We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish cakes I had all week, excellent chowder!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java Jack's Restaurant & Gallery

Java Jack's Restaurant & Gallery
88 Main Street North, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
(709) 458-3004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best fish cakes I had all week, excellent chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My wife and I stopped in here for lunch. Lovely decor and atmosphere, very friendly service. The food was excellent. I started with the seafood chowder (lovely - creamy but light, big chunks of fresh seafood) and enjoyed it with some fish cakes - now THESE were fish cakes! Big, perfectly cooked, light texture, nicely seasoned. Delicious! My wife had the moose pasta dish - I had some of it and really enjoyed it - a delicious tomato sauce, the moose was perfectly cooked and tender. Prices were quite reasonable. We would definitely eat here again, it was by far the best meal we had during our 3 day stay in Rocky Harbour.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    67
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The cover tells the story. Great curb appeal and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Returned this year to find the food fabulous as ever. Well prepared, presented and tasted better than it looked.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Java Jacks was the best meal I had while in Newfoundland. Everything from the starters to desert was excellent. Loved the atmosphere , the staff and the FOOD!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deliciously trendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Food was delicious, waitresses were friendly and chatty, centrally located, quick and efficient staff, artwork displayed on walls added to the atmosphere. My wife and I enjoyed this spot and would go back in a heartbeat..

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

There aren't many dining options in Rocky Harbour but you can't miss with Java Jack's. The food was excellent as was the service. The menu is rather eclectic with everything from seafood to tandoori chicken on the menu. I highly recommend eating here.

We returned the next morning to buy lunch for our hike. The wraps were great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Jack's Restaurant & Gallery also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Java Jack's Restaurant & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java Jack's Restaurant & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.