We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By d' Bay Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Blandford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By d' Bay Cabins
Save
You added By d' Bay Cabins to your Saves list
210 Main St | P. O. Box 10, Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to Clarenville originally to go Skiing- was a group of us. We all went for the cabins because we could go there and not be bothered by anyone, and it was beautiful. Enjoyed everything about it. Was comfortable, and did not want to leave. Was a real Getaway! ...I suggest if you are looking for a getaway to come here. You will not regret it .

Room Tip: We had number 2 I believe-- it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I were travelling across newfoundland and didnt think we would make it past terra nova till after dark so we called by d bay and the lady was super nice, gave us a code and told us our cabin number. We stayed in one of the newer facilities, it was more like a hotel room type accomodations but with a homey feel. Very comfortable bed, lots of space, and bright during day time but black out curtains for those bright newfie mornings. We packed up and left in the morning without having to wait for someone to check us out, it was very efficient and we enjoyed our stay even though it was very shory :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in cabin # 4 at by d' bay over the Christmas holidays. If you take a look on their website you will see pictures and descriptions of each individual cabin. Cabin 4 was described as the smallest cabin with the least kitchen supplies. When we got there we were pleased to see that the cabin actually had more than enough cooking supplies... there was a mini fridge, toaster over, panini grills, large skillet, frying pan skillet, cutting boards, knives, pans, dishes pots, cups, and BBQ. Pretty much everything you would need to stay a while!

The main floor was a one room with kitchen/ living room. It had a small electric fireplace, TV, small 2 person table and a love seat. Not a whole lot of sitting space but it is only meant for 2 people. On the main level there was a bathroom with 2 person air massage tub. This is the only thing we could say wasn't great- the water was a murky brown color (being from the area I know this is kind of normal for this part of the province! But may surprise some people if you didnt expect it!), as well there isn't enough hot water to fill the tub, it ended up being cold to luke warm so we only used that once. I recommend just sticking to showering if you stay there.

Upstairs was a double bed with foam mattress...very comfortable! The upstairs also had all white wicker furniture, giving it a cute and somewhat antique look. Loved the bedroom!

To enter the cabin you are given a door code, so not a whole lot of dealing with staff for checking in and out, which seemed to make it more private. For being row cabins they were privite and still gave us that "getaway" feel. Cabin 4 was great.... had that old fashioned log cabin look!

would recommend for anyone travelling to the port blandford/ terra nova/ eastport/ glovertown area! great winter rates as well.

Room Tip: go for cabin 4 if you want a small log cabin feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in Cabin 2 and the online pictures are very misleading. It is a two bedroom cabin but there is really only room for 2 people in the main area of the cabin. One very small love seat in the living room and two chairs, one of which you can't sit on because there is a large floor fan hanging over it, the kitchen table had only 2 chairs, etc. The cabin is well stocked with dishes, etc. but it was not very clean. The floor had obviously not been swept when we arrived and I didn't feel comfortable taking my shoes off on the floor. The grout and titling in the bathroom was also dirty and there was hair in the shower from the last guests. The couch cushions were stained and the whole cabin smelled very strongly of moth balls. We had to open all the windows and keep the door open just to be able to breath in the cabin. It even triggered my asthma. The best part of the cabin was the bed, which was very comfortable and the patio. However, the patio was old and some of the boards need to be replaced and there was a large hole cut out over a sewer line that by bf nearly broke his foot in because it had not been covered. The new screen room is nice but there is no light in it so it's not really usable at night. The furniture is also in desperate need of replacing, especially the patio furniture and one of the chairs at the kitchen table. They felt as though they would fall apart at any minute. We were there for three days and not once was the office open. This place was at best okay. There are much nicer places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: We did visit someone in the new "Units". These rooms were beautiful! It was the differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great property to stay in with pets. Our dog was welcomed with a dog bed, bowls and bag of various treats! Our stand alone cabin was basic, clean band had everything we needed including a large 2 person jet tub and a gas fireplace. Kitchen was fully equipped. If you're looking for a place to stay with pets or cabins in this area I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Although the furniture has seen better days, By d'Bay Cabins has everything you need for cooking, cosy beds and linens, a gas fireplace (very useful in Newfoundland, even during the summer) and some staples for eating and cooking like coffee, sugar, butter, etc. There is also a TV and a collection of DVDs for rainy days and keeping the kids quiet for a while. The owner, Gerry, is very nice but not intrusive at all. We had a very enjoyable time there. The doors have a code that you just enter upon arrival, a feature that we found practical since we arrived late in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had tto stop in Port Blandford for a summer wedding some time actually before the month listed. Of the non-hotel housekeeping-unit/"cabin" style acommodations, this was the only one at the time that had an air conditioner. You had to phone and speak directly to the reservation people to book it. They were skeptical of my need for the unit, but happily agreed to ensure it was placed in my cabin for my use. Sure enough, by the time the stay came around, it was indeed very hot and the air conditioner came in handy. They may have since upgraded or added A/C to all or some units, but if not - be sure to ask for one with Air Conditioning. At the very least, they had one - most of the other cabin-style places I tried in the area didn't have them. Entertainment was a television with limited channels and a partially-functioning VHS player + cassettes. If this has since been upgraded, please forgive my mention of it. If not, it might be a wise investment. Still, if you're not staying in the major hotel, these cabins were a clean and ok alternative.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By d' Bay Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By d' Bay Cabins

Address: 210 Main St | P. O. Box 10, Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Blandford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Port Blandford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 charming, clean cottage rentals on 1 1/2 acres surrounded by tall quaking aspens overlooking the ocean. All modern amenities including king and queen beds, single & double jacuzzis, large screen TVs & DVD, private decks with barbeques, outdoor firepit & horseshoes. Fully equipped kitchens. Reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By D' Bay Cabins Port Blandford, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By d' Bay Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.