We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent, well managed hotel with superb staff that will go the extra mile to help out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Landing Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fisherman's Landing Inn to your Saves list
Fisherman's Landing Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21-29 West Link Road | P.O. Box 124, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K-4N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent, well managed hotel with superb staff that will go the extra mile to help out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is likely the best place to stay in Rocky Harbour. I spent 4 days here in July, then returned for a fifth a week later. Felt like returning home! Accommodations were what you'd expect from a 3-4 star hotel, but it was the staff that made it memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansLandingInn, General Manager at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great response. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel "at Home". Our goal is to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible so that when you leave you definately want to return!!! Happy & safe travels!!!
Sincerely,
Roxane :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
15
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torbay, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely, quiet hotel for two nights. The room was spotless. The hotel provided free laundry use for guests and breakfast was very good. I asked for gluten free choices and not only could they provide gluten free hot cereal, the cook came out and allowed me to make my choice from two! They also had an outdoor hot tub for guests. We did not use it but for anyone going to Rocky Harbour to climb Gros Morne Mountain like we did, a great place to go for sure! Would go there again definitely! Only down side was that the restaurant on site only provided breakfast, but it was an easy drive to other places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to allow easy access to your room to bring in luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansLandingInn, General Manager at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Edwina,
First of all thank you so much for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay at the Inn. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you would definately return. The management and staff do everything possible to make our guests comfortable and provide quality service.
Today with so many dietary restrictions, allergies, etc., we do all that we can do to provide food choices that meet the needs of our guests (our cook, Pauline, is just awesome and she aims to please) and we think the guest laundry facility is a much needed convenience (it's the little things that mean so much).
We would love for you to visit us again and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in Rocky Harbour.
Sincerely,
Roxane Welsh :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had the opportunity to finally visited Rocky Harbour and Gros Morne for the first time in my life. I have been fortunate to travel all over Europe and all over North America which in turn results in you staying in alot of different Hotels and Inns, but in all of my travels, I have not experienced the hospitality and the warmth that I experienced when I stayed at the Fisherman's Landing Inn. The staff and ownership did a fabulous job in making comfortable at all times. The owner, Walter, did a unbelievable job in making sure all of our needs were taken care of. This day and age, it is alot harder to find these sort of things. It would be worth any travellers wild to visit this beautiful area and by staying at Fisherman's Landing Inn, you will reduce any worries that you may have by staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansLandingInn, Manager at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Dion,
We are happy that you had the opportunity to visit Gros Morne and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear when a guest has had a great experience especially since warm and inviting hospitality is what we strive to achieve. Please visit us again and see all that Gros Morne has to offer.
Sincerely,
Roxane :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in Rocky Harbor on a ski doo trip and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was great and very friendly. I did have some meals there and they were well worth the money. The food was great and big portions. Over all I had a great experience and I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansLandingInn, Owner at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the great response and we are so pleased that you had a great experience at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a neat little hotel in this quiet little community. Front end staff only there limited hours. So you better not take your time to get there to check in.
Rooms were alright. But they still have the old style TV's that won can't hook anything into.
Breakfast costs $6 plus tax. Their was hairs all over my towels and the one bath towel I had had holes in it.
Will not return. Would rather drive another hour or two depending on direction traveling and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansLandingInn, Owner at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I apologize for your disappointment with Fisherman's Landing Inn and it is unfortunate that you did not have a good experience. We appreciate your response and would welcome another opportunity to serve you better. The management and staff here at the Inn strive for great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here unfortunately a few nights in October only because the reservation was nonrefundable and could not be cancelled! When we drove into the parking lot we were in shock when we saw a metal building! As we went inside it did not improve, we were inside a metal barn like building with cheap quality furniture in it. Not what the website states, " Fisherman's Landing Inn provides you with the finest, with Jacuzzi and Fireplace, Fitness Room, 7 Person Outdoor Hot Tub (which did not exist anymore we were told), we're sure you're stay will be an enjoyable one." The fireplace and the lady working the front desk were the only 2 good things about our stay. We reserve what they call a suite, it was large and that was it. The mattresses were hard and poor quality. There was a large jacuzzi bath tub and I thought that this would atleast save the stay, I jumped to the wrong conclusion. I turned on the water and ran it for 30 minutes, the water was dark brownish green and smelt like a toilet. I asked at the desk if it was safe as the desk person took down a sign that stated water should be boiled before using. I was told the water was safe to bath in and that it was bog water. I also found at this time we were the "only" guests and even the night clerk would not be there that night and that they would lock us in! There restaurant which was about a mile or so away was awful and service should not even be called service. Stay elsewhere! But do not miss a shop-restaurant called the treasure box! Excellent food and service!

Room Tip: choose a room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansLandingInn, Owner at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We apologize for your displeasure with Fisherman's Landing Inn. However, you referred to our Inn as a metal building like a barn with cheap quality furniture. Our building is constructed of solid wood siding (not metal) and the interior lobby is decorated with leather furniture, queen anne chairs, solid wood/glass coffee and end tables as well as many beautiful photos and unique art displayed throughout. We do have all the amenities stated on our website, except from time to time the hot tub closes for cleaning or upgrades. Our matresses are of top quality and many of our guests have left comment cards stating that our beds are the most comfortable they have experienced while on their journey. We are inspected, without notice, annually by Canada Select and have always maintained the standards necessary to receive our 3 1/2 star status.
Regarding the discoloration of the water, we apologize for that as well, although that was totally beyond our control. We are on the towns water supply and The Town of Rocky Harbour were flushing the fire hydrants at the time of your stay. As a consequence a precautionary boil order was put in effect and we experience discoloration of the water. This is frustrating for us as well because of the inconvenience to our guests. It is also unfortunate that you were the only guests here at the Inn (we certainly wish we had been full to capacity). However, Gros Morne seems to be mainly a summer destination although we are working diligently to change this. You stated that you were "locked in" but in fact all our rooms have their own private outside entrance for your convenience.
We do appreciate all feedback from our guests whether positive or negative. We understand that we do not live in a perfect world and that Fisherman's Landing Inn is no exception. We would love for you to give us another chance to show you what we have to offer under different circumstances. Have a great day and thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Walter Nicolle
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The room was exceedingly comfortable and very handy to use as a base to travel around Gros Morne. The internet access was good at some points and spotty at other times but the fact is the scenery there was much more important to us than the internet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisherman's Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Landing Inn

Address: 21-29 West Link Road | P.O. Box 124, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K-4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Landing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene, retreat-like setting nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Relax in our outdoor hot tub or sit & listen to the trickle of the stream as you basque in the glow of our outdoor fire, where wildlife sightings are common. Excellent location for a conference or special event with a friendly, effecient team ready to cater to your every request. Within walking distance of all restaurants and gift shops on the waterfront & a short drive to Western Brook Pond Boat Tour. Ideal for snowmobiling and sporting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fisherman's Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishermans Landing Hotel
Fisherman's Landing Inn Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Landing Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.