, etc. That's the first time I can remember that happening. Altogether a really good place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Silver Dart is well located for exploring the western side of Cape Breton, but is somewhat overpriced for the quality of the accomodations and dining. The staff is friendly and accomodating and the view of the lake is lovely. The buffet breakfast is mediocre and overpriced, with the same food served everyday, which gets a little monotonous if you are staying several nights. It would have seemed a better value had the room been priced at less than $100/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

For the second year in a row we have stayed at the Silver Dart while attending the Celtic Colours Music Festival. This year we stayed in both sides of a chalet with adjoining doors. Our room included the Buffet breakfast or full breakfast every morning which we really enjoyed. Every night after a wonderful concert we returned to the Silver Dart and felt as if we were coming home. There was a shuttle that came to the lodge to pick up those who wanted up to go to the after hours Festival Club which meant the others could rest. A really beautiful view of the lake to wake up to every morning. Very clean and well maintained. If you want to have the most beautiful rest combined with great hospitality and attend the best organized community music festival you should stay at the Silver Dart during the Celtic Colours.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Dart Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Dart Lodge has Baddeck's best panoramic view of the Bras d’Or Lakes! Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure. The perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience.Featuring Baddeck's finest panoramic view of the Bras d'Or Lakes from McCurdy’s,our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant with lounge and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private beach, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dart Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.