We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Excited That I Get to Return in September!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inverary Resort to your Saves list
Inverary Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So Excited That I Get to Return in September!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I loved everything about this place...the atmoshphere, the staff, the resort. I came for a few days in June (20 - 23) to figure out logisitcs for a business meeting in September, and am very much looking forward to returning with my company.

The beds were extremely comfortable, the food tasty (try the strawberry rhubarb ice cream at the Lakeside Restaurant), and working with Audrey to coordinate a puzzle of meetings and events has been (and continues to be) a dream! From the resort owner to management and staff, everyone here was *extremely* pleasant and accomodating.

I couldn't rank the spa as I didn't have time to experience it, but it did look lovely.

(Make a point of going to the pub - especially if Tracy's playing. He's got a super playlist and puts a great sound of his own to everything he does - made me like a lot of his versions even more than the originals!)

The only negative thing I have to say is that I didn't get to stay long enough :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We really enjoyed having you and your sister staying with us as well. You would have loved staying on through July as we have had a wonderful summer. Audrey has been a wonderful part of our team here at the Inverary and honestly enjoys working with all of our guests and brides to make sure that they have a perfect visit here at Inverary. We will see you in September. Thanks Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    88
    54
    27
See reviews for
86
141
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire. UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We pre-booked 2 nights here and were allocated a ground floor room in the main block. The accommodation seemed Ok at first. It had 2 large beds and all the usual trimmings - hospitality tray, bathroom toiletries etc. It wasn't until the first evening when we wanted to sit and read, when we realised that 2 or the 3 lights in the room weren't working. The next morning we went to make a cup of coffee only to find the previous guest's used coffee bag still sitting in the coffee machine. Yuk! We left a note about these issues for the housekeeper and went off for the day. That evening we returned to find the coffee pot had been emptied and cleaned but the lights still not working. I rang reception who couldn't have been less interested, saying that all the maintenance personnel had gone home so nothing could be done about the lighting until the following day (not much use to us as we'd have checked out by then!)
Before leaving on our last day, we checked the room thoroughly to make sure we hadn't left anything and under the bed we discovered a previous guest's dirty coffee cup!
Maybe we were just unlucky but overall this was a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the main block will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for bringing these items to my attention. There is no question that these little things need to be dealt with and with some additional training in our Reception and Housekeeping I am sure we have made the needed adjustments. I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip. Sincerely Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Arrived late at night for rest before Cabot Trail in the morning. Looks wonderful on the outside and still quite nice on the inside in the common areas. The rooms themselves are spacious and comfortable but seem a bit older in their interior design / furnishing. Nonetheless, it was comfortable and clean and that is important.

Has a fitness room, swimming pool, and lots of events (it is indeed a resort). Breakfast was included with our rate (potatoes, egg, toast, choice of meat). Staff was nice, and friendly - appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments with regards to you recent visit to the Inverary Resort. It would have been great if you had arrived earlier in the day in order to enjoy all of our facilities. It appears as though you did get a chance to tour the property as well as the famous Cabot Trail. I trust you enjoyed your day on the Trail.
Sincerely
Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was a lovely vacation property on Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia. It is an old hotel property that has been beautifully modernized. They have a variety of accomodations -- lodge rooms, cottages, etc. The property sits on a lake, and they offer paddle boats and canoes to their guests. There is an indoor pool, shuffle board and tennis courts. The property has a fine dining restaurant on the lake (pricey) and a pub (reasonable) that has limitations (slow service, poor selection, difficulty filling requests). We upgraded to the lodge rooms with a fireplace and the extra was well worth it....... the rooms were delightful. This resort is a wonderful home base if you want to explore Cape Breton, Sydney, etc without moving every night, or a great destination spot for a leisurely vacation.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a lodge room with a fireplace, and completely enjoyed that extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments on the Inverary Resort. With the two food outlets on the property we have been able to cater to those wanting something lighter or more of a dining experience. Both have been very popular, however the pub is smaller and therefore cannot handle too many customers, as well, it has been very busy. Thanks for the review. Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a fairly large old resort with several buildings. We stayed in the Culloden House in room 81 on the main floor. It had the feeling that it is clean and being maintained but is definitely a work in progress. Building maintenance is in progress but generally in good shape with lots of indication that old wooden balconies and stairs have been recently replaced on some structures. Windows and doors have been upgraded in the Culloden House. Our unit had a bathroom tapset that was clean but so old that the chrome had been worn completely off. Although the tub was recently caulked, there was still mildew between some tilework. The towel bar was falling off the wall and the carpet at the entry to the bathroom was frayed. See attached pictures. This resort has charm and felt clean but it appears that staff are challenged with limited help or budgets doing what they can to keep it presentable. This would work in a pinch but I am not convinced it would be my first choice unless things change in the future.
Our fellow trip advisors will keep us posted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your recent review of the Inverary Resort. I appreciate your comments and indeed work is always ongoing at a seasonal resort with 20 wood buildings to maintain. Our staff is working diligently fixing all the little things that happen on a daily basis at the Resort as well as in the off season take care of larger capital projects. We have been very fortunate that this year we had a very busy spring and therefore it did take us a bit longer to get to certain items, but they have been getting them completed. Thanks again for your comments. Sincerely Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived at The Inverary Resort, Baddeck very tired after 5 days of driving from Ottawa. We got a special $99 rate from the Tourist Info which included breakfast. We called the Hotel from the Cabot Trail and asked to arrive a day early - the answer: "No problem at all, we'll see you this evening, drive safely" On arrival we were welcomed warmly and allocated a ground floor room in the Argyle Lodge. The Lodge was one of several buildings set throughout the landscaped acres of the property, the gardens seem to be constantly maintained by very attentive gardeners, making it a joy to wander around. Our room was very clean, well decorated and equipped (no fridge which is my only criticism, though there was endless ice) and the linens excellent. Ten minutes after our arrival we elected to stay a second night to rest and relax, once again it was "No problem, we'll honour your $99 rate". (I fail to understand previous reviews regarding unhelpful staff)
Breakfast next morning was amazing. Full cooked English with waitress service: 1 egg, 3 sausages, 4 bacon, hash browns, toast, coffee or tea and orange juice! A perfect start to the day!! Additional eggs etc are charged per item but the standard breakfast was superb.
We ate twice at the Pub on the resort. I had a special, the Lobster Dinner, a 1.5 lb Lobster in shell, 12-18 mussels, potato salad and coleslaw: Just $20. Hubby had Potato skins said they were great. Day 2 we had Haddock and Chips - superb, and Angus Burger - huge and very tasty! They have a good choice of draught beers, wines and spirits.
On the afternoon of Day 2 we decided to stay another night if possible? Once again, no problem, same rate, in fact they shuffled the bookings to save us moving rooms - (Thanks)
At the end of Argyle Drive (the roads on site are all named) not 50 yards from our room was a Canadian Legion Branch. They welcome all visitors for free and have the most wonderful deck overlooking the Bras D'or Lake. Truly the BEST view we have ever seen from a Legion anywhere in the world. Worth a visit for a game of shuffleboard and a look at the view.
We decided to bring in a pizza for the 3rd night from the local Pizza shop, a 2 minute drive so it stays really hot and fresh. This seems a popular choice judging by the number of empty pizza boxes in the garbage bins.
To further illustrate the helpfulness of the staff: A tour bus arrived for an overnight stay, the people were dropped off in Baddeck while their luggage was sorted and placed in their rooms by the hotel staff. They were all welcomed personally on their arrival later. The luggage was collected and reloaded the following morning.
The second incident was a lady driving an SUV who found she had a flat tyre. A passing staff member stopped immediately, radioed for more help, 3 more guys arrived, they crawled underneath to release the spare (stupid place to store it?) fitted her spare and got her road worthy again. All without her asking!
All in all our stay was wonderful. A welcoming hotel in a superb location. Perfect after a wearying drive to Cape Breton. Pass others to make this your hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you book if possible, otherwise ask for flexibility on arrival if pre-bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience. I came here for a season and have been here for 40, so I know exactly what you are talking about. Thanks Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I made a reservation two days earlier on hotels.com-- last week in May for 2 nights at $108 per night plus tax off season rate. We got here as it was getting dark. The main building was old and had charm. We were given a room in one of the motel buildings. Some people were partying on the porch until 11:00 and we saw this at the next building. They kept it down. I went to the main building at 10:30 to do email to get some space (small tired rooms). I talked to a senior citizen who has come here for years. He had a story about being locked out of his room all night because they close reception at midnight. I did not believe him because this place must have 300 rooms. However, they turned out the lights at about 11:30 and I had to go back to my room. You can do better at the Lynwood Inn. My second choice in Baddeck would be the Silver Dart. If I ever return to the Cape and can get a reservation at the Keltic Lodge in Inglenosh I will stay there. I got a $30 lower rate on hotels.com versus the Canadian travel service at the information center in Halifax.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments on the Resort, they are extremly helpful. With various styles of rooms on our property we are aways trying to select a room for our guests that they will be most comfortable staying in, and try to make a guests feel comfortable in requesting a move if we have selected in error. Travellers have very different requirements and wants from a resort property.

With regards to turning of lights, we do where ever possible to be consious of energy consumption, however we do at all times of the year have someone on the property to attend to everything from a weary midnight traveller, to someone that left their key in the room. During the May to October months we have the reception attended to 24/7.

Thanks again for your comments

Scott MacAulay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.