We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New property with very poor sound insulation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Bennett Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“New property with very poor sound insulation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a new property following the usual mould for a family oriented hotel. One inhales the chlorine from the indoor pool from the minute of arrival at the lobby. There are families with small, excitable children and the expected meltdowns which accompany this demographic everywhere it goes. The property met my expectations, unfortunately. It's all fine, the breakfast room, the upbeat vibe, the clean room, the price point, the convenience of location. What is not fine is a new hotel built so cheaply that one is kept awake all night by a crying baby next door. The noise transfer between rooms and between floors and ceilings is quite unacceptable. This is no fault of the parents, nor even the wailing child, however, do take earplugs, and maybe also a sleeping pill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear bon_vivant_le_wah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the noise issues you have encountered may have caused. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
37
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 3 different times as we criss-crossed the province during our 2 week Newfoundland vacation and had a great experience all 3 times. We stayed here our first night after coming into Port aux Basques, on our way back from St. John's for an overnight on our way up to St. Anthony and as a home base at the end of our trip for 3 days to explore Gros Morne. There are hotels in Port aux Basques and hotels closer to Gros Morne but we stayed for free using points all 3 times and are so glad we did because of what a great place this is. (And a very reasonable amount of points for each stay) Everyone at the reception desk is super friendly. They exchanged dollars for loonies to do laundry and even let us know that they had free DVD players behind the desk if we wanted to use one. We stayed in the family suite each time which was perfect for our family of 5. It has a king bed, pull out sofa and bunk beds. The hotel has a large breakfast / lounge area with lots of family board games stored by the big tv that guests are free to use. The breakfast wasn't as good as a Hampton or Fairfield Inn breakfast but you could easily get filled up if you aren't picky. There were a few mornings that the eggs were ruined by covering every square inch of the folded omelets with onions and red peppers but there were lots of other options and a very attentive staff. The pool was closed for repairs during our stays but we were called a month ahead of time to tell us about the closure which we appreciated, and were offered the option of being able to swim at a local pool nearby. One minor negative thing was that the tv by the bunk bed had very limited channels and poor reception. I'm not sure why this is the case when the large tv for the room 2 feet away had great reception and lots of tv channel choices. We used the laundry while there but they only have 1 washer and 1 dryer so come early. The hotel is roughly an hour from Gros Morne - we didn't mind the scenic drive there and back every day so this was a perfect place as a home base. There are fast food restaurants (Tim's, Pizza Delight, Subway, Burger King, KFC) gas stations and a grocery store super close by. And in closing I must say - this hotel had the most comfortable bed out of the numerous hotels that we stayed at during our trip through New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Labrador and St. Pierre & Miquelon! If we ever make it back to beautiful Newfoundland we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

New, clean, comfortable. Our son loved the water slide. Close to and easy to get to airport. Good place to start/end your trip to Gros Morne National Park. Stayed 2 separate nights, one planned, other last minute add on. Only criticism is that we were charged the standard $10 extra for a rollaway cot to accommodate our son as the only room we could get for our second night had a king bed only. I thought they would waive this charge since there was a planned power outage for the next morning so we needed to shower by flashlight, son couldn't use the pool, and there were limited breakfast offerings. We would stay there again and do recommend but just thought that was a bit cheap of them considering the bed was simply rolled across the hall to our room and we made it up ourselves and packed it up nicely when we left.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port aux Basques, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a nice pool. The slide in the pool is something the kids love. The breakfast is awesome as well! It is very close to the insectarium and Rocky Harbour is a great day trip. The Marble Zip tours is close as well.

Room Tip: If you are going to Marble Zip tours, you can get 10% off when you book at this hotel. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

On a quick pass through Deer Lake on our way from Ottawa to Twillingate we arrived really late (1:20 AM) and left around noon. Our time there was fantastic. The room was large (one Queen-sized and a bunk bed), clean, and well-equipped (fridge, microwave, plates etc.). The free breakfast was varied and all items (bacon, eggs, milk, juice, cereal, pancakes and all kinds of bread) were constantly restocked. The people we interacted with at the desk, during breakfast and those cleaning the rooms were sincerely friendly. Overall, this hotel was great. One thing I would avoid is the rooms close to or over the front entrance. It gets noisy when people start moving on.

Room Tip: Stay away from the centre of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a new hotel and is very well maintained. From the moment you walked in it smelled fresh and clean. Our room was large, again fresh and clean. The beds were comfortable and the linens soft and clean. You're noticing a tread here. Wifi and the TV both worked well. The laundry facility was very handy and we were happy to have it available. Breakfast was good and kept stocked and any spills cleaned immediately. I especially enjoyed looking at all the original artwork on the walls that was for sale. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Always a great place to stay; rooms very well appointed; free-wifi, clean and very comfortable. Great pool with water slide. Excellent breakfast included. Ideal location to visit Gros Morne Park, good access to trails; both summer and winter sports.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Address: 38 Bennett Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.