We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Street Inn
Save
You added High Street Inn to your Saves list
18 High Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Delran, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a lovely three night stay at this b & b. The hosts were very welcoming and just good company. The room was lovely with a sitting area. We also had a cozy and quiet sitting area just outside our room on a deck which we loved. The bed was great. The room was well decorated and very clean. Breakfast was nice. We left satisfied each morning to begin our ride around the Cabot Trail (the entrance to the Trail is nearby).

Baddeck is located on a lovely waterway with lots of restaurants and shops. The B&B was just a five minute walk from everything. This suited us fine as we like to be in a quiet area.

Thanks Sue, Art and Gordy - we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I, my Mother and an Aunt, and my sister and her husband (6 guests), had the pleasure of visiting Baddeck and we very much enjoyed an overnight stay at High Street Inn. This B&B is lovely. The accommodations are immaculate and well-appointed. The breakfast was wonderful and our hosts, Sue and Art, were kind, warm and welcoming. My visitors were from Ontario and they were impressed with the down-home hospitality. I will be recommending High Street Inn to friends and family in future. Thanks Sue and Art for your hospitality. Maureen F. & Family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyrood, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thanks Sue for being very accommodating and allowing an early check in. We enjoyed the last night of our vacation at High Street Inn. Lovely spot. Just a little walk to the town's centre. Comfortable and spacious room with a deck and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay in Baddeck very much and Sue (manager) at High Street Inn has done an excellent job of cleaning and preparing the Inn. She was also very helpful in accommodating any special requests and supplying us with great information about the area. The rooms do NOT have air conditioning and the fan was not working which caused some concerns because it was 30 degrees (Celsius) outside, but Sue did her best to help us out. Thank you for help, Sue!

Room Tip: If you think you'll need air conditioning, you will want to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here with family for one night. The rooms are very clean, spacious and well equipped. The only complaint I had about the rooms is the lack of air conditioning and it was extremely hot when we were there. The grounds are also run down and need a lot of work. There is a for sale sign out front and this could be why. The staff were excellent especially sue and her husband. The breakfast was very good with her delicious homemade jam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Lovely welcome by Susan. Felt completely at home. Great breakfast with homemade jams and fresh pancakes, plus eggs and so much more. Being from the area with her husband, Susan was able to provide lots of info on the region. Wonderful 2 queenbeds in the room.

Room Tip: Room 1 (ours) was very roomy and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the High street Inn for 5 days and had a wonderful stay, it felt like being home and Sue and Art, our hosts were wonderful. They were very attentive, accomodating, and very friendly. Great breakfast, lots of choice. A great place to stay, walking distance from everthing in town, but nice and quiet and peaceful.
We would definately return and stay there.
Sylvette and Don Day (June 2013)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Inn

Address: 18 High Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Bed & Breakfast steps from the village centre of Baddeck. All rooms with private entrance, private bath, two King suites with hardwood floors, vaulted ceilings, fireplace and shared balcony. Breakfast available in the dining room. 10% discount offered for any stay of three nights or more. CBTV, Wireless internet, fridges, coffee makers, microwaves, hairdryers. 99.00-119.00 Open May 14-October 30th. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Street Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.