We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Fall day in St Mary's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claddagh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claddagh Inn
Save
You added The Claddagh Inn to your Saves list
Directly on the Irish Loop (Route 90) in St. Mary's | 65km from the Trans Canada Highway taking exit 35, St. Mary's, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Gander, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fall day in St Mary's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just popped in today for a special luncheon. The owners were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. I was blown away by the amenities- wait until you see the miniature Irish Pub!! A great experience and I can't wait to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Carol and I had a blast hosting your luncheon (thanks for calling ahead and working out details) we look forward to doing it again. Don't forget we've got free rooms and breakfast for CF and RCMP veterans still serving or ret'd who want to take in the remembrance ceremony at the legion in nearby River-Head!!

Cheers Gully, stay safe!

Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for one night and wished we had time to stay longer. You can tell a lot of love went into planning this inn. Room was super clean and we had everything we could possibly want. We really enjoyed the cozy pub and the 4 course dinner. Breakfast was much better than you normally get in a B&B or inn. You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here. So glad I found it while I was searching places to stay during our 3 week visit to Newfoundland. Thanks for a wonderful stay! Rick and Sharon Dartmouth NS

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the great review! We've been having fun with the menu this season thanks for noticing; Carol says: "c'mon back any time"!

Be well,
Pat and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My friend and I chose the Claddagh Inn at St. Mary's Bay for our first night in Newfoundland. We could not have made a better choice. It is a converted convent full of comfort and charm. Our hosts, Patrick and Carol, were friendly and hospitable and the fellow travelers we met there were wonderful. We booked the 4 course dinner option and had the snow crab which was fresh and fabulous. Breakfast the next morning was just as good. She we ever have to chance to travel to the Rock again the Claddagh will be on our list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Carol and I were so happy to welcome you to the Rock with some steamed snow crab, glad you enjoyed! We hope the rest of your journey provided you with many great memories and positive experiences.

Cheers! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatley, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A must stay if driving the Irish Loop! We booked reservations at the Inn for the 4 course dinner option! One word: AMAZING We had never had snow crab, so my husband and I pre-ordered the chicken and the pork, which were both wonderful...but if we were to return we may try the snow crab. Everyone was raving about it. Next time! Carol and Patrick are inviting and the attention to detail is impeccable! We hope to return! Thank you so much for making our trip so enjoyable. Great job Patrick and Carol!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you visit with us, and we're happy you enjoyed our menu! That's what makes it (preparing these meals) both fun and rewarding; knowing the enjoyment and memories experienced by our guests!

Cheers, be well!
Patrick And Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Loved everything about it! Room, Dining room- awesome dinner and breakfast!, and the cute Pub! Hoping to be able to spend more than one night next visit with Carol and Patrick- superb and friendly hosts! Thank you for a great stay! Susie and Keith, Wisconsin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We're glad to have been able to help make your Newfoundland experience memorable! Looking forward to your next visit, be well ;)

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night...we were the only guests for the evening. We had a marvelous dinner of snow crab and enjoyed playing Scrabble after dinner in the dining room, felt just like home. Carol and Patrick are great hosts, we would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone exploring Newfoundland. Discovered a wonderful after dinner drink ..Lochan Ora, a Scottish liqueur, which is also available for purchase in Western Canada.
Thanks for a great stay!

Cathy Kehoe
Edmonton AB

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We saw you two taking out the scrabble and were happy to see Mom and Daughter sharing quality time together. Most seldom get the opportunity to share that time let-alone are able to travel on holiday together; well done!

Cheers, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville Ont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our day trip around the Avalon Peninsula found us having lunch at the Inn, what an interesting menu they serve and the attention to detail in the dining room and bar is remarkable. We enjoyed our food immensely and the freshly ground coffee was so inviting. I wish Patrick and Carol the best of luck in the future and hope they receive the fulfillment they are so deserving of. I would definately come back and visit this charming establishment.

Room Tip: Sorry, we were only there for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, we're so happy you enjoyed our lunch menu;) We hope you also enjoyed the rest of you visit on the rock, do come back there's much more to see!

Be well, Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Claddagh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claddagh Inn

Address: Directly on the Irish Loop (Route 90) in St. Mary's | 65km from the Trans Canada Highway taking exit 35, St. Mary's, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claddagh Inn, once the Saint Ann's Presentation convent, was transformed into a quaint traditional Irish style Inn by local craftsmen. Completely refreshed by its new owners in 2011 and 2012, it boasts 6 private en-suite rooms. There's a spacious honeymoon suite with majestic king-size canopy bed and spa bath and also a double room available for family travellers. "Padraig's Folly" is a cozy guest pub or "snug" featuring a fine selection of whiskeys, a local craft beer on tap, and other refreshments for guests to enjoy during dinner, in the pub, or while enjoying the view of peaceful St. Mary's Bay from the deck. This eclectic pub is furnished with re-claimed furniture from the nun's chapel. St. Mary's Bay Snow Crab is our signature dish in the dinning room where four-course fine dining is offered by reservation. The room features incredible wood work in rich warm textures and is decorated with traditional and international art. The view is remarkable and is a great place to start your traveling day while enjoying a hot three course breakfast in the morning featuring local berries and home made jams. New for 2013: starting in June lunch will be available daily! Bi-lingual service bien sur :) Join us in St. Mary's and enjoy access to the amenities offered by the Irish Loop. Cheers, Salut! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claddagh Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claddagh Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.