We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rolling Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rolling Hills
Save
You added The Rolling Hills to your Saves list
Dunfield, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A9N 3Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Very Special B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having never been in this part of NL, we weren't sure if this B&B would be a bit out of the way. Our fears were quickly alleviated once we arrived. Dunfield has a charm of its own, and we loved chatting with the locals and visiting the shed where they cleaned and fileted their cod catch (first day of recreational cod fishing). It is also close to New Bonaventure for the Rugged Beauty Tours and Random Passage- 2 absolute musts experiences while in NL. The B&B itself is made very special by Ed and Marg- two of the nicest, most down-to- earth people we have ever met at a B&B. I can't say enough about them. Wonderful sense of humour, very knowledgeable, and will take time to chat with you. Evening chats with Ed and other guests, enjoying Ed's wine, was a really nice way to end the day. Marg's breakfasts were amazing- so accommodating for my GF needs, and my husband loved all her special breakfast casseroles, muffins, etc. Also, we really appreciated her tips on good places to eat en route to Bonavista. Our 3 night stay here made our trip to Trinity area a most memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose to stay in Dunfield, instead of better-known Trinity, just 5 km away, to visit this beautiful area. We walked the Skerwink Trail on a magnificent sunny day and went to a kitchen party at the rec centre in Trinity East, both recommended by our hosts Margaret and Ed. The breakfasts were tasty and copious. This was one of our best B & Bs in Newfoundland. Sorry we missed the Rugged Beauty boat tour, though, because of bad weather.

Room Tip: All the rooms have private bath and are about the same size, on the small side, but there is a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Turned up at Dunfield, easy to find. On arrival note on the doo to phaone Ed. Phoned him and he appeared, talking like we had been friends for years. Offered us some of is homemade wine and talked away for an hour!!
The rooms creaked like an old saltbox house does. Ed renovated the house quite a few years ago. The rooms are not luxury high standard rooms, but small clean rooms. The floors creak, the bed creaks. But this adds character to the place.
At breakfast we met Marge!! We were having a coffee in the living room when she appeared at the door. Once you meet Marge you will not forget her. She is so tall!!!! The breakfast was excellent, and Marge showed us some Newfoundland Traditions, like Mummering, the Ugly Stick and the Newfoundland Trail walking stick!!! She got one of the guests up at during breakfast and sang a little song while he played the gly stick. Tears were rolling down our faces. What a place with enetertainment for breakfast!! The Rolling hills was a place where you could feel at home. The guests were very friendly and Breakfast lasted for over an hour with all the chattering going on.
Everybody seemed to get on.
Dont come here if you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. If you want somewhere down to earth with freindly hosts this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely old house a short drive around the bay from Trinity (the trinity experience of the quaint historic village, without the $200 a night prices of Trinity!) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very friendly, chatting with us about the town past and present. Very cozy rooms, small but clean and comfortable, and incredibly quiet. Breakfast was home made, we had a strata as well as freshly baked muffins and homemade jam, everything was delicious! Nice common area, homemade wine in the fridge, and a deck out front. One note is that this area is very dark at night, no streetlights, so arriving late at night would be a challenge to find the place.

Definitely would stay here again if in the area!

Room Tip: All 4 roooms looked about the same size, all with private baths. Rooms locked from the inside only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Rolling Hills for one night on our way to St. John's from the west coast. Trinity is definitely worth the detour off the Trans Canada. You really feel at home there because you are given freedom of the house. Ed's breakfast was the best! Fresh fruit, delicious casserole, and homemade partridgeberry muffins.

Ed also have us a tip to go out to the lighthouse to see some whales and we saw them right away. Don't miss Trinity and a visit to Ed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A 3 day visit while in the area and the hospitality, food and rooms were second to no others we encountered. Close to everything the area has to offer yet off the beaten path and very down to earth in every aspect. Staying here is like staying with old friends. It's just that cozy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ed and Margaret were wonderful hosts. Their warmth and friendlyness made our stay special, and Margarets cooking was superb. We definately recommened The Rolling Hills B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rolling Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rolling Hills

Address: Dunfield, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A9N 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Rolling Hills Trinity, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rolling Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.