We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, delicious breakfast and lovely owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
121 Twining Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, delicious breakfast and lovely owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and i loved this bed and breakfast. Liz and dick are such kind and warm people. They greeted us on the first night, gave us suggestions on where to go, and made a wonderful breakfast! The room and bed was warm and comfy. Would highly recommend this place for those heading to cape Breton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
155
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisvegas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a very pleasant overnight stay at Baddeck Heritage House. Our hosts were delightful & very friendly & helpful with information on the area. The room was very clean & well presented. We would have preferred a king bed but otherwise no complaints. Breakfast was delicious with home baked goodies & we were farewelled with a little package for the road. I thoroughly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Liz and Dick are two of the loveliest people we met on our first trip to Nova Scotia. Having read some of the other reviews, I can say I agree that you can't rate this lovely place high enough. The others guest were also such fun, sharing travel trips and stories while being treated to a fantastic breakfast. I only hope we have the chance to go back and I will certainly encourage any friends planning to go North to stay at this B&B. What a treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmorePA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I traveled by motorcycle to the infamous Cabot Trail and this B & B was at the ideal location. Baddeck is at the beginning and end of the Cabot Trail. This quaint town is like picture postcard material...something like in a Norman Rockwell New England maritime village, and our hosts at the B & B (Liz & Dick) and the whole town like the characters in his paintings! They are the most down to earth friendly and lovely people!! As soon as we got to the B & B we felt so at home!! Dick actually moved his car out of the garage so we could park our bike in it! They were so accomadating ,and not in the least bit intrusive. Our room was so clean and comfortable...I needed a step stool to get in bed! It was the best sleep I ever had!!Liz's breakfasts were out of this world and she even gave us a choice of main course! Let me tell you it was hard to choose. Besides that they gave us a goody bag of their homemade scones and breads to take with us for the ride! Two days were not enough time to stay here... in fact I want to adopt them as my family!!!! After riding all day we picked up some Alexander Keiths, there was a guest frig to store them and Dick even made sure we had nice mugs instead of drinking from the can! We enjoyed them on their nice outside deck and they even had a little inside spot if the bugs got too much! This place was so homey and relaxing... walking distance to picturesque waterfront marina and nice shops and restaurant... and yet still maintained a close knit community atmosphere. The fact it was the our starting point to ride the Cabot Trail was perfect!!
I really miss this place...we'll just have to visit again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kidton Light room...the bed and pillows were so very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

There is little I can add to the reviews of this superlative B&B.

From the moment of arrival, you will know that you have chosen the right place to stay. Liz and Dick provide the perfect combination of professionalism and charm. The rooms are spotless, the beds great. Though it was warm when we arrived, the room cooled off nicely for sleeping. But by far the best is breakfast - - this may have been the best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B. A week later, we're still talking about what we had and what we'd try the next time!

This was our last night in Cape Breton and our experience at Heritage House was a wonderful capstone to a great trip. As we were leaving, Liz and Dick presented us with left over scones and bread from breakfast. We savored those goodies all the way to Halifax.

HH is very convenient, just enough up the hill to be quiet but very easy walking to the restaurants (ask Liz and Dick for recommendation about where to eat) and to the evening Celidhs.

Watch for the red car that parks out front of the Celidh parish hall at 5 pm. Go pay your money and pick your seat then. You will probably not be able to get a seat if you wait until 7-7:30.

Next time we go to CBI we will stay here on the way out and the way back. It's that good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Liz and Dick are welcoming and caring hosts. The B&B is spotless, located in town on a large
well landscaped lot a block from the main street. The room had a flat screen tv, a firm mattress, and a large bathroom The breakfast was first rate, and the other guests from Ohio and Ontario
joined in some stimulating conversation. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I do not usually do B&B's, but after this experience we are B&B believers! The accommodations are very comfortable and the hospitality could not be better. Liz's breakfasts, alone, are worth staying an extra day for! We had never visited Nova Scotia and only had a few days to experience the best of NS and Cape Breton. Dick pulled out a map and showed us exactly how to make the best of our time there. He started by showing us where to go by and pick up a picnic lunch, then which trials would be the best to hike and finally where to stop for cookies on the way back. And then, Dick handed us a goody bag of scones (the best I've ever eaten) and muffins to take with us on our day of exploring. We were most grateful for these as we came off the Skyline Trail. He assured us that we could explore Cape Breton in one day and we did manage to do that. We left the Heritage House around 8:30 am, stopped at EVERY overlook, took a very long hike, had a picnic, browsed around Cheticamp, ate dinner in Ingonish, missed our turn for the ferry and finally arrived back "home" around 10 pm to find Dick patiently waiting to take our order for breakfast the next morning. Even though the weather was a bit misty and cool, it was a memorable day and so wonderful to come back to such cosy accommodations. My only regret is that I did not plan enough days to explore Beddeck more thoroughly. Guess we will have to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 121 Twining Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Baddeck Heritage House Bed And Breakfast Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.