We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best moose anywhere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earl's

Earl's
Main Street, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K4N0, Canada
(709) 458-3100
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best moose anywhere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had been advised to try this by Sharon at The Humberview in Deer Lake and as it was right across from the Gros Morne Cabins where we were staying it seemed like an easy decision. What a treat! Moose soup which tasted better the most tender beef, an amazing moose burger and the hearty moose stew with a completely different flavor than the soup, plus the chicken on a FBI was a complete breast lightly battered and fried!! Staff excellent, place clean and a tv showing great images from all over Newfoundland with terrific food - definitely a winner!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food -- lots of fried items”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

`We stopped for lunch and although the food was plentiful, it was average in taste. If you have a big appetite and like fried foods this is the place for you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Newfoundland Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was one of our favorite restaurants during our two-week stay in NFLD. We ate at Earl's twice. The food was fresh, portions were generous and prices were very reasonable. We tried the cod, moose stew and the bakeapple pie. We also bought some delicious bakeapple and partrigeberry tarts in the connecting bakery. These tarts had a nice pastry with lots of not too sweet filling. If you want to experience some good traditional NFLD cooking, do try Earl's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Food and Books and Music, Oh My!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Earle's has it, and if it doesn't, you don't need it. From sit down food to "to-die-for" partridgeberry molasses jam-jam cookies, to moose stew in a jar, to Newfoundland books and local musicians' CDs, Earle's is a delight. Casual dining, seems to be family friendly, and clean washrooms. A great place to spend an hour in Rocky Harbour.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great supper at Earl's. Tastiest fisherman's platter ever...shrimp was the best!! Baked goods looked mouth watering but we were too full for dessert. We did try the raisin tea buns and they were excellent!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl's also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Earl's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.