We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artisan Inn
Save
You added Artisan Inn to your Saves list
57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Newfoundland and loved every minute of it. The highlight of our trip was our visit to Trinity. It was like stepping back in time to be a part of this community for 4 days. The Artisan Inn was almost booked when I made the reservations but I agreed to change rooms throughout the stay and this gave us the opportunity to experience 3 different accommodations. We stayed in Campbell
House in 2 different rooms. The house which dates back to 1840 is furnished with antiques and we felt like we were actually experiencing that time period with the convenience of a comfortable bed and modern bathroom. I lay in bed at night and watched the lighthouse across the bay. We then moved to the Artisan Inn which was also very comfortable. The tone of the Inn is set by the owner Tineke Gow. She and her staff make you feel like a member of the community. She sat with us every morning at breakfast to make sure that we were ready to experience the best of Trinity and surrounding area that day. Her staff was helpful and cheerful and service was excellent. The meals were perfect. The breakfasts included self-serve selections and hot item each day. We had 3 dinners at the Twine Loft. The food was fresh, delicious and prepared with imagination. There was an open kitchen so it was fun to watch the staff working in harmony to prepare the feast. We highly recommend the Artisan Inn. It is not just an accommodation but an experience.

  • Liked — Friendly owner and staff
  • Disliked — Everything was fabulous
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    29
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
149
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto ontario canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

The patio overlooking the lake was very relaxing and a great location with a fine view of the area. The meals, mainly dinners and breakfasts, were creative and delicious. The room was clean and adequate. Above all, the owners John and Tineke Gow were helpful, gracious and always there to assist with information, directions and advice. We highly recommend the Artisan Inn.

Marion Flescher
Joseph Deitcher

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We have just returned from the best holiday we have ever had.
One of the highlights from our trip to Newfoundland was staying at The Artisan Inn in the beautiful town of Trinity.
Our room was gorgeous and very comfortable. Our reception upon arrival was really friendly (thanks Marika), dinner in the Twine Loft was delicious and relaxing on the deck over looking Trinity Bay was heaven!
In addition to providing us with a great place to stay and delicious food they also filled us in on what we should do in the area (including a very late in the season iceberg just a short drive up the road) and let us know some of the local history.
It was a pleasure talking to everyone there, owners, dining room staff, the very friendly ladies taking care of housekeeping....
I could go on and on but will end here by saying if you have the chance to stay at The Artisan Inn please take it you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have to agree with previous poster's (Mummy2Meghan) review. The Artisan Inn is okay: the bed was comfortable, the room dated. The building is old and so the floorboards squeak, all part of the experience I guess. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Food was okay but portions are on the small side (we are not big eaters). We definitely can't see why other TA posters' rave so much about this place.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I can't say that that the Artisan Inn was a bad place to stay. But I defiantly do not think it was worth all the hype that Travel advisor is giving.

The owner is a very hard worker, and Trinity is defiantly beautiful especially after driving through some of the poorer communities. But the Artisan Inn is defiantly a cash cow.. Way over priced for what you are getting.

Our room was very dated and even though we had a king size bed, we were a family of three and we were not even proved enough pillows and blankets to make up the sofa bed for our young daughter. So the three of us were crammed in bed together...

Then to top it off, we could hear the neighbors above us squeaking in their bed all night so defiantly did not get good nights sleep.

We stayed in some terrific places while we were in Newfoundland... and the Artisan Inn was honestly the least comfortable.

No offence to the very nice owners it just don't feel that the reviews on trip, advisor and the high price tag compared to other places we stayed in Newfound land was justifiable.

  • Liked — Trinity was beautiful and owners were very nice
  • Disliked — lack of blankets and lack of sound proofing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

We stayed at the Artisan Inn for two nights on our recent two week trip to Newfoundland. The staff were incredibly friendly and so helpful. Laundry service was available (about $7 a load which they washed, dried and folded for you). The room was quite spacious and the whole inn has a real funky feeling to it -- quite "artsy". It's more like a very small (about 4 suites) apartment building. The location is fabulous - right on the Trinity waterfront so walking distance to everything in the village. The Twine Loft is the restaurant one short boardwalk from the Inn, and that's where the breakfast is served. It is a restaurant, so you have your own table and you are served by a waitress. Food was superb (we had dinner there one night too).

  • Liked — Location, restaurant attached, room amenities, staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada,Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Having read the reviews for this year we thought it only fair to try and think of one negative comment or,failing that,at least one aspect of the praise heaped on this B&B that could be said to be an exaggeration.Neither my wife nor I after our two night stay were able to conjure up anything other than echo the praise already recorded. Fellow residents were of like sentiment whether or not they stayed at the Artisan or the related Campbell House.Consequently we can only envy those who follow and again thank our hostess for providing us with such a memorable experience.She and her staff went out of their way to ensure that not only were we well housed and fed but that we were exposed to fine entertainment via Risingtide Theatre and island history through Bruce Millars unforgetable boat tour.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artisan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Inn

Address: 57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the city to a quiet and historic coastal village. Artisan Inn is situated by the ocean shore. With breathtaking views of the sea all around, this peaceful setting provides a tranquil contrast to everyday routine. Relax, breathe the fresh air, stroll the hills and meadows or explore the town. Located in Trinity on the Bonavista Peninsula, it is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and is one of the best-kept secrets in Canada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Trinity
Artisan Inn Trinity, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.