We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss The Fishers' Loft Inn--It's A Delightful Inn--One of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Save
You added Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss The Fishers' Loft Inn--It's A Delightful Inn--One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Whatever you do in Newfoundland, please do not miss out on The Fishers Loft Inn. We can’t recommend it enough. My husband and I just returned from a two night stay and I can truly say it was one of the most charming places we’ve ever visited. The rustic rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, light and extremely cozy. Every wall features beautiful art created by Newfoundlanders; in fact, the home is practically an art gallery in its own right. It is clearly evident that the inn-keepers celebrate Newfoundland art, literature, food and culture. Their extensive collection of local literature is perfect for a rainy day by the fire place, and prior to dinner the Inn hosted a poetry reading by an acclaimed local poet Des Walsh. This free reading was just one of a series or readings that the Inn hosts. Not only was the reading a literary treat for visitors, but residents from as far as St. John’s drove to the Inn that night to celebrate Walsh’s work. The Fisher’s Loft Inn is thoughtfully preserving what is best in Newfoundland food, architecture, literature and art.

Their dining room with waterfront views as well as views of their lovely vegetable garden is otherworldly. And the food is pure delight. We enjoyed pastries and deserts made from fresh blue berries picked from the neighboring Skerwink Trail, just the day before. We found the menu creative and each course was simply delicious. The food is neither pretentious nor decadent, but the chef clearly allows the food to present itself to your palette, rather than overwhelming and drowning out the fresh ingredients with heavy sauces. If the service was slow as one review suggested, we truly did not notice it one little bit. The food was far too enjoyable, the atmosphere far too peaceful, and the servers far too kind to be looking at our watches.

Having worked in the airline industry as well as in hospitality for over 6 years, we’ve stayed in B&B’s, Inns and 5-star Hotels around the world, and The Fisher’s Loft Inn is one of our favorite new getaways. Do not be dissuaded by the last review— it will be your loss. Rather then servers that dote over your every move, we found the service to be welcoming and accommodating. We had extensive conversations with both owners Peggy and John as well as their son, and we found each one helpful, friendly, and hospitable. If you are looking for a peaceful location, fresh and thoughtfully prepared food, friendly service, and amazing and dramatic hikes reminiscent of the Pacific North West Trail, stay at The Fisher’s Loft Inn. It is a dining delight, a lovely atmosphere, a treasure trove of local art and literature, only steps away from some of the most exciting hiking trails you'll find anywhere.

  • Liked — Delicious food, lovely atmosphere, and gorgeous location for hiking.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the theatre in Trinity for at least one night after dinner. Hike the Skerwink Trail.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    23
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
105
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

I found the Fisher's Loft after searching the Newfoundland/Labrador tourism site and was enchanted by it's quaint appearance. After exchanging several emails with the owner, I booked my husband and myself for 4 nights (there was not one room available for all 4 nights, so we were going to have to switch either after the first night or for the last night).

We arrived after spending two lovely nights at a B&B on the Burin Penninsula, expecting the same warmth and congeniality. What we received was a cool shoulder. The individual who checked us in was cordial enough, giving us all of the tourist information we would need. She also explained our options concerning our rooms, pitching of course, the more expensive room. The room was large and roomy and we ended up keeping that room. However, after our treatment in the dining room that evening, we cut our stay short.

I had called the morning of our arrival to advise that we would be having dinner with them that evening, and were assigned the 7:30 p.m. seating. There were only a few individuals seated when we arrived, but it filled up quickly, including a large, very noisy party. There were only 2 people serving dinner, and it took over 90 minutes to complete the meal.

Our server asked if we wanted wine and from the time we indicated that we did not, the service was pretty much nonexistent. We were never asked if we wanted anything else to drink; when the table behind us indicated they didn't want their basket of bread it was literally tossed onto our table; and while the server did manage to refill my husband's water glass twice, she couldn't be bothered to refill mine (nor could we get her attention to ask for anything).

The individuals serving were very chatty with the other guests in the dining room, often delaying service to the remaining patrons. The clientelle were for the most part older/retired and obviously well-off individuals who apparently didn't mind spending 45+ Canadian dollars, per person, for a "good" meal (sans wine) and mediocre service. For the remainder of our stay, including our breakfasts, we sought out other establishments.

Our decision to leave a day early was met with cool indifference, and check out was a very formal affair with no unnecessary chatter not even as much as a "was everything satisfactory." They apparently didn't care.

When we told Newfoundlanders about our stay at Fisher's Loft and our disappointment, we were met with smiles and offered the following explanation. First, they raised their prices after Kevin Spacey stayed there during the filming of The Shipping News, and second, the owners are not Newfoundlanders, hence the cool, almost rude treatment.

The location is beautiful, the rooms are nice, Hieke the 3-legged dog is a sweetheart, but those are the only nice things I can say about Fisher's Loft. The owners and staff should spend a couple of nights at the B&B's on the Burin Penninsula, or even in St. John's, and see what true Newfoundland hospitality is about. Fortunately our stays in Marystown and St. John's were lovely and more than compensated for the bad taste left in our mouths in Port Rexton.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Poor service -- not up to the warm, hospitable standards of true Newfoundlanders
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

This is a first class run establishment with meals and rooms to match.Each meal was beautifully presented with a fairly priced wine list.The rooms are filled with local art and warmth
We spent two days enjoying excellent hospitality and perfect physical surroundings.All of the staff are well informed and enthusiastic about this Inn.
The hiking from the front door of our fabulous "room" was world class.
This place is on our list of places we must return.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

Just came back from a wonderful vacation in Newfoundland. Fell in love with the people, scenery, food and Fishers Loft Inn.

Located 10 minutes from Trinity Bay, a very scenic and historic area about 3 hours from St. John's, the Inn is a collection of 5 buildings, 4 of which are retro-built to resemble the traditional salt-box , but have all modern amenities-- large bathrooms equipped with hairdryers and wonderful soaps, thick towels and robes. Each room has gorgeous furnishings made locally and down duvets to snuggle under. To add to these, each room has been provided with pair of quality binoculars and walking sticks to encourage hiking the various trails nearby.

If you do participate in any of the many of the other outdoor activities available nearby--whale watching, sea kayaklng to name but a few,they will also whet your appetite for the outstanding meals served in the dining room at breakfast and dinner.

Breakfasts are enhanced by the most incredible home-baked muffins, scones and croissants. Dinners usually consist of something from the bounty of the sea--wonderful fresh fish like cod and halibut, preceded by imaginative soups and salads whose ingredients usually come from their kitchen garden and are followed by desserts using whatever local berries are in season.

Meals are served by a wonderful friendly staff with loads of time to share their love and knowledge of Newfoundland. The owner, Peggy Fisher, is a most gracious host and takes great pride in telling about the amazing growth of the Inn, which she and her husband created out of a 4-room B&B, and the recent addition of their son to the Inn's management team.

The last day of our stay, we were treated to a sighting of the most beautiful rainbow we have ever seen --a sign to us that we must return to Fishers' at our earliest opportunity and that we should share this "diamond" with our fellow travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

Stayed here in June 2006 for 1 night. It's a 5-10 minute drive from Triinity, in a quiet but easily found location. We had a spacious room, that was simply decorated but stylish, with high quality furnishings. They served a good continental breakfast, with the option of cooked courses. The setting was lovely and a 10-15 mintue walk will bring you to a wonderful cliff-top walk that is well-worth doing (1.5 hrs for the whole walk). The best thing about this place, however, is the fantastic evening meals that it serves: simple and high quality ingredients served in often inventive ways. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

I travel for a living which means in an average year I stay in more different types of hotels than the average person would want to imagine. Since hospitality is my life, I'm extremely picky about what I'm willing to accept when it is MY money paying the bill.

Fisher's Loft exemplifies the word hospitality in any situation or language. From the friendly 3-legged dog, to the front desk staff, to the bar/dining room crew, to the lovely owners this is a well run establishment that should suit the needs of any traveler looking for relaxation.

Other reviewers have commented on the custom-made furniture, the cleanliness, the size of the rooms, and the good food so I won't belabor those points. Canadian hotels work under a star rating that measures the number of services/amenities offered. Fisher's Loft certainly meets and exceeds those requirements. But in the measurement of style, personalization and service this property outranks every other one we've visited after over 26 nights spent on "The Rock".

Their attention to detail (providing each room with walking sticks, flashlights, and umbrellas) shows not only the level of concern they have for their guests comfort, but also an anticipation of their needs. The quality, variety and timing of meals offered can be adjusted to suit any dietary or scheduling restrictions. The unassuming quality of the service (a never-empty water glass, or the fresh baked treat with an after-hiking cup of tea brought to me out in the yard) are the hallmark of a property that strives to satisfy. If I were rating them for AAA or Mobil guidebooks I'd lean heavily towards giving them 5 Stars.

Add in the extras like the complimentary computer with internet access located in the well-stocked library of books, magazines, and videos/DVDs. Grab a blanket from the library and go out onto the front lawn to watch the afternoon fog bank roll in. Take a short walk out to the nearby Skerwink Trail and watch eagles cavorting above the seastacks. Get one of the staff to tell you where the fox and her kits are hiding out this week. Share local discoveries with fellow travelers over cocktails in the lounge before being called in to dinner. Schedule an in-room massage by their exceptional practitioner of the art. Visit the entire Buenavista Penninsula from this centrally located wonder. I sound like I should be writing a travel brochure.

A review is only one person's opinion. Always take the comments you read with that in mind. Personally, I will be telling people about this wonderful location for many years to come. We're already working on trying to reschedule ourselves for another visit next summer!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I have just returned home after 18 wonderful days in Newfoundland. Whilst the entire holiday was a fantastic experience our 4 night stay at the Fishers' Loft Inn is something I will remember for a very long time. It was, for me, love at first sight!

The Inn is set in one of the most beautiful places I have experienced with it's ever changing landscape of sun and eerie, mystical fog washing in off of the sea. The rooms are absolutely perfect, tastefully and imaginatively furnished with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, are immaculately clean and each has a view to die for. What more could anybody ask for? Add to this the lovely warm welcome, the fantastic service , delicious food and some of the friendliest people I've met and you are about as close to perfection as you can get.

Thank you to John & Peggy Fisher and all the wonderful people at Fishers Loft for giving us an experience that will stay in our memories for a very long time. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton
Fishers' Loft Inn By Ship Cove Port Rexton, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.