We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun & friendly reenactors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norstead Viking Village

Norstead Viking Village
L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
709-623-2828
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Corner Brook, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great fun & friendly reenactors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We always have a great time at Norstead, but this visit was particularly special. We always visit Snorri, the reconstructed viking ship, which is always good fun. This visit, we spent a lot of time in the women's hut, where we learned to spin wool and work the loom. Then we all dressed as vikings and had our pictures taken. It was awesome!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Couldn't help but think that this was done trying to imitate L'Anse aux Meadows. Cannot blame them, they need their living somewhere.
The old "Viking" here was scary and weird. At least we got to taste excellent cloudberry jam.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun and informative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a reconstruction of a Norse village, but it is not historically accurate to this particular site. The buildings are a mix of Norse dwellings and outbuildings, from a variety of locations. It makes a nice compliment to the Historic Site. It was a very quiet day when were there, and not all of the re-enactors were there. We visited with a very believable Viking in the boat shed, and enjoyed learning about the Snorri, the reconstructed Norse ship. It is a gem, and worth the price of admission to see this, all on its own. When we were there, there were several ladies demonstrating traditional weaving and knitting, and there are also mitts, hats, etc for sale made by them on site. The re-enactors are all local people dedicated to providing the tourist with an authentic Norse Village experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A different focus at the provincial site from the National Historic site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although we liked the Nat. Historic site better this place had a different slant and the Snorri, replicated Norse boat was worth seeing. The gals down in the weaving, food preparation area gave us a laugh when they screamed and lifted up their skirts when some small animal came out of the woodpile. Don't know what it was.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lambi will tell you tales & talk your ear off but he certainly knows about the Snorri (the recreated Norse boat that was sailed over from Iceland). The upright loom weaving demonstration was great - she took the time to explain each step until we all understood it. Not as faithful a recreation as Parks Canada but a good compliment to it. Price was a little high but overall worth an hour of your time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norstead Viking Village also viewed

Port Rexton, Newfoundland
 
New Bonaventure, Newfoundland
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Norstead Viking Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norstead Viking Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.