We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flora's dinners are at the Lakeside restaurant during the summer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub

Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub
368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada (Formerly Lakeside Landing)
902 295-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Baddeck
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub at Inverary Resort! We offer a hot, hearty breakfast in Flora's each morning seasonally and reservations are available for upscale dining with an extensive wine list each evening. Our Thistledown Pub offers a large selection of cocktails and many locally brewed favorites along with our own twist on classic pub fare. Live local entertainment is offered in the Thistldown each evening and we are open late! Join us at Inverary for a great dining experience! We are open to all who love to eat!
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Flora's dinners are at the Lakeside restaurant during the summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Inverary Resort is large (for Baddeck) and includes Flora's restaurant, the Thistledown Pub, and the Lakeside restaurant. Beginning July 1st, dinners are served at the Lakeside which has a wonderful view of the harbor. There is seating both indoors and out. A reservation is a good idea especially if you want an indoor window seat.

By the time we dined at Lakeside, we had already been in Nova Scotia for almost two weeks with plenty of seafood meals, so I ordered the lamb shank which was probably the best I'd ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good pub food but nothing special in the restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

During our stay at the Inveraray Resort we ate at both the Thistledown Pub and the Riverside Restaurant as dinner was not being served in Floras, only breakfast, which we did not sample.
Firstly, the Thistledown pub. A pleasant pub to sit in and have a drink although not particularly large. The food on offer is typical pub food. There were burgers, club sandwiches and fish and chips, all of which were good and hearty. The beer on tap was also very good and e service was also good. While we were eating there was also a singer with guitar in the corner which personally, I could have done without but was ok!
Next, the riverside restaurant. This was a strange one. We thought that this would be a better dining experience than the pub by far but we weren't particularly impressed. As soon as we went into the restaurant there seemed to be a very strange smell. This lingered all evening and we couldn't figure to what it was. Never mind. The menu was a little limited for our tastes but that may just have been us. We ordered and ate our main courses. They were ok but really no better than the food on offer at the pub. The desserts we had were good but, again, they weren't really a step up from the pub as we expected.
In short, spend your time, and money, in the pub if you are going to eat here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The beer was cold and the meals were warm. For a pub at a hotel/resort I don't know if I'd expect any more than that. Of course the food was great, but it was the staff that really set this place apart. The staff were talkative and friendly. They engaged with all the customers in friendly banter.

The bartender deserves a raise. Even our kid enjoyed him.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and cold pints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Needed a dinner spot after a round of golf with the fellas. I checked Trip Advisor and realized that this was the pub at Inverness Resort where we were staying, how convenient. Also found out from one of the locals that this is one of the few spots in Baddeck this serves alcohol. Anyways the service was excellent, the beer was cold, and the food was great. Had the fish and chips which was a hearty size and fresh. I didn't like the oil and vinegar dressing for my salad, as it was not tasteful and kind of bland, not a big deal though. There was also a musician that entertained the guests with traditional east coast music, and he played at a volume that still allowed people to carry a conversation during their dinner and or pints.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A cook not a chef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Save your money - the food was terrible. As for the service, the person was nice but we were in an out within an hour - that is with an appetizer. If you want to hold your restaurant as being fine dinning you should not rush to serve your guests.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.