We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“urghhhhhh....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marble Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steady Brook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marble Inn Resort
Save
You added Marble Inn Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   51 Dogwood Drive, Steady Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Steady Brook B&B and Inns
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“urghhhhhh....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I'm not sure now why I stayed here. There must be better places.

I was encouraged to stay here as the restaurant in the main lodge is excellent. It is the ONLY reason to stay here and a smarter traveller would have just driven out from another establishment for the meal.

This is a 2 star "resort" with tired, pathetic little cabins, no view and few if any amenities.

The cabins must have been built 20 years ago and don't seem to have much in the way of upgrades. The walls are paper thin (don't get a conjoined cabin whatever you do), the floor uneven and every step creaks, the gouges in the doors and wall speak of abuse over time, the beds are designed to encourage a visit to a chiropractor in the morning, etc. There is no air conditioning (only needed in the summer) and no fan. There is no screen door so you can't even get a breeze through it. No shampoo, no hairdryer, bath towels so thin you can see through them and the size of hand towels. The furniture is either the original or was bought at a dump. There were no hangers to hang your clothes. No tea or coffee. The kitchen table was sticky (with heaven knows what). The main door has only a chain, no deadbolt.

On the plus side, the kitchen had a working fridge, microwave, kettle and two burner stove top. There is a parking spot for your car just outside the door. The indoor pool looks OK.

For $140/night I expect something better than a Motel 6. On second thought, I have stayed at cheap hotels with a much better room and amenities.

The only thing about this place I liked was the restaurant, Madison's. Otherwise give it a miss.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello,
We are very sorry to hear about your past experience with Marble Inn Resort.
We have replaced the cabins with luxurious 4-star condominium suites earlier this year.
In each of our new suites, we have very dense walls to prevent noise from neighbouring rooms, all new hardwood flooring, specially designed beds to give customers the most comfortable sleep possible, remote-controlled heating/cooling systems, everything you require in terms of bathroom supplies, brand new furniture throughout, a complete kitchen with all appliances and dishes included, as well as your own personal patio to take in the surrounding area. We have worked very hard to transform this resort into what it should have been and hope you give us another chance to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
17
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topsail CBS, NL Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for five days end of Feb first of March. We recommended this place to our group of friends to stay here for our annual ski trip. Between our group we spent thousands of dollars at this place. I personally spent over 1600 dollars myself. My 72 year old mother was supposed to stay at the inn as well that week end but she cancelled five days prior due to illness. The inn says it didn’t get the cancellation and charged my visa for one night. That charge was $111.00. Both mom and called asking for it to be reversed and none of our calls were ever returned. In the end they told my mother that because she couldn’t prove she had cancelled within their SEVEN DAY cancellation time frame they wouldn’t remove the charge. Someone there needs to take a course on customer service and learn how to keep a customer and her friends coming back. They lost our business over a lousy 111 bucks!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello,
We apologize for your inconvenience in the past and hope that you give us another chance to make up for our previous impressions. As we have implemented new changes to our resort, we have also undergone various staff changes to provide better customer service to all of our occupants. Unfortunately, if we don't receive notification of a cancellation, we have to follow our cancellation policy. To ensure we know, if you do not receive an email confirmation with a cancellation number, we ask that you call us, so we can make the necessary changes and provide you with a cancellation number over the phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenvalley,n.b.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

stayed in the cottages. If you've skied at any no of resorts...this would be your ave budget studio with two beds, housekeeping amenities, very large room. Not the ritz, but clean, affordable accom & good base to see surrounding area. Very friendly & helpful desk staff.
We had a lovely two hour dinner in the small/intimate restaurant which was hi-lighted with our waitress (i velieve was Lisa or Leesa) also being a co-owner of the restaurant along with hubbie who is the chef. I would not hesitate to stay a week or two during the ski season. It's a dollar well spent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Marble inn Resort and look forward to seeing you again. We would just like to let you know that we have replaced the cabins with all new 4-star suites, which provide a much more relaxing and enjoyable stay. The restaurant has all new cuisine as well as, new management and staff, whom will surely make your dining experience far more memorable. We hope to hear from you and meet your accommodation needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We were on our way back from Labrador and did not have a hotel to stay at for the night. We called several hotels in Deer Lake and could not find availability. I remembered seeing the Marble Inn from the Highway on our way to the National Park and was able to locate the number and call.

The young lady answering the phone was very friendly and helpful and we were pleasedto find a room for under $100 a night.

We had a long ride on our motorcycle from St. Anthony and didn't get to the Marble Inn until almost 8 p.m. From the moment we checked in the staff made us feel at home. I was especially pleased to find the coffee bar that also had hot herbal teas - all available until the front desk closes.

We had dinner at Madison's - the restaurant in the Marble Inn. It was fantastic! It was something I would expect to find in Los Angeles or New York or Boston - not in a little town outside Corner Brook, Newfoundland. If Madison's was near my home,, I'd eat there often!

Our room was what I would expect from a hotel located near a ski resort. It was clean and comfortable. The carpet is the kind that is used in other hotels I've stayed at near snow and outside activities - more heavy duty than luxury - but clean. A small couch and fireplace. Good lighting on both sides of the bed making it easy for one person to read and the other to sleep.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Marble Inn.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The gal at the front desk in the morning - she seemed like she got up on the wrong side of the bed. She was totally the opposite than the people at the front desk when we checked in the evening before.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We booked a 4 bedroom deluxe cabin at the Marble Inn Resport for our wedding July 14th 2007for a group of 7 adults. We followed this up with three nights in thier 1 bedroom deluxe cabin (with its own small jacuzzi).
The location for the resort is excellent, it sits right on the Humber River (view from the cabin) and at the base of Marble mountain.

The price was midrange for the area and the accommodations were fairly basic (simple furniture, small beds, inexpensive linens) but on par with the price range. (I wouldn't really consider it deluxe, however.) The cabin was clean and in good repair. The style of the cabin was rustic with wood finished walls. The cabin had two small bathrooms, four bedrooms and two fold out couches (no extra bedding was provided for the couches). A small tv with cable and a large fridge and stove were included. Limited kitchen & bathroom supplies were available (we had to request dish cloths, extra towels etc to cover the number of people) but service upon request was fast and efficient. The rental bbq was small and basic but again, for midrange next to the mountain and river, it was fine.

The deluxe 1 bedroom was more luxerious with attractive interior & better furniture but the kitchen facilities were somewhat limited. It had a nice romantic atmoshere but the exteriror grassy area could use more upkeep and perhaps a patio area.

The main building has a restaurent (not reviewed as did not visit) a small indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and exersize facilities. All were nicely decorated, clean and pleasant. The jacuzzi was shut down for maintainance for what seemed an excessive amount of time during our stay but Ido not know if this is typical. The equipment all seemed fairly new and well kept.
We booked kayaks through the hotel at a really good rate for kayak rentals and paddled around the area a bit. Quite enjoyable.

All in all we had an excellent experience and would consider the Marble Inn Resort again. It would be particularly suitable for a family group.

  • Liked — Location, locatrion, location. Clean, comfortable, convenient and the the lovely pool/sauna area.
  • Disliked — Skimpy provision of towels, toilet paper etc. No shampoo provided... the little things that take away from a pleasant stay.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Marble Inn Resort.
We would just like to inform you that our cabins have been replaced with 4-star luxury suites at the start of this year. We hope you make a reservation with us again, so you can experience the great new changes that have taken place since your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marble Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Inn Resort

Address: 51 Dogwood Drive, Steady Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Steady Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Steady Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marble Inn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the majestic Marble Mountain and the mighty Humber River, Marble Inn Resort offers 4.5 Star luxury & sophistication in a relaxed natural Newfoundland setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marble Inn Resort Steady Brook, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.