We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Suites

Sherwood Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Suites
Save
You added Sherwood Suites to your Saves list
PO Box 2, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice spot to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August in one of their housekeeping units. It was spotlessly clean and had all the basics you could want. Great value for the money and it had a laundromat which we found hard to find in that area. It was a nice change from from the B&B's we had been staying in and we appreciated having our independence and privacy for a few nights. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Sherwood Suites and Motel for three nights in early August, a perfect place to come back to after spending the day exploring the area. We had a two bedroom unit with a fabulous view of the ocean, morning coffee and after dinner drinks were so enjoyable from the patio. The cottage contained 2 bedrooms, bathroom and a large kitchen, dining and living area. We've stayed in many cottages around the island and you won't find one cleaner. The bed linens and towels are all pure white and smell so fresh, the staff would have long lines of laundry blowing in the early morning breeze. The bathroom was more than adequate and again spotless, nice tub/shower. Shampoo, soap, shower hat and blow dryer provided. The kitchen contained the basics for cooking and dining for about six people, anything else you needed the owners try to provide. I wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend the Sherwood Suites and Motel to anyone as a VERY clean, quiet place to spend your evening.

Room Tip: # 11 cottage is an end unit with a patio around 2 sides, spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before and knowing how expensive the area can be opted to come back. The place it very reasonable, has comfortable rooms, the ability to do laundry in the evening and even the hotel rooms have a mini frig, microwave, and two sets of dishes. There is a dining table and two chairs too. We had a small maintenance issue which they did fix (the second day). The bed is a bit hard but fine for a couple of days. You can buy laundry soap and extra coffee from the desk during the day. If you are planning to spend most of your time out, this is the place.

NOTE: you need to wash your dishes or they will charge extra, even the coffee cups in the morning. This also means if you plan to use the dishes you might want to give them a wash as you don't know how well the person before wash them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom unit for 2 nights. Not new but clean with ample room for a family of 4. Beds were comfortable and the view from the deck was great. Beautiful area to visit. Very close to the Skerwink trail and a short drive to Trinity.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a lovely 2 bedroom cottage with a veranda overlooking the harbour and a few minutes from the Skerwink Trail. All amenities we needed and helpful hosts. A very price effective place to stay in this area from which Trinity and the Bonavista peninsula are short drives away.

Room Tip: Best views from end cottages or ones on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here with family on a 3 day visit to the area. There is so much to do in the area, it seemed silly to pay too much on accommodations...really, it is a shame to be indoors when there is so much to see and do! The cabin we stayed in was really large, a living room, fully loaded kitchen, nice bathroom and 2 bedrooms. You also have a patio with Adirondack chairs and picnic tables. The property is large and quiet. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at Sherwood Suites in early August.. We were pleased with the clean and convenient accomodations. There are some great views from the adirondak chairs provided at the top of the hill. Unfortunately, we were unable to take in the trails that are nearby due to weather but we understand that they are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Suites

Address: PO Box 2, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Sherwood Suites Port Rexton, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.