We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Newfoundland hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port aux Basques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites
Save
You added Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites to your Saves list
Rt 1, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0N 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Morin Heights, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“True Newfoundland hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was our first stop in Newfoundland arriving from the Port aux Basques ferry. We were greeted at the MacLellan Inn by Gerald, a warm and friendly host.

Having made prior arrangements with him for our way in and out of the Island, we stopped by on our way back. Unfortunately, our ferry was delayed for two days because of bad weather conditions.

During this time, Gerald took care of us as if we were family. He would come in every two hours or so and add wood to the fireplace making sure we were comfortable.

He also checked regularly with the ferry company so we would not miss the next boat.

Now this is what we call true Newfoundland hospitality!

Lise & Jacques, Moring-Heights, Qc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here twice, one night each time, while traveling between the ferry and Rocky Harbour. Accommodations are not luxurious but comfortable and fine for a one night stay. Gerald is friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if passing through the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed a night at the Maclellan Inn after arriving to Newfoundland by ferry. It is an easy 30 minute drive from the ferry and we were greeted warmly by our host. The rooms are clean and spacious, the views of the lake and mountains are gorgeous, and the hospitality can't be beat. We would absolutely recommend this place to any of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

This is an excellent B&B just 30 min from the Port aux Basques ferry. My husband and I are spending our first night in NL here and we are very impressed. It is spotless, very nicely decorated and has everything you need, including a very congenial host, Gerald. We followed his recommendation to the Codroy Cafe Plus and had a wonderful meal with a great view. You won't be disappointed in either of these suggestions!

  • Liked — Bright and clean
  • Disliked — No negatives come to mind.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I were travelling with another couple and found this B&B a convenient, comfy and clean overnight stay, just 30 minutes drive from Port aux Basques, Newfoundland. It is located in the Codroy Valley, and offers a scenic overview of the valley and the Long Range Mountains. Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable, and in the morning, we were served a delicious breakfast, while we enjoyed the company and conversation of the other guests, while gazing out over the wetlands area of the valley. The owners were very informative about the area, even telling us where to look for some wild turkeys that were successfully living just a few miles from the inn. We would definately stay at this B&B when travelling to and from Newfoundland again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

very warm welcome, very friendly service, spacious rooms, wonderful breakfast, in a beautiful riverfront setting. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach Tikva, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We stayed at the Thackery suite which is the first floor of a free-standing house. The photograph on the web site shows a house and we assumed we would have the entire house but it turns out the top floor is being developed as a second suite. Very clean and well-maintained, better than average stocked kitchen, and they brought us anything we asked for immediately and even more. We stayed for two nights and they offered to come in and nthe second day. The first floor has 2 BR with a very small kitchen and LR area. The master BR has a double bed, the other BR a bunk bed with a double below and single above. We found it a bit cramped for 6, would be fine for 4. Located about 10 minutes off the Transcanada Highway, 25 minutes to the ferry in Port aux Basques

  • Liked — Clean, prettily decorated, caretaker very helpful
  • Disliked — Cramped
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites

Address: Rt 1, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0N 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port aux Basques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port aux Basques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites Port Aux Basques, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maclellan Inn/Thackeray Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.