We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Baddeck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Save Saved
You added Silver Dart Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cabot Trail Touring Guide
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Baddeck
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Baddeck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Silver Dart Lodge is reasonably priced, comfortable and clean place to stay in Baddeck, a beautiful little Cape Breton village. The lodge has beautiful grounds and a terrific view of Lake Bras D' Or. We stayed in the East Lodge for both our stays there. The rooms in the East Lodge were modern and a typical "hotel room" design. The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping service maid (Sue) was excellent. The lodge grounds have several nice short hiking trails leading to the woods and lake front. Food service and food quality was very good and the lodge staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    105
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
62
136
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The lodge, like most things in Cape Breton is a little "rustic", but very clean and with terrific view of the Lake. The house keeping service was outstanding. On our first day, the housekeeper asked us if we needed anything or had any special requests, like extra coffee, etc. That's the first time I can remember that happening. Altogether a really good place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Silver Dart is well located for exploring the western side of Cape Breton, but is somewhat overpriced for the quality of the accomodations and dining. The staff is friendly and accomodating and the view of the lake is lovely. The buffet breakfast is mediocre and overpriced, with the same food served everyday, which gets a little monotonous if you are staying several nights. It would have seemed a better value had the room been priced at less than $100/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

For the second year in a row we have stayed at the Silver Dart while attending the Celtic Colours Music Festival. This year we stayed in both sides of a chalet with adjoining doors. Our room included the Buffet breakfast or full breakfast every morning which we really enjoyed. Every night after a wonderful concert we returned to the Silver Dart and felt as if we were coming home. There was a shuttle that came to the lodge to pick up those who wanted up to go to the after hours Festival Club which meant the others could rest. A really beautiful view of the lake to wake up to every morning. Very clean and well maintained. If you want to have the most beautiful rest combined with great hospitality and attend the best organized community music festival you should stay at the Silver Dart during the Celtic Colours.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a family we had adjoining rooms . We felt we were back in the 70,s . bathrooms having mildew on the shower tiles and the mirror has large blacken out areas from age, we were awakened through the night from nearby rooms having a shower etc due to the noisy plumbing. same time a dehumidifer running outside our door. For the price two people paying 160.00 and our party of three 180.00 did not include a complimentry breakfast they did offer 15.00 breakfast buffet . Having said the following night not to far away we stayed in a self contained chalet with fire place and more rooms for two people 159.99 and same cost for our family of three both chalet having two rooms in them . Enclosing the grounds and main building were well kept and updated , we shall not return or recommend this five star Motel which we would rate as 3 star . Overpaid and disappointed ! Thankgiving weekend witch they said its there last weekend for opening of the year ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Disappointed. Old and tired. Not good value for $. I thought viewing on the website and the price was a bit more upscale than it was. Bathroom fixtures need updating. No fan in bathroom, shower head was small like the TV. Who has a 19" TV in a hotel room now days? Clean. Restruant is a bit pricey. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Chalets are updated compared to the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Last weekend we had the pleasure of staying at the Silver Dart Lodge in beautiful Baddeck on our way to travel the beautiful Cabot Trail! We have stayed at 4 other properties in Cape Breton and this one was our favourite by far!

The grounds are HUGE, beautiful and right across the street from the water which provides a great view. During check in the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful, filling us in on everything we needed to know about the property and amenities and even provided us a map and recommended a route to tour Baddeck.

We booked a Chalet which had a nice big King size bed and I was delighted to see a douvet instead of your standard old bed spread, which is rare. The room was a good size, quiet, clean and private and looked freshly painted. It had great character and maritime charm! It was very handy to have a kitchenette and nice surprise to have a flat screen TV! Although with the amazing water view off the deck we didn't watch much TV!

For dinner we ate at the restaurant on the property and were fortunate enough to be seated at a table next to one of the many windows where we could enjoy the fantastic water view. The service was efficient and friendly and the food was really good. I especially loved the oysters and the carrot cake!

The bed was really comfortable, again a rare find for sure! So we slept great and then took a walk around the beautiful grounds and walking trails! Then we returnrd to their restaurant for a yummy breakfast seated next to a window to enjoy the beautiful view. Again the staff were friendly and attentive. My husband had the buffet and I enjoyed a meal off the menu and both were great!

After breakfast we took out a couple of the bicycles they have on the property to use! It was really fun as neither of us had ridden a bike in probably 10 years. Just an unexpected fun find at a resort property and a great way to explore the grounds and trails.

We were sad to leave, really wish we allowed more time in our trip so that we could have stayed another night or two. Upon checkout the staff again were very nice and efficient.

Overall a great experience and we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The Chalets offer great views off the decks, highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Dart Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Dart Lodge has Baddeck's best panoramic view of the Bras d’Or Lakes! Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure. The perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience.Featuring Baddeck's finest panoramic view of the Bras d'Or Lakes from McCurdy’s,our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant with lounge and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private beach, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dart Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.