We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply, the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply, the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Our hostess Vera made our stay very memorable. Not hard to see why they are rated so highly. Fantastic breakfasts! Our hosts were very gracious, buying the salads and lobsters for a traditional "boil up" - a highlight of our time in Newfoundland. Highly recommended place to stay. An excellent B and B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only one night at Anchor Down but we were sorry it wasn't longer. It was excellent. Great location, lovely place. spotless too. Dave and Vera are extremely warm and welcoming - would recommend them them highly and to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A wonderful B&B. Very lovely home, with a super large kitchen. Dave and Vera put on a 5star breakfast. All guests can fit at the two lovely large tables, which allowed us to chat and exchange stories. A very nice area outside with lots of comfy chairs to enjoy a drink with other guests in the evening. Our room was very nice, comfy bed and very clean. Vera is a sweetheart, and so helpful. I would highly recommend this B&B. However, don't go to Sylvia's B&B down the road. It was the worse experience I have ever had, Sylvia's in the wrong business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This B and B met all our expectations: spacious room, ensuite bathroom, great home-cooked breakfasts, lovely living room where we could meet other guests, and friendly hosts, Dave and Vera. The location was perfect for exploring Gros Morne National Park and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although Vera and Dave were out when we arrived, we had immediate access to our room, and later enjoyed a nice long chat. Very friendly. Room was large and comfortable, with very good bed. Breakfast in the cosy kitchen with all the visitors, all cheerful and chatty. Walking distance (15 minutes) from the Main Street where we enjoyed dinner at the Ocean View Hotel (whose rooms were much more expensive!)

Room Tip: We had Room C by the entrance door, lots of room. Rooms are A,N,C,H,O,R!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Vera and Dave's Anchor Down B&B was beyond our expectations of what a bed and breakfast is. Hearty breakfasts in a lovely kitchen and Dave's coffee is barista quality! Great to wake up to and it is available at 0700 hrs. They are very helpful with all tourist type needs, reservations etc. The bed is very comfortable, nice linens and bathroom is roomy. The house is lovely and location is close to the harbour. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Knitted slippers in a basket by the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Book early and arrange your Newfoundland holiday around your stay at Anchor Down. Vera and Dave made us feel right at home. The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were wonderful, and Vera happily accommodated my special dietary needs. They gave us information about restaurants, walks, nearby attractions, and lovely little coastline places to explore. We stayed at several different B&B's while touring Newfoundland, but Anchor Down was, hands down, the best. We were lucky to have had our longest stay here!

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom 3 1/2 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.