We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woody Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Save
You added Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland to your Saves list
39 Water Street, Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off suites $189-$259
Ranked #1 of 5 Woody Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The views, the hosts, the room and the service were all fantastic. We stayed in the Gros Morne Suite July 5 to 7, 2012. Nothing was overlooked by hosts Ken and Darlene. They made us very welcome.

Whales in the harbour, a full moon on the bay. We even saw a double rainbow while on the deck ouitside of our room.

We highly recommend the host's restaurant too. Good food, good prices and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We are here for the last of a three night stay in the Gros Morne Suite. The suite has great views of Gros Morne from our deck over the bay. Darlene is a wonderful hostess who provides information about the area and bookings if you wish. She has thought of everthing you could possibly want in your room during your stay, from a cooler bag, DVDs and bubble bath to a fishing rod. We cooked one meal on the BBQ but Ken and Darlene delivered two other meals right to our room. The cod and lobster were caught fresh that day and were excellent. Minke whales surfaced off our our deck during dinner tonight. A very special place.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for one of the two suites with decks on the bay- well worth it. Consider booking wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived at the Seaside Suites on June 6th 2012, and were greeted by Ken who gave us a tour of our room, the I pod was playing local cultural music and we were shown the CD's available to us along with recommendations.We were shown a menu of dinner items and asked if we would be coming across the street for dinner, when I noticed that there was no lobster on the menu, our request was accommodated,Thank's to Colleen's and her Husband who caught them that day!!Amazing. We Knew we had picked the perfect place when I opened the fridge in the room and found a wine cooler which allowed us sit right down to enjoy a glass of wine.

Darlene and Ken were excellent hosts they were very helpful and always anticipating our every need.

We are only sorry we didn't stay longer and the weather had allowed us to sit outside and enjoy the views,but I hear that there is no bad weather in Newfoundland only bad clothes!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nighs in one of the most spectacular places we have ever stayed - like being aboard a luxury houseboat, on and over the actual water of this very active port. The fishing fleet was finishing its final days of their Lobster and Turbot days and we were able to watch everything happening from our own private deck. This is a small and beautiful fishing town and we were able to enjoy many local walks and restaurants. Even a super special night when the owners/operators (husband/wife) of this property actually walked over to the lobster boats, selected a couple of nice lobsters for us to choose one for dinner - it was huge and nice!! One of the owners happens to be the town Mayor - not every day that a Mayor walks over with fresh, cooked lobster and condiments to hand deliver to guests!! They also helped immensely with suggestions for various hiking and touring - a super place along the Viking Trail and we simply needed more time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We did not know what to expect, except that this property has had excellent reviews. It surpassed our expectations shaped by the write-ups. The main Suites building, which overhangs the water in Woody Point harbour, offer three very large rooms, each with ample sleeping and living areas, two with large decks over the water. All three rooms are are beautifully designed, with both style and comfort in mind. Small touches such as high-quality coffee and coffee-maker + agreeable bathroom amenities enhance the experience. The owners were exceptionally helpful throughout, providing advice and assistance whenever we asked and otherwise leaving us alone. We ate dinner in their restaurant twice and enjoyed it. Beyond delicious fresh fish, foodies may be frustrated in the park, but our group enjoyed it all. We ate breakfast in a very pleasant cafe down the street.

In sum, of about 80 hotels I have stayed in over the past year, world-wide, this is the one I enjoyed most due to stunning views, terrific rooms and kind hosts. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon trip to Newfoundland (July 2009). We stayed in the Grose Morne suite. We travel quite frequently, which means we've stayed at quite a few hotels, resorts, inn, B&Bs, etc. This place is still on the top of our list for places to stay. Woody point seems to be a little out of the way if you are doing most of your activities in Rocky Harbor, but Seaside suites is WORTH THE DRIVE (or catamaran ride)! Everything in the room is quality, right down to the "Bose" Ipod dock. There's nothing like eating breakfast out on the deck...on the water! It was a treat to stay there, and I would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: I'm sure either of the suites is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great location over the water in a sleepy town - so relaxing and friendly. Sunset views over the harbour. Comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom. Clean and well-appointed throughout. Small kitchenette but not needed because Ken's (your host and town mayor) cooking over the road was excellent. The company of him and his lovely wife, Darlene, and their cheery band of staff complemented the great food (the best that we had in NFLD).
If you are touring NFLD, try also Elizabeth J Cottages at Bonavista, The Yellow House at Tors Cove, and River Tides B&B at Norris Arm.

Room Tip: Go for one of the two rooms over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

Address: 39 Water Street, Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Woody Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woody Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Suites is a four-star waterfront accommodation in the quaint, historic seaside village of Woody Point. We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park with views of the Tableland Mountains, Gros Morne Mountain and the ocean waters of Bonne Bay. There is nothing more soothing and scenic as the views and sounds of the ocean. We have two properties across the street from each other, over the water and across the street from the water; the Over the Water Building (which IS over the water) is home to the Gros Morne, Tablelands and Lighthouse Suites. The Wharfside Building is newly opened and has the Sandollar and Starfish Suites as well as Seaside Souvenirs and our Seaside Deli & Dairy Bar, located directly across from the town wharf, where you can try fishing, take in the scenic views with your morning coffee, or catch the water taxi to Norris Point for an outing. We have five well appointed suites. The waterfront of Woody Point has recently been designated a Heritage District for its historic significance on the West Coast of Newfoundland and also for its' restoration of the many historic buildings along the water. When you settle in at Seaside Suites, you can stroll and enjoy our quaint, scenic village. Be sure to choose Seaside Suites for your Gros Morne adventure. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland Woody Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.