We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Dining Room

Ocean Dining Room
38-42 Main Street, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
709-458-2730
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a day of hiking planned and wanted a full breakfast so stopped in. The hash browns were very good, eggs scrambled properly and ham was the vacpak type slices which were OK with me as I was looking for more salt than fatty bacon/sausage. But what really stood out for me was the perfectly toasted whole wheat bread. I know it's just toast but I'm a bread person and this was perhaps the best toast I'd ever had. It made the meal for me. The almost half pot of coffee I consumed was very good as well and the small glass of OJ much appreciated. The waitress was friendly and professional. A+ in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A little style on the west coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

First--the name of the restaurant is Oceans Dining Room, not Ocean. It's a lovely light-filled spot on the second floor of the Ocean View Hotel; there are tablecloths on the tables. Do not expect gourmet cuisine--this is Rocky Harbor, population under 1000, inside Gros Morne National Park. The food is tasty, freshly prepared, nicely served, and there is a limited wine list. All four of our dining group were pleased with our meals. One comes to Newfoundland for seafood and not expensive cuts of beef, I imagine. But there was a surf and turf offering with a big lobster tail and a good cut of sirloin which my friend couldn't finish because he was too full. It's a welcome change from everything fried.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food but not exceptional.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice place. We had lobster at a good price since it is caught locally. Veg was good and not overcooked.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

For outport Newfoundland this restaurant really stands out. Being a native Newfoundlander, I make an annual pilgrimage from Boston to Gros Morne each year. I discovered "The Ocean" 3 year ago and since I have eaten there 5 times, most recently this past week. The menu is varied, the service is excellent and the food quite good. I have had both meat and fish and they are well prepared and presented.

John Michael

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value, good service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Based on reviews, we were staying in the Ocean View Hotel, and decided to try their breakfast in the Ocean Dining Room. It was a good choice. Their breakfast special of two eggs, bacon, ham or sausage, toast, hash browns, juice and coffee for $7.00 before 8:00 a.m. was very good value and was delivered promptly, and well prepared. We had breakfast two more mornings, as well as dinner two evenings. We had two different seafood dishes and a beef dish - all very good. The other significant point was that we felt all the meals were good value.

A nice little plus is the ocean view from the dining room.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Dining Room also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Ocean Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.