We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Bennett Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have no problem recommending this hotel. I've stayed here 4 times now and never been disappointed. The staff is friendly and truly helpful. The rooms were great, the beds comfortable, nice tv and there is free Wi-Fi. The complimentary breakfast is the best I've seen at any hotel. The fitness room is tidy and has towels and water so you don't have to bring your own. The only complaint I have is that there are no restaurant. So I have to pick something up before I check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the highway. There is less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
37
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Loved the waterslide and pool and spa...great to come back to after a long day of driving. Wonderful full breakfast was hot and fresh. Hotel was conveniently located off the highway in this town and one of the only Holiday Inn hotels on Newfoundland too. Reliable and comfortable and very clean...I love Holiday Inns and this hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much Jardindemichelle for the fabulous review on our great hot breakfast and convenient location. Hope you visit again soon and continue singing our praises about all our other cool features like the pool hot tub and water slide, free Wi-Fi and don't forget our great IHG rewards program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was great a place to overnight in Deer Lake. The room and bathroom were very clean, the Wi-Fi had decent strength, the staff were friendly,the pool looked nice and I heard great things about the free breakfast (unfortunately we never got a chance to try it because we had to get on the road right away.) The only issue I would say with this place is that it needs a better way to access the hotel from the highway. It wasn't difficult to access, just inconvenient. Other than that I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a recently opened, modern hotel, and convenient for those using the airport. The breakfast was extensive and the room very well laid out. We appreciated the large king-size bed. The location is not close to restaurants, and most of those offer fast food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle river, w,i usa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night on way through the area. This is the newest place to stay in Deer Lake. It is very well designed and very clean. By far the most comfortable place around. It appears to be well maintained and offers a very nice morning breakfast. It is visible from the highway but you have to take a few side streets to get there which is not a problem to do. There prices seem higher that most in the area but is you want to stay in the nicest place in town I could find this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Proximity to the airport is pretty much the only reason to stay in Deer Lake and this was of the standard, comfortable Holiday Inn genre with a modern facility and efficient and helpful service. So, maybe not much to get excited about except that this is Newfoundland and anything in the outports that ticks all these boxes is exceptional. The hotel seems well equipped to deal with flights in and out of Deer Lake at all hours - with a limited breakfast service available from 3:00AM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Ted
Thanks for the positive review to your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake. Our proximity to Deer Lake Airport is just one of the many reasons guests choose us. We're glad also you noted our complimentary early breakfast to accommodate our guests catching early flights, they asked and we listened so now in addition to our complimentary hot breakfast we've added that continental 3am option to get you on your flight. Hope you had a chance to enjoy many of our other amenities while you were visiting including the pool, hot tub and 80 foot waterslide, fitness center, wired and wireless internet. Hope to see you again on your next visit to newfoundland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was pretty much adequate, but definitely not worth the high rate which was charge ($145/night + tax). Only accepted that rate because there's nothing else near the Deer Lake Airport and I had an early flight.

I requested a coffee mug to use in my room instead of disposibles and was told that they didn't have any on-site at all (a glaring oversight). In the morning, the woman managing breakfast happily provided me with one and said that the front desk should have been able to do the same the night before.

Otherwise, there was nothing wrong with the hotel - it just wasn't exceptional enough to warrant the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear v c,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our service level. Regarding our rates, we always ensure to remain competitive in the area, I am sorry if you found our rates to be high.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Address: 38 Bennett Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.