We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, welcoming and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucas House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucas House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Lucas House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Old Bonne Bay Road, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1Y2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Lake B&B and Inns
Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Quaint, welcoming and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

In a quiet neighborhood, surrounded by trees and birds, this b and b is a little gem. Owners are very welcoming, rooms are spacious (for b and b), some with their own bathroom, all is clean and comfortable. Swings for the kids, a wide patio for both guests and owners, quiet streets where you can go for a walk safely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Great stay at the Lucas House B & B, our hosts were very well informed about the sites and places to go. The house was clean, comfortable beds with homemade quilts, they were the best! The food was just outstanding, homemade fish cakes, jams made daily with berries from the area, homemade bread and baked beans. Be prepared to gain weight if your staying for more than a few nights!
Harry and Mary will be more than happy to light a fire in the great fire pit behind the house, we had coffee and wine while chatting about the area, truly great hosts. we will be returning for the ski season! Take my advice, try Lucas House for your stay in Deer Lake you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the Lucus House B&B and we wanted to share our wonderful experiece. The house is lovely and clean and the hosts are very welcoming and helpful in so many ways. We've never been to Newfoundland so we were not aware of places of interest to visit. Mary and Harry were very informative and we travelled to various places they recommended. The bedroom we stayed in was so nice and we really appreciated the on suite bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was the best B&B breakfast I've had (and I've stayed at many before). We would definitely recommend staying at Lucus house if you're looking for a one night stay....or longer. We stayed for 5 nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed for one night and, although we have no serious complaints, we found nothing very special about this no-frills B&B. Our upstairs bedroom was very warm, and while the ceiling fan helped somewhat, the window could not be opened more six inches or so, and with just one window, there was no true ventilation. Furnishings were somewhat worn. No TV in the rooms. However, the breakfast was pretty good, and Mary and Harry are congenial hosts. Internet worked perfectly. Lucas House was OK for one night, but I would choose someplace else if I were going to stay a while.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucashousebb, Owner at Lucas House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
This traveller's description of Lucas House B & B requires correction. What he has described as a "No Frills" B & B is a 70 plus year old home which is advertized as a Traditional Newfoundland style home, situated in a "park like" acereage, surrounded by mature trees, lawn and flower gardens, complete with a fire pit, patio decks with tables, Barbeque, lawn lounges and a children's play ground. While the visual fascade of the interior has been intentionally retained in the 1940/50s style of painted wall paneling, etc, the house has been renovated and modernized, with a modern kitchen, guest rooms with either ensuite or private washrooms, modern lighting fixtures c/w ceiling fans and additional floor fans or table fans in each room. There is a common room furnished with books about our province, TV, stereo, piano, guitars and other musical instruments for the pleasure of our guests. We provide free bottled water in our rooms and there is always a basket of fruit on the table. We provide a guest refrigerator and guest computer, both for the exclusive use of our guests and for those who bring their own computers, we provide free wireless internet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I've had the opportunity to stay at Lucas house on a few occasions. Summer of 2008 and 2009 I traveled to NL with friends. We stayed at the Lucas house first because it was close to the Airport and a perfect stay over for our next day adventure to Gros Morne. We were welcomed by a great, Friendly Host, Mary and enjoyed our time there that we stayed again at the end of our trip.

Mary was very helpful and answered all of our questions. She had great suggestions and could provide lots of information of hot spots to see and things to do. The rooms were very clean and we appreciated having our own bathroom. We really enjoyed the breakfast selection. Made us feel like we got off on the right foot with enjoying the culture and tastes of NL. Homemade baked beans and fishcakes. There was also Breads, cereal, yogurt, eggs, fruit and muffins.

We loved our time at Lucas House so much, we went back again the next summer. This time we had a Campfire and Mary even prepared Dinner for us and some of the other guests. It was a small extra fee, but well worth it. Deer Lake is not very big and there are not a lot of places to eat, so having a home cooked Meal from a true newfoundlander was a great experience

I unfortunately recommended Lucas house to some co-workers that were travelling to NL last summer. They were disappointed in there stay, but also told me Mary was no longer Running the B&B.

I was troubled to hear this as we had to return to NL this past March and we were really hoping to see Mary again. We called a few places, and we were given word that Mary was back running the B&B.

Our third trip back was just as wonderful as every other time spent at Lucas House. It's unfortunate that one Summer away may have tainted this woman's reputation because Mary is a great host and the Lucas house truly is a great place to stay.

As long as Mary is running it, we would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at Lucas House B&B on very short notice when we were unable to get a hotel room prior to flying out from Deer Lake on vacation. The Owner, Mary, and her partner were very accommodating and hospitable. After both of them greeted us at the door Mary showed us to our room and then told us to come downstairs when we felt like and she would show us where the guest living room, tv and computer were.

After settling in we went downstairs to watch a bit of TV and we were invited to join them for a cup of tea or coffee and some absolutely wonderful, freshly-baked muffins along with cheese and fruit. This was a great treat and we both thoroughly enjoyed the beverage and muffins as well as the hospitality and chatting with the hosts.

Our room was clean and the queen-size bed was comfortable. The ensuite washroom was also clean and well supplied. There was only a shower, no tub in the room we were in but I’m not sure if other rooms may have tubs. It didn’t really matter to us as we didn’t bother using the shower since we had to leave very early in the morning to catch a plane.

Since we had to depart around 4:30 a.m. Mary was kind enough to show us where we could make our tea or coffee and she left muffins and fruit out for us for our breakfast. This was a “grab and go” breakfast that was certainly appreciated. I’m sure that had we been staying until a “normal” time of morning the breakfast would have been great (based upon the quality and taste of the muffins).

I can recommend this B&B if you’re in Deer Lake and we would stay at Lucas House again if the opportunity ever arises. Based upon our experience I can’t quite understand some of the previous reviews but everyone is entitled to an opinion. I understand from Mary that she had rented the entire B&B out to another B&B owner who then had hired help running it for a period of time. This is likely part of the reason for a few of the reviews. Now that the Owner and her partner are running the B&B I’m sure future guests will be more impressed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON ON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Rug in room and furniture very dirty. Towels, facecloths, bed sheets very thin and rag-like.
No cover on mattress. Staff not very welcoming and unable to answer basic questions, ie. directions to restaurant and whether there was wireless. Computer key board very dirty. Based on our experience in NL, this B & B was well below standard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucas House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucas House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Old Bonne Bay Road, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lucas House Bed & Breakfast Deer Lake, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucas House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.