We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Cafe

Anchor Cafe
Fisher Street, Across street form fish plant, Port au Choix, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4C0, Canada
709-861-3665
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Corner Brook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still a great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A party of us (4) had evening meals here 2 evenings last week.
As ever the food was great, service prompt and friendly.
I cannot add anything more to what I have stated previously.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trip across Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had dinner at this superb restaurant, it was as fantastic as the ladies that served it. They sure aim to please! Atmosphere was warm, and welcoming. Would have loved to have had lobster, but wasn't available, much to our dismay?. Can,t understand why, when that is something tourists loved to have when travelling east. Stayed at the Sea Echo a Motel, which was totally welcoming as well! Only thing wrong with this small town is the crazy rain! Oh well!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Newfoundlands best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is the first time on Tripadvisor Ican check the box .....Is this one of the best meals you have ever had.....because it was! I had the blackened combo....halibut and cod and my wife had the sauteed shrimp. Both meals were spectacular and the service was the best we encountered on our trip. Also the interior was wonderful with many works from a local artist. We had warm sticky pudding for dessert which was also fabulous If you are ever anywhere near this place DO NOT DRIVE BY!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Fish 'n' Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Good food, nice atmosphere and really friendly staff.
If you are unfortunate enough to ever have to stay in Port Au Choix then I would recommend you eat here and not the Sea Echo Motel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place for fish n chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This little restaurant was well worth the drive all the way to Port Au Choix. The staff were super friendly and the food was superb and you got lots of it. While in Port Au Choix check out Ben's Studio and the Museum of Whales n Things...both are very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Cafe also viewed

L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
Port au Choix, Newfoundland
 
Port au Choix, Newfoundland
Port Rexton, Newfoundland
 

Been to Anchor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.