We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Average for a Pizza Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Delight-Rooster's Bbq

Pizza Delight-Rooster's Bbq
14 Commerce St, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2E0, Canada
(709) 635-5100
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Deer Lake
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Better than Average for a Pizza Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

There are not a lot of places to eat in Deer Lake. While I can't give it a very good relative to all restaurants, it is very good for a Pizza chain. As we are from the West this was not a familiar chain to us, but I gather they do have a location in Fort Saskatchewan, that Newfoundlanders seek out to get a taste of down home pizza. Service was good, and prices reasonable. I think this is your best bet for food in Deer Lake. We checked out the Traditional Food place, and the locals do not give it good ratings, and we went into the Jungle Jims, and it looked like a dive. If it is time for Pizza this is a good choice. We liked it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Pleasant chain restaurant surprise in Deer Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A rainy night, a delayed ferry from Nova Scotia, a late change in overnight stay plans, and then this surprisingly good experience for dinner. Good food (salad, fish, pizza) at a very fair chain restaurant price, very pleasant staff. Fun grilling your own bread at the grilling station set up for that purpose. We were sorry they did not open for breakfast the next day - Tim Horton's next door at exit 15 was very busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delivery charge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pizza was half descent ... nothing to write home about...the thing that killed me is the delivery charge they never told us about when we ordered and it was virtually across the street delivery and they put it in a taxi and charged us $7.50 the pizza was $17.99 plus tax $21.98 and then $7.50 delivery was almost $30 bucks for a sub par pizza...never again I`ll go hungry...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not a lot of choices in Deer Lake for good food. Our first night stay in July we saw Pizza Delight but thought it was for take out only, so we went to a recommended motel restaurant and it was not good.
As we came back through Deer Lake on our return trip home, ten days later, we were set on having pizza. Their building (next door to a Tim Horton's) does not beckon you to go in.. but we took a chance after seeing their menu.
The food was good with choices of pizza, pasta, chicken, ribs, salad and more. What a pleasant surprise, a simple restaurant with good food that we enjoyed. P.S. a thin crust 6" pizza is not really 6" after it is cooked, So be advised it's best to order a larger size pizza.
I recommend this place as a choice to have a meal with family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

When travelling, I generally avoid chains, preferring local restaurants. However, our B&B host recommended this and we were not disappointed. My husband had an excellent personal pizza and I had a pasta dish, with self-serve grilled bread (really nice!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Delight-Rooster's Bbq also viewed

Deer Lake, Newfoundland
 
Deer Lake, Newfoundland
Deer Lake, Newfoundland
 

Been to Pizza Delight-Rooster's Bbq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Delight-Rooster's Bbq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.