We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality was Great but Room Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port au Choix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
84 Fisher Street | P.O. Box 189, Port au Choix, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Hospitality was Great but Room Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

While Jeannie is a great host, it is hard to give this B&B more than an Average. Our room was very small, with less than a foot of space between the bedside and the wall. While there may be better rooms at Jeannie's Sunrise, I can only rate it based on the price we paid and the room we got. It was not good value for the money.

The breakfast choices were very good, but the fare except for the homemade jams, fairly basic. The location is across the road from a shrimp processing plant, which bodes well for the shrimp at the local restaurants, but not so well for the view at the B&B.

Room Tip: Ask about the bed size and the size of the room. The bed essentially filled our whole room, and made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed one night at Jeannie's Sunrise in Port au Choix, and found it clean and comfortable. The breakfast was freshly made to request, and featured Jeannie's baking and jams. The b&b is next to the Heritage Center, and a short walk to a decent restaurant. Jeannie is friendly and makes you feel at home immediately. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Don't go expecting a view; Jeannie's is in the center of town. But we found Port au Choix to be a interesting place, and good stopping point between Deer Lake and L'anse aux Meadows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Jeannie is a superb hostess with all the right amenities to make a bed and breakfast work. She's a ball of fire, making great breakfasts and serving them with fabulous homemade jams and preserves you won't believe until you taste them. The beds were quite comfortable, although the lighting in our room was a bit dim. Marian, her assistant, showed us around and made us feel welcome - we've discovered since then that Jeannie also has a hairdressing business and a tanning parlor in other parts of the house! The location was perfect for us to head for the ferry to Newfoundland the next day.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the ground floor because of a knee problem. We still had to climb the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast and a good spot to stop on your way to Anse aux Meadows. Our rooms were really clean; the breakfasts were good with Jeannie's homemade preserves and homemade bread. Jeannie is so welcoming. We really appreciated the sitting room and the chance to use the computer.

Room Tip: Try Jeannie's porridge - it is delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath, on
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

we arrived early, but Jeannie invited us in and got us set up...she was very welcoming and pointed out the highlights of the area. We were on the second floor of this immaculately clean house. There was a sitting room and computer for the guests to use. Each room had a television set and private bath.

I was able to do a load of laundry here. We asked to have breakfast a bit earlier than planned and she was quick to comply. The breakfast was great and cooked to our liking, with offer of more.

I would recommend this B&B to anyone that asks for a place in and around Port aux Choix

Room Tip: I would imagine any room would be good...we heard no complaints from anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed with Jeannie twice, once on our way to L'Anse aux Meadows and again on our way back, and enjoyed both our stays. Jeannie is a wonderful hostess, friendly and competent, and she literally opens up her house to her guests, welcoming you into her own sitting room if you'd like to stop and chat or ask any questions. We had a delicious breakfast both mornings. The first morning we enjoyed comparing notes with two other couples while we ate Jeannie's home made muffins and jam and perfectly prepared eggs, while the second morning we had Jeannie all to ourselves so we plied her with questions about Newfoundland and Port au Choix while enjoying another delicious breakfast. Our second stay was our last night in Newfoundland and Jeannie offered the use of her computer and printer when I had trouble checking in for our flight home on my mobile phone. Our first night's stay was in a waterview room overlooking the cove, and our second night's stay was in a much larger room on the other side of the house. Depending on what you're looking for, either room was fine, comfortable and clean. We recommend this B & B!

Room Tip: It was nice to have a water view room but our second room at the back of the house was more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a great place to stay in the beautiful port of Port au Choix! I had stopped in on my way north to St. Anthony (I don't make reservations) and met Jeannie. No rooms available for that night but we chatted and she explained that after that week the "hectic season" would be over. I stayed at a local motel (okay only) and continued north the next day. On my way back south, I stopped in again and Jeannie had a room for me. Lovely home, extremely comfortable and clean room and a big hug from Jeannie.

Jeannie gave me some wonderful directions and specific times in which to capture the absolutely breathtaking sunset from the lighthouse. She also gave me a map showing locations of various really nice trails in the area, which I availed myself of the following day.

Breakfast was wonderful--I sampled every single homemade jam she set out (in fact she cleverly recommended we cut our toast up in small pieces for this). My favorite will always be partidgeberry!!!!!

Jeannie's Sunrise B&B is indeed a wonderful place to rest and it is in a wonderful location-close to everything but also quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Fisher Street | P.O. Box 189, Port au Choix, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port au Choix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port au Choix
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Port Au Choix, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.