We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Landing Restaurant

Fisherman's Landing Restaurant
44 Main St, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
(709) 458-2060
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My Husband and I visited Gros Morne National Park for our Honeymoon.

While there we ate at Fishermans Landing for a Supper and a Breakfast. Both experiences were wonderful. The service was quick, sincere, and professional. The food was tasty, well prepared and reasonably priced. The location was outstanding as the view was over looking Rocky Harbour.

Thanks to the staff at Fishermans Landing for adding to our Honeymoon! Your service was greatly appreciated!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    28
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A boyhood reminder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We recently visited Rocky Harbour on the west coast of Newfoundland. We needed to have a quick dinner before going to a nearby bar for some live local entertainment. We heard that anything along the Main Street in town was worth trying. From the moment we walked in we were treated like we were welcome. It reminded me of the small local restaurants I ate in as a kid. Lots of locals and an ambience that felt friendly and comfortable. This is not a gourmet restaurant but the food was great and the waitresses were quick and courteous and made us feel right at home. We have eaten in restaurants throughout the world and I am always amazed at how a simple place like this can beat them all just by being natural and genuine. They treat you like a member of their family and make you feel right at home. Great food. Great folks. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

First went there late on after a day long hike up Gros Morne. It was around 8pm so not many places open. Ordered Cod au Gratin and then Cod Tongues for main course to try them. Only after getting my appetiser and talking to the waitress did she tell me they also did cod tongues as appetiser as they were good to try but not to everyone's taste. Server was friendly, but it was expensive for what it was. Had moose burger as take out and that was very good. On another occassion passing through after a drive from the North, I stopped in and had mussels. They were overcooked and rubbery. Its diner rather than restaurant food - but charged at the latter prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Typical NFLD food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We made a wuick stop during lunch time at this nice little restaurant. They had typical food from Newfoundland: cod fish, moose burger, fish and chips! Good food and good price too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Service was quick and server very knowledgeable about their menu items. Enjoyed our meals. I had the moose meat dinner. Large portions. Enjoyed my first time Moose Meat dinner and enjoyed every bite. Wife had the seafood platter and she enjoyed her food as well. Great food and service.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Landing Restaurant also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Fisherman's Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Landing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.