We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub

Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub
368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada (Formerly Lakeside Landing)
902 295-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Baddeck
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub at Inverary Resort! We offer a hot, hearty breakfast in Flora's each morning seasonally and reservations are available for upscale dining with an extensive wine list each evening. Our Thistledown Pub offers a large selection of cocktails and many locally brewed favorites along with our own twist on classic pub fare. Live local entertainment is offered in the Thistldown each evening and we are open late! Join us at Inverary for a great dining experience! We are open to all who love to eat!
Elmsdale, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved the lobster cakes and lobster raviloi. I have to get them every time Im there! You can order from the same menu from the Thistledown pub as well. My husband personally loved their signature hamburger that is loaded with yummy deliciousness

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments Leisa O! We are very pleased you enjoyed some of our great Nova Scotia seafood! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Inverary at Baddeck Bay resort- 5 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Such friendly staff especially Noelle in the restaurant and also at reception. Our room was fine. Older and fairly small but clean and very comfy. TV could be updated.
All in all a great place to stay. Close to Bell Bay Golf course where we played 4 times. Inverary booked all our Tee times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you dvh440 for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed Noelle's service and that you enjoyed the golf course as well. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining with Water Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Flora's is located within the 11- acre Inverary Resort that overlooks the Bras d'Or Lakes, a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve. The restaurant decor has a feel of a hunting lodge, but is is far from it when you dine there in the evening. My wife and I experienced one of our finest dinners here this August. Furthermore, they have an excellent wine list that highlights Nova Scotia's finest wineries. The waitstaff is very attentive and did not miss a beat. My wife enjoyed the eggplant lasagna vegetarian special. I started with their hearty Seafood Chowder with porridge rolls and then moved on their special lamb loin dish that took me back to a Scottish restaurant. We even had their hearty breakfast each morning. Make an effort to dine & stay here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you BevandJack for your wonderful comments! We are very pleased you enjoyed your meals with us, and you enjoyed some of my favourites! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We ate here while staying at the Inverary Resort, and had our meal while watching the US Open tennis. Excellent burgers - huge - and a great dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you Elaine B for your comments. We a very glad you enjoyed your experience in the Thistledown Pub. We look forward to your next meal with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Flora's is a real treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

THe dinner was exceptional. The breakfast buffet is a morning treat. The decor very pleasing. The staff very courteous and helpful

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Dtowntraveler. We are very pleased your enjoyed your meals with us. Look us up again next time you are in Baddeck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flora's Dining Room and Thistledown Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.