We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope you aren't in a hurry or looking for courteous service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Loft Restaurant

The Old Loft Restaurant
Water St., Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Hope you aren't in a hurry or looking for courteous service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

When you visit the Old Lofty plan for a leasurely meal. When we arrived only 2 other tables were occupied. We were seated promptly then waited for 15 minutes for someone to take our orders. We were about 1 minute from walking out before they finally came and took our orders.

The food was fine. Nothing wrong with it and the servings were significant. No complaints there.

Nobody checked back to see if everything was OK or if we needed anything until after we were finished. Then the bill came without a thank you.

Good food, service needs serious work.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Adequate food but horrendous service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our extended family made a special trip to Woody Point this past Sunday afternoon (July 29, 2012) as we had heard good things about this restaurant. However, we were sorely disappointed. All of us have travelled extensively around the world adn we all agreed that this was our worst restaurant experience to date.

Our server was extremely rude, not a smile, no manners whatsoever. No thank yous, no you're welcome - nothing. It took an extremely long time for her to bring our coffee and then never offered to refill or top up our coffee throughout the meal. We had to ask for more water, as this was not offered either. We asked twice for ketchup, it never was brought to our table. My brother in law had to get up and ask for it from another server. The one she gave him to bring back to our table was almost empty so we had to go in search for another one, which we ended up taking off of another table that had just been vacated.

The dinner menu is extremely limited and over priced. We were disappointed with the selection available on this menu. While waiting for ouf coffee etc, we started noticing that people were being served food that was not on our menus. My brother in law had particularly wanted to order a cheeseburger with fries, dressing and gravy which was not on our menu. However the table next to us received this item.

At this time we called over our server and asked if there was another menu and told her what we had noticed. She rudely replied that there was another lunch menu, and that others ordered these items "because they were locals and knew about it" and marched off. We then requested to see this menu, which was later produced. This menu had much more selection and more reasonable prices. We then ordered some items off of this menu - including the cheeseburger item - in addition to our original selection. However one of the items we ordered never did make it to our table - although it did make it on to the final bill.

So buyer beware - if you are noted as not being a local - you will get stuck with the higher priced, limited selection menu.

On to the food... The cheeseburger was undercooked, still some blood in the centre. The vegetables accompanying the dinners were overcooked - watery. The homestyle fries with dressing and gravy - these were good. The calamari was cooked the way we like it - we had asked for it to be cooked lightly done and it was just right - not rubbery. The scallops were overcooked, but the panfried cod was nice. Deep fried cod (a Newfoundland staple - fish and chips) was not available at this restaurant - we were disappointed with this.

Overall - a very disappointing experience. We felt bad for our siter-in-law as this was her first trip to Newfoundland, and it was certainly not a good first impression of the lovely Woody Point area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Really good toutons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

For those of you who don't know, toutons are balls of deep fried (or pan fried) bread served traditionally with butter and molassas. They really know how to make them among other great traditional dishes. We make sure to stop by for lunch every summer when we visit Gros Morne.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best fish dinner on the Rock - www.oldloft.ca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

They need to update their web site information on TripAdvisor and on the internet. There are two sites a .com and .ca

The .com email does not seem to work, tried to send a message about the incorrect spelling of the name shown here, Lofy.

About the food:
Entre: Delicious squid (calamari) , flavourful and tender.
Main: Fish and chips, pan seared, lightly floured pieces of cod, with a side of vegetables and choice of potato

Best fish dinner we had on the Rock!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food was fresh, homemade and good portions!!! The servers were very friendly and efficient.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Loft Restaurant also viewed

Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to The Old Loft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Loft Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.