We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Carlisle, PA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here in 2001 and decided to try it again this trip. What a surprise! It's all been remodeled and upgraded and we weren't sure it was the same place. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and our dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were quite good. The view of the harbour is a nice finishing touch.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the changes we have made! Glad you enjoyed the room and the view.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
44
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We had a ground level floor room with partial ocean view.

We arrived early, and they quick got our rooms ready so we could unpack and go out on our first excursion.

The rooms are clean, and comfortable.

We ate in the dining room upstairs - the dinner was excellent, and a nice view of the ocean.
Our server was professional, and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi there;

Thanks for the great review and we hope you enjoyed your time in Gros Morne National Park. We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and service.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Location: The hotel is well located on the seafront. Rocky Harbour itself is well positioned for local
attractions and hiking trails.

Reception: I was given a warm welcome at the start of my three-night stay here. It turned out they
only had me booked in for two nights, but the mistake was corrected with no fuss. I am concerned
though that this might have been more problematic later in the season, when things are busier.

One feature of the reception area that I appreciated was the tourist office off to one side, where you could ask about, and book, local boat tours and so on. I dealt with two women here. The less said about the first one the better, but her colleague the next day more than made amends, being both friendly and well informed.

Accommodation: The room was perhaps a little small, but comfortable enough. There was
a problem with the window fastener, but this was corrected quickly when I brought it to
management’s attention. I didn’t notice the noise problem some other reviewers have commented
on.

Food and drink: I had breakfast all three days of my stay in the restaurant, which was nice and light with a fine view of the sea. The food and service were both very good.

I found the dinner menu a bit pricey though, so the only other food I had was some “pub grub” in the bar. The choice was conventional, but freshly prepared and enjoyable.

I attended the Anchors Aweigh show mentioned by another reviewer. This was good fun and I’d
recommend it.

Mostly a good experience then. I think I'd stay here if I ever passed through Rocky Harbour again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi there!

Thank you for the detailed review. We really like to have feedback like this and do appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay. Hope to host you again in Gros Morne National Park.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I was definitely looking for a hotel as opposed to a cabin or B&B so Ocean View was an easy decision. Room was very big and had a sliding patio door to a little sitting area. Air conditioning was extremely good and wifi internet was also great.

It wasn't cheap, but it was also the Friday of the Canada Day long weekend, so I'd say it was very fair considering the timing and whatnot.

Parking was tough as they have an event going on Friday night but nothing major. Had to hunt a bit for a spot but it cleared out after 11PM.

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the whole outfit was very clean and bright.

The people I dealt with were extremely friendly and easy to get along with.

The dining room did a great breakfast overlooking the harbour and was much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor with a sliding door are a nice bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi;

Great review of the property and very helpful to other potential guests. Thanks for visiting us and thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts on the property!

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great staff, Very friendly people.Lovely place to walk. Be sure to go to Wildlife Museum close by. Brilliantly done. Good bar with entertainment (Anchors Aweigh).

Internet in lobby and in rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi!

Awesome review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have stayed in every hotel on the west coast of Newfoundalnd.
This hotel is nice etc... but very expensive some times 40% more depending on time of year.
The price 1/2 down the road in CowHead are just as nice and allot cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi there;

Thanks for the review.

Not so sure re the price comparison? Our prices are mid-ranged and we do offer great off-season rates as well as corporate rates for regular guests.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Not a fancy hotel, but has all that you need. See if "Anchor's Away" is playing in the Anchor Pub during your stay - a great band that plays traditional Newfoundland music with a twist. My uncle, who lives in Stephenville, takes his out-of-province guests here regularly, so that speaks volumes. This hotel is close to the Western Brook Pond tour (the most magnificent fjords that you can imagine), close to the liquour and gift shops (across the street), close to the police station (across the street, next door to the liquor and gift shops) and of course, a few steps to the gorgeous Rocky Harbour itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and we appreciate the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the room and the view! Hope you can visit us again.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Hotel's 52 newly upgraded rooms are located centrally in Gros Morne National Park, on the Rocky Harbour waterfront. We are the region's flagship property, offering excellent chef prepared dining, breathtaking sunset views, and live entertainment 5 nights per week. We're at the centre of all events and amenities. We are also the ticket office for Bontours/Western Brook excursions. Book early and don't forget your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Ocean View Hotel Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.