We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average everything, good fries!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie's Restaurant & Takeout

Jackie's Restaurant & Takeout
PO Box 182, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
(709) 458-2649
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average everything, good fries!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Jackie's is quite appealing from the outside. Despite the location the owners fail to take advantage of a great view with small windows and tables that aren't in line with the windows. There is no decor to speak of and the floor is lifted in certain places. The food is your average, run of the mill diner food with processed cheese on the club sandwich but the fries are great. Waitresses were friendly enough but you didn't feel like you we're getting an authentic Newfoundland experience here...it seemed more like a place for locals than tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Chips for the Month of August”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being in Rocky Harbour for the entire month of August I have cast my vote for the best chips to be served at Jackie's Restaurant!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pub fare at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Jackie's offers good pub fare (fish and chips, burgers, etc) at a decent price compared to many other places in Gros Morne Park. If you're not looking for pan fried cod this is a good place to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Harbour, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

food was awesome , I would recommend anyone to eat their , great chicken and home made fries a, you get lots for your money awesome friendly staff , fast service, great price

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had the fish and chips and it was very good, I'm very fussy about my fish.
We had to wait 45 minutes but the 2 waitresses were run of their feet. It was packed plus many people were getting take out orders. One customer was waiting 25 minutes for take out.
The menu is very heavy on fried foods and diner food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie's Restaurant & Takeout also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Jackie's Restaurant & Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie's Restaurant & Takeout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.