We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good exterior, terrible interior” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inverary Resort to your Saves list
Inverary Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good exterior, terrible interior”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The outside of our room was very nice. Looked over the ocean. The interior of our room was awful. The decor was dated, yes, which is fine, I'm not there to critique the decor. The worst part was that our entire room smelled like mould. We had to brew all if the coffee in the room and leave all the windows open all night just so we weren't breathing in the fumes while we were sleeping.
The grounds are beautiful, but I would not stay there again. No breakfast was included, as we weren't staying in the 'right' part of the resort to qualify for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you Mudrykm for your comments. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your room while you were with us. You will be happy to learn that we will be updating rooms in the Argle building, in which you stayed, with address the issues that you experienced during your stay. Also, our friendly Front Desk staff are always willing to make adjustments to ensure our guests find the perfect room for them. Thank you again and we hope to see you back in Cape Breton very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    88
    54
    27
See reviews for
86
141
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent entertainment and had a satisfying meal at the pub. Dining room breakfast was great. The staff we encountered were friendly and polite. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, travellingpants2010. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our restaurant offerings and our extensive grounds and we are always pleased when our guests enjoy them as well! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhorn, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed overnight at the resort and were very impressed. Comfortable room, lovely grounds. We had a nice dinner in the pub along with a good breakfast in the dining room. The resort had a nice homey feel to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you Petermac-red for your comments. We have worked hard to maintain the nice homey feel to Inverary as it has grown over the years. I am glad you still feel it! Thank you for enjoying our amenities and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

THe Resort was a wonderplace. We were only here for two nights but I could have stayed a week. THe grounds were beautiful. The staff extremely polite and helpful. The rooms and beds very comfortable. The Restaurant was extremely good for dinner and had a wonderful breakfast buffet. The personal touches like a nightly campfire with S'mores makes special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you Dtowntraveler for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us enjoyed many of our property's features. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Inverary is a patched together group of buildings most of which are motels. The location is good however the quality is poor. Our room was dirty-stains on the carpet, stains on the bed covering, and mildew on the bathroom walls. There were holes in the screen door, the sheets were too small for the bed, and the bathroom fan sounded like a generator. In addition the room was extremely dark with minimal lighting. All this for $135CA/night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments Suzanne D. I am sure you will be hapopy to hear, we will be doing improvements to many of our rooms to address issues, including the ones you have mentioned. In addition to our rooms, we have extensive grounds with an adventure center, nightly bonfire with s'mores and live local entertainment in our pub, all of which add to the experience of Inverary Resort.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for one night. Arrived mid afternoon and checked out early am. Old fashioned check in with pleasant staff, real key. Nice grounds, short easy walk to town. Room at Argyle section was clean and adequate with large bed. Ate breakfast at Flora's slow service, food below average, asked for maple syrup and got packaged high fructose corn syrup pancake spread.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review travelrads. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast offerings as we are always looking for ways to improve our product. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next Cape Breton getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location on the water, walking distance to the main strip and Coop grocery store. However ... For what they charge (we paid $159 a night for room 065 in the Argyle section), its far from good value primarily due to the rooms. Honestly, it's clear they've chosen to ride the coat tails of a great location and skip investing in regular updating of the rooms. They remind me of decor from when I was a kid (70s and 80s). I also didnt appreciate the rowdy guests around us.
On the plus side, most staff were pleasant and helpful especially the couple hosting the evening bonfire. Sorry ... But until the rooms get up to at least 1990s standards, it's hard for me to call this place good value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments sfryyz. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, overall, and you will be pleased to hear that room 65, as well as other rooms in the Argyle building, will be receiving improvements over this fall and winter, addressing many of the same issues that yourself and other reviewers comment on. We are excited about these changes and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.