We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jou can tell it's not new” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inverary Resort to your Saves list
Inverary Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jou can tell it's not new”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Quite nice Resort at top location - but the years show everywhere.
No fridge in the room might be ok, but the "air conditioning" makes a hell of a noise and smells like never washed socks!
Pool out of service on 3rd of August is not too nice also.
The Managment has obviously space to improve

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review DerPeter_007. You will be happy to hear that we will be making improvements to many of our rooms and grounds this fall and winter, guided by the comments of guests like you. We are glad you enjoyed your experience, overall, and we hope you visit Cape Breton again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    88
    54
    27
See reviews for
86
141
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Argyle block and I guess the management took advantage of the holiday season to charge what they do but it certainly was far from good value. Our initial room wasn't available so we were allocated another one where the toilet wasn't attached to the floor! We informed the front desk and were given a second room which smelt of mould and the air conditioning unit sounded like a diesel tractor with the filter pads choked with dirt.
Very noisy with other guests partying till midnight close by.
All in all it's a very tired dated establishment, which is a shame as the grounds are lovely although avoid walking on the extensive lawns as we did and walked into a slushy bit that smelt of sewage!
In summary

Room Tip: The other accommodation options may be better, but avoid Argyle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments dive_revive. I am sorry to hear about your difficulties finding a suitable room. I am sure you will be happy to hear that we will be doing updates to many rooms in the Argyle building, using your comments to make our rooms better. We thank your for your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was disappointed with the room. It is very dated, early 1990's... especially the bathroom. I was in the Culloden building on the second floor. I could hear the water pipes banging and thumping. people talking in the room next to me. When someone flushed a toilet I could hear water running somewhere, like it was my toilet that flushed. Pillows are flat. I hope the other rooms are not as dated and run down as my room. for $10 you can use the water sport equipment. You can walk to downtown to eat. Wong's chinese food has the best haddock and at the best price. It is a great town to visit. Near the Yacht club down by the waterfront, there is a boat there that will take you to Kidston Island for a small donation to the Kinsmen Club. There is a beach on the island and walking trail. You can also rent kayaks at the water front. Things close early in town so just be aware of that. Uisge Falls trail is within a close drive. It is definately worth a look. The trail to the falls is very easy to manouver for any age range. There is a longer loop trail which can be muddy and there are stairs in some sections. There were moose tracks we followed the whole trail, even up the stairs.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to see the room before you commit to more than one night. It is your hard earned money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank your for your review melanie112078. It looks like you really took in the sights around our village! Wonderful to hear! Also we appreciate your feedback regarding your room. We will be using your comments to make improvements to select rooms on our property during this fall and winter. Thank you once more and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last night's stay was a painful experience. For $160 my family experienced a small, dingy, run down room with a broken air conditioner. If that wasn't bad enough, wedding party quests drank and smoked outside our room until five in the morning. Cancelled our three day reservation and now Staying at a clean, quiet and less expensive hotel in Sydney.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your experience Jody W. We have many rooms at our property and I am sure we have one that suites you perfectly. Our Front Desk staff are always pleased to assist our guests with any issues that may arise, such as the type of room or if other guests are disrupting your stay. Please accept our apologies, and we hope you return to Cape Breton again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay at this 'resort'. The room was dirty and outdated. The shower did not work properly and our first request to have it fixed was ignored. When I called the next day to have someone fix it they did send someone right away but the person did not fix the problem. I have to point out that all of the staff we lovely to deal with and this was the only saving grace of our stay (with the exception of the front desk staff). I will never stay here again. This resort gives Cape Breton a bad name.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback PMac37. We are very pleased you enjoyed our staff at Inverary, as it is an important reason why people visit our island. We appreciate your comments and are looking forward to hearing more about your stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Comfortable room, friendly staff, a short walk to a very pretty little town with lots of good restaurants & decent shopping/ souvenirs. A good place to stay if you're driving the Cabot Trail.
The restaurant buffet breakfast is the only part I did not enjoy- a bit expensive. Go to town instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you NanciMack for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful village, and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just experienced a three night stay at Inverary Resort to attend our best friend's wedding. A beautiful spot right on the water for the nuptials and the staff did everything in their power to ensure the bride and groom and a memorable and beautiful wedding.

The main reception area was incredible but very disappointing with all the marketing posters and ads. It really took away from the real historic beauty of the place and all the antiques. The dining room was bright and beautiful with large windows all around. The food was incredible and staff wonderful. The pub was very quaint with live music.

The grounds were OK. More focus should be put on the lawn and garden maintenance. The rentals were wonderful and a great price. The nightly campfire by the dock was the best thing...after the wedding. We'd head down later when all the kids were done with their treats to enjoy nice conversation with friends. The staff ensured there was firewood piled near by for us to keep the fire going.

The room is another story. We stayed in a cabin that is in desperate need of renovations. The front step leading up to the main door is broken which caused us to trip up the stairs several times. The front porch was so adorable but was spoiled by the rotting wicker furniture and the fact that only one window opened.....the other was screwed shut. The nice breeze that could have been let into the main cabin was blocked by large glass windows that didn't open so for us to enjoy the fresh night air we had to keep the main door wide open. The cabin could have use bigger windows for sure!!! The windows are very small and were stuck shut. In fact, my fingers were slammed in one window was I was trying to open it. Be careful!!!

The back porch was lovely and one of my favourite spots in the cabin. Nice and private and shade or sun depending on what you wanted.

The kitchen.....well it's seen better days for sure. The linoleum floor is coming up along the edges, the counter top is damaged and stained, the taps dripped, and the dishes were all chipped. The appliances worked but the fridge was dirty.

The main sitting area was nice and spacious but the run needs to be replaced. It smelt musty and felt damp on the feet. Doesn't cost much to replace with some laminate. The one chair was ripped and stained.

The bedroom was very nice except for the very small windows. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom....the worst part of the cabin. There was a hole in the floor in front of the toilet. The toilet kept acting up. The tub needs to be replaced or at least scoured really good. It's also VERY slippery so caution to those with kids.

It was hard to rate this one with so many black and white differences. The cabin would be a two while the event would be a five plus. I'll rate it a four because the reason we were there.....the wedding.....it was perfect!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. Confirm proximity to waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review dncrmom. We are very pleased you enjoyed the wedding you attended and we very much appreciate your feedback on the cabin. We will be using your observations and suggestions for improvements to our accommodations this fall and winter. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.