We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is absolutely amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bottom Brook Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bottom Brook Cottages
Save
You added Bottom Brook Cottages to your Saves list
Main St N., Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Norris Arm
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The view is absolutely amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the cottages. There was a wonderful view. Loved it will definitely go back. There is a restaurant practically on the property also a gift shop the convenience store is right on the corner there was no need for a vehicle cause u could walk to all of it and the ocean was right at ur doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman P, Owner at Bottom Brook Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give us this great review! Every evening my wife and I watch the sun sitting behind the Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse, while the little fishing boats are tied to the wharf and it looks magicial to us! We were glad to share our corner of the world with you and thrilled you enjoyed it as much as we do!

Norm & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

There were 9 of us who just stayed for 6 nights in 3 of the cottages and I forgot to write a note in the guest book . It would be remiss of us to not say how wonderful a visit we had! Cottages are very clean, well kept, equipped and comfortable. The owners are fantastic and the location is fabulous! Restaurants and convenience store next door and a great view of the sunset on the beach!!! Very central also to all of the main sites! The Tablelands, the Western brook boat tour are a must! We were especially delighted to swim and play at beautiful Shallow Bay! Will definitely stay at these cottages whenever we return!!!!!!!
Thank you to the Parsons for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman P, Owner at Bottom Brook Cottages, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and we were delighted that you enjoyed Gros Morne and especially our cottages. We certainly enjoyed meeting all of your group!

Norm & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful spot. We wished we had time for an extra day or two.
The cottages have two bedrooms, a full bathroom, a sitting area with tv, and a kitchen/dining area. Everything we needed was there in the cottages. They were very clean and comfortable. There is a small food store right next door. The harbour is directly across the street.
We were travelling with another couple. We each had our own cottage to provide more room to spread out after a long drive from Gander. The cottages are alongside a brook, and about an hour after we arrived a full grown moose crossed the brook less than 50 meters upstream from the cabins. Very cool.
Norman & Sue were very pleasant and helpful. We got good suggestions:
1. Anchors Aweigh show at a hotel about 100 meters from the cottage - the show was a lot of fun with some excellent music.
2. The fish market about 1 Km away at Salmon Point. We cooked salmon one night and scallops the next - some of the best seafood I have ever had.
3. The Western Brook Pond boat tour - amazing scenery.
These cottages were exactly what we were looking for and we were totally pleased.

Room Tip: There are 5 cottages, #1 is closest to the street. Not a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman P, Owner at Bottom Brook Cottages, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience things that this area has to offer.

Norm & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

When you first drive up, they don't look like much but these cottages offer everything you could want. They are clean and come fully equipped, great location and wonderful caring owners. There is a BBQ with every cottage and free wifi. We used this as a little relaxing get away, and it was just what we needed, ended up staying an extra two nights. I can't recommend this place enough, everyone should stay here!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman P, Owner at Bottom Brook Cottages, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
So glad you were pleased with your cottage and enjoyed your stay!

Norm & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The cottages aren't fancy, but clean and functional. The Wifi worked great the whole time we were here (we stayed 2 nights). The host was very informative and helpful. I'd recommend this place if you don't need luxury (we sure don't).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

These cottages don't look too fancy, but they are clean and priced excellent. Has everything you will need, and the owners are wonderful and will offer advice. Very convenient, with stores and restaurants next door. BBQ on our patio was used by us each night. Laundromat on site was useful too. Walking distance to the liquor store, and also the ticket office for Western Brook Pond boat tours (you should buy tickets for the boat tour in advance BTW, as it sells out often during tourist season....we walked to the ticket office in our pajamas from this cottage).

You won't feel like you are in the deep woods here, but you will have a great place to stay when coming back from a long day of hiking around Gros Morne.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Due to some mix up with emails, we got to stay at the 4 bedroom cottage,as opposed to one of the smaller ones we had reserved. The owners did everything right though with the mix up, gave us the same price, so nothing but compliments there. The 4 bedroom is actually the old family house and has a lot space, and a full kitchen. It comes with a bbq on the deck. It has an upstairs and downstairs full bath and 4 double beds. It is right in the middle of Rocky Harbour. It is a good option when travelling with a larger group. the site itself has a shared firepit at the brook. Rocky Harbour is convenient for exploring the North side of Gros Morne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bottom Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottom Brook Cottages

Address: Main St N., Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bottom Brook Cottages Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottom Brook Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.