We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Light Inn

Northern Light Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in L'Anse au Clair
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Light Inn
Save
You added Northern Light Inn to your Saves list
58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Labrador City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent one night here while passing through town. We were very pleased with this hotel. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the front desk staff were nice. We were tired from the travel so we ordered steaks via room service. Even though the hotel was catering to a wedding reception that night, the service was prompt and the meal was delicious. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
20
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, NH
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed in their 2 bedroom cabins 3 times. Always clean, warm and comfortable. Hotel restaurant is great. Wifi is so-so but let me get work done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. The service is great, very friendly staff. Room service was very friendly and fast. The wireless internet was fast too. The room was large and clean. The location is great too because it’s right on the main road to the boat. It was clean and quiet. The beds were comfy. When we have to spend a night in L’Anse au Clair we always book with this hotel.
Overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papendrecht , Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is by far the noisiest hotel we've stayed during our 4 week trip in Atlantic Canada ; it looks like it is constructed of cardboard , single wood floors and no sound absorption materials at all. You can hear people coming up the stairs , and follow them trough the whole second floor hallway ; about 100 ft long.For a good night's sleep , avoid this hotel.
The rooms were clean , staff is friendly , and the restaurant is oke.Butt the noise.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Anse au Clair hotels

Oakville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Inn is a fairly large complex and was busy during our stay. The rooms were basic. Clean and comfortable. The only complaint was that the rooms were very noisy from persons passing in the hallway and the sounds of showers and toilets flushing. We had dinner at the Inn. The food was good and plentiful. Good choice of food.

Room Tip: Suggest a room at the rear of the Inn. This is a newer and modern section of the Inn but will cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

If visiting the southeast Labrador coast, or in transit to travel to the isalnd of Newfoundland, this is a location I would recommend to stay.

Highlights: 1) Great sampling of local dishes in the restaurant in the hotel. Included seafood, local berries (in season) made into jams and spreads, and very good food for a fair, but not cheap, price;
2) Great service at the front desk and the restaurant. Very courteous and offered helpful suggestions for your questions at the front desk, while the restaurant servering staff was friendly and kept coming with the coffee - a must to many!.

The rooms were very outdated in decor, but most importantly, they were clean. Also, great soft serve icecream place across the road. Very busy hotel with bus tour groups, but not too overcrowded. Also, about a 10 min drive to Blanc Sablon, Quebec, and the ferry to St. Barbe, Newfoundland.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Convenient first floor rooms to restaurant and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

A very big and busy hotel. A lot of bustours stay here overnight. We didn't get any breakfast because it was completly full with the tours. Don't expect anything more than a good bed. We had a room for three and that was a very big room at the end of the hotel. It was our biggest room of the trip through east-canada. Great pizza and the liver and onions are also good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: 58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair
Northern Light Inn Labrador, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.