We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Gros Morne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight B & B
Save
You added Candlelight B & B to your Saves list
89 Main St. North, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Gros Morne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a lovely stay here for 3 nights. Our host, Winston, was amazing in providing us with everything that we needed and more. He is a "one man show" and is an attraction in his own right. We had comfortable accommodations with TV and plenty of DVD's for a rainy day, plentiful food for breakfast that appealed to adults and a picky 7-year old, and a superb location. We were within walking distance to restaurants, grocery stores, and within 40 minute drive to most sites within Gros Morne. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you, Winston!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here on the last 3 nights of our fantastic vacation in Newfoundland. Found out the Inn was an old Salvation Army Church, could be the reason for the odd feel. The owner Winston was a great host, as he is 70 we were very pleased with the state of our rooms. Clean, tidy & a comfortable queen size bed with an en-suite and with breakfast included, perfect. Eggs, bacon, toast, cereal & juice, coffee & tea for first morning then pancakes, toast, cereal & juice, coffee & tea for the next, he had fresh fruit available too. Kitchen was available as the common room for all the guests, fridge & Internet available in the kitchen & we were also free to use the back deck, which we did. Beautiful view of the harbour great location for our travels. Old cemetery at the waters edge, found this was the case all over Newfoundland. The whole guest area of the Inn is on ground level so easy access to room & kitchen facility. Winston made some excellent recommendations for things to do & places to eat, make sure you get to Parson's Restaurant - pre book fresh seafood, had the best lobster with homemade bread & soup as a starter & order a great bottle of wine. Also go see the Anchor's Aweigh show at the Anchor Inn, great music & comedy with a history lesson to boot. Both highly recommended by Winston. The Inn is within walking distance to the centre of town so no need to drive if wanting a change. Nice place to stay. Nice area, close to many cross country walks. Also check out the Gros Morne Park tourist information complex very good tourist guides with a lot of interesting movies & books & flyers avaliable to learn about the area. All round great experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you book your rooms at least 2 month ahead of time when traveling in Newfoundland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

On paper this appears to b e a four star b&b, but the owners seem to have forgotten the basics. Ceramic tiling, wood floors and modern/elegant furniture all add a four star touch that puts this b&b above the other places you can stay out here. The basics that are missing however are clean sheets (be prepared for pilled sheets with nasty stains), general cleanliness (I suggest bringing a swiffer to make your stay more comfortable and antihistamines if dust bothers you), and mismatched decor. It will leave you wondering whether you are staying in a fifties style doll house or a modern boutique motel. If porcelain dolls aren't your thing, neither is this b&b. And, as someone else on this forum pointed out here, there is a very odd feeling to this place that you can't quite put your finger on. Perhaps it is the bedrooms overlooking the cemetery or the complete disjointedness and layout of the entire place. Either way, your money is best spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed here one night in August. The location is pretty good, assuming you have a reason to be in Rocky Harbour to begin with. The place is set up rather like a small motel, but they do serve breakfast. I believe it was pancakes, as another reviewer mentioned. I thought they were good pancakes, but then I was not looking for anything else. There was also cereal available, as I recall.

This was one of the few places we stayed that offered a computer with free internet for the guests, which was very welcome. Our room was fine. There was a slight problem with the fixtures in the bathroom, but it was repaired in short order.

Although there was nothing specifcally wrong with this B+B, it had an odd feeling to it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Candlelight Inn B&B was one of the best bed & breakfast we ever stayed in. The rooms were exceptionally decorated & very clean. The beds & bedding were very comfortable. The Breakfast was excellent and the host very nice and welcoming! Would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Worst 4 star??? B & B I stayed in in NFLD. During our 2 week stay we stayed at 4 star B & B's and all were excellent except for Candelight Inn and B & B... should not be a 4 star at all! Would definitely not recommend this to my friends.

Room was not clean...had to dust the room before settling in. The sheets were stained with bleach and did not smell clean. The towels were ragged and there was no bath mat. When we asked for an extra hand towel...we never got it!

Decor was not well finished. The kitchen had an offensive odor. The premises did not feel clean at all.

Breakfast was awful! The hot choice was eggs (fried) or pancakes, and not on the same morning! No fresh fruit cup only OLD FRUIT (such as apples, bananas, oranges) in a bowl! I am lactose intolerant and he did not accommodate my dietary requirement, as a matter of fact he said that I would probably have to cook my breakfast myself..I reminded him that I was at a 4 star accommodation and that the other 4 star B & B's I was staying in accommodated my dietary requirments no problem. I had to purchase my on Lactose Free milk and he did not offer to reimburse the cost...I left it there for his use.

The owner was very nice, no question about it, but the 4 star rating for this B & B is outrageous....should be a 3 star at the most!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlelight B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight B & B

Address: 89 Main St. North, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Canada Select 4* B&B located directly on the water in Rocky Harbour NL in the middle of Gros Morne National Park. All rooms provide queensized pillow top mattresses and a large 4 piece ensuite. Choice of 5 breakfast items, made to order. Come and experience nature at it's finest, come to Gros Morne National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Candlelight B & B Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.