We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very third rate establishment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inverary Resort to your Saves list
Inverary Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is a very third rate establishment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, and that was more than enough. The restaurant is very pretty, but the service is very poor. and the rooms are shabby with noisy air conditioners, below standard bathrooms, and cheap bed linens. We were accross the street from the main buildings in room 402.
Do not stay here

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    88
    54
    27
See reviews for
86
141
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My spouse and I stayed at this resort, July 31 and August 1, 2010. We stayed in "the Barn" and the accomodations were clean with lots of character. We had dinner (both nights) by the water and the food and service was excellent. all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend. I read some of the reviews prior to booking this resort and had concerns about the place, but we were pleased with all aspects, from service, to the beautiful condition of the grounds. We would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, Owner at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
The Old Barn has alot of great memories for many people, as it was one of the original buildings on the Inveray Inn property when my parents took over the Inn. They alway talk about the little sitting rooms where people can get together, share stories and travel tails. It is what Inverary is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband,granddaughter and I stayed at the resort and had a wonderful time as a matter of fact we were so pleased we extended our stay an extra day. Our 7 year old grand daughter was treated royally..and they were so kind to her showing her how to kayak and inviting her to join in their activities. The restaurant was very busy but the food was well worth the wait. The rooms were very clean and any necessities were available. The breakfasts were delightful and the wait staff was fun. Definitely would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

decided to give my husband a nice quiet weekend getaway at a good resort for his 79 birthday. the hotel was apparently overbooked and understaffed.. we ended up in a 1 star room across the main road. in an unexceptable small, noisey stuffy clean room over looking a concrect parking lot . our room with a view?? we in our reservation told them we had mobility issues. that was not taken in consideration and at first were booked on the second floor. but moved us after driving down to the main reception complaining,to the first. again same area. after the first night without sleep due to noisey partygoiers, danglling beer from the second balcong i feared for my car that was parked underneath so had to call security.. the food I must say was excellent but the atmosphere apaulling with no dress code. torn cutoffs, some no shoes' and children screaming , banging on the glass windows. it was Macdonald's land. what should have been a resort experience was more like a $30.00 bordello. not for handicap as there is only one handicap lot which was taken usually by non handicap cars. for a total of $395.75 I had not even a pen in my bleak, room nor a picture on the wall,nor acess to even a coke machine.. beware when planning a trip there..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Considering we booked our 2 rooms months ago...we got 2 rooms facing the back of the main building...above the fitness center...the room smelled mildewy...the air conditioner was loud and didn't cool enough. The grounds are beautiful and it has a good location...the Lakeside restaurant there was very nice and enjoyable...but for the money...I would look elsewhere...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, Owner at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thanks for your comments. We are in the process of replacing all the AC in that building, should be complete for the spring of 2011. The evenings have been cooling down here very nicely so it shouldn't be an issue any more this season. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful grounds and waterfront dining we are real proud of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Growing up in CB, we never had an opportunity to stay at this resort but always had the impression this was a very PRESTIGIOUS resort. Now living in Ontario, we travelled back with friends to CB in July and decided to stay at the Inverary. We were very disappointed to see the extremely old rooms that seem to have not been updated since the building was constructed. The interior of the room is terribly old and in desparate need of modernization. We were also upset to find our rooms were amongst a wedding party and we were not notified until we were woken at 3am with the loud noise. This is one place we will not be going back to any time in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, Owner at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thanks for your comments. Over the past 40 years our family has been developing the Inverary not so much to be a "prestegious" resort but a place where everyone can be comfortable and enjoy the surroundings. The resort began as a country inn and has grown from there, so we do have a small number of the rooms that are of that county inn style ( which I personally love). We also have many more rooms that are modern which many people like as well. On occasion we have some wedding guest really enjoy themselves, however lately we have put measures in place to limit them potentially disturbing other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Spent three night here whilst touring round Cape Breton on the Cabot Trail with family. No problems booking accommodation as it was early in the season. Arrived late evening and check in was prompt and efficient.

The room was clean, warm (air conditioning too if required) comfortable and reasonably spacious. The en suite bathroom was functional and included soap, shampoo, body wash etc which was replenshed daily. Room was classed as having a queen sized bed, but it was definitely a double and not a queen, so check detail with staff if this is important to you.

Breakfast was fantastic and served in a lovely dinning room which was light and airy. There was a choice of continental or cooked breakfast included with the room and we tried both on different days. Both breakfast choices were excellent and provided more than enough to start the day. Tea/coffee included too.

We didn't eat at the restaurants in the evening at all whilst staying because our days started early straight after breakfast and we toured/explored all day and ate on our travels and arrived back late evening.

Grounds lovely to walk round in the evening and we thoroughly enjoyed collecting drinks from the bar and taking them to sit beside the campfire until it got dark. Great end of the day relaxation.

If I found myself in this part of the world again, then I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.