We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pageant and Dinner Theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Tide Theatre

Rising Tide Theatre
40 West Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
+1 709-464-3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Trinity
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each year, Rising Tide Theatre is proud to present a full slate of original and award-winning plays produced and performed by a 45-person strong company of theatre professionals assembled from across the province. Our productions range from the famous outdoor walkabout the 'New Founde Lande Trinity Pageant', to our light and lively dinner theatre, to our array of plays performed in both the Rising Tide Arts Centre and Trinity Parish Hall as part of our Seasons in the Bight Festival.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pageant and Dinner Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I thought the Pageant would be walking around town and hearing the history of the buildings, but it was way more than that! The Pageant was more like the story of the town acted out in different locations and it was very well done. There were some sad stories, but overall the tone was humorous and we enjoyed it very much. There were lots of children there and lots of old people too. It wasn't too much walking and there was usually some grass to sit on.

We also went to the dinner theater and we enjoyed that too. Excellent dinner and some Newfoundland Quidi Vidi beer for purchase. After dinner was a program of singing and skits and again the overall tone was upbeat and humorous.

This was an excellent way to spend our last day in Newfoundland, plus we could understand the accent and colloquialisms a little better by then!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter P, Public Relations Manager at Rising Tide Theatre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Glad you enjoyed both the pageant and the dinner theatre - the perfect way to experience Trinity. (Go Riders Go!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
REGINA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“February in June!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I attended a performance of February, based upon the book of the same name. The small cast was excellent, the sets working well to bring us into the story. There is tremendous talent in this theatre and is well worth spending an evening at if you are in the Trinity area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We saw two shows..Pillow Trade and the Harry Hibs show. Both were excellent! Beautiful theatre in a wonderful area. We booked as soon as they opened for the season. Would definitely return .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pillow Trade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Light hearted fun show...worth seeing. We have seen other productions by the Rising Tide Theatre and we have enjoyed them all. Shows are often sold out so you should book in advance

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“February”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was an excellent production. I was not familiar with the story but after the show it made me want to find out more.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Tide Theatre also viewed

Port Rexton, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 

Been to Rising Tide Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Tide Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.