We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming stay in a spectacular setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickle Inn at Cape Onion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Onion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Save
You added Tickle Inn at Cape Onion to your Saves list
RR #1, Box 62 | Box 62, Cape Onion, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cape Onion B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Welcoming stay in a spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tickle Inn is a little off the beaten track (watch out for moose particularly during the last ten kilometres) but as you come over the crest of the hill in your final kilometre and see the house and the tickle before you, there is no doubt in one's mind that you have made absolutely the right decision to stay there. The setting is spectacular and when you add to that how much at home the owners make you instantly feel it's almost impossible not to wish that you could stay here for the rest of your trip.
We stayed in the Skipper's Room (queen bed) which was larger than it appeared to be on the website with dual aspect windows and plenty of room for all our bags. The bed was very comfortable and the view over the tickle was lovely. Although shared bathrooms are not something we usually go for on holidays, don't be put off by this; it's just a feature of the age of the house and was never a problem.
Evening meals (with wine or beer, if wanted) are excellent, as are breakfasts, and there is also tea, coffee and cookies available in the lounge during the day.
It is possible to walk from the house and we saw icebergs and whales from the cliffs five minutes walk from the picket fence, as well as beautiful sunsets over Labrador.
The house has been fully restored by the current owners and it is wonderful that they have managed to retain a house that feels warm, comfortable and historical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your thorough and very positive review. We are always grateful for all that we have here and are happy that you appreciated it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a restored family home (4th generation), and you will be able to understand what Newfoundland living must have been like a generation ago. The hosts are in residence, and they have a wealth of knowledge - you feel as if you are a guest in a friend's home. The setting is a classic Newfoundland coastal village. Icebergs abound in June. The dining is gourmet, with local items on the menu for both dinner and breakfast. We cannot express enough how special this place is and what a fabulous introduction to Newfoundland the Adams provide.

Room Tip: There are no ensuite bathrooms, but this is not a problem because you and the other guests feel very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. We're delighted that you appreciated the special experience that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at The Tickle Inn for one night in mid June. This spot can only be described as one of a kind. The tiny room and shared washroom shouldn't be a factor in how anyone feels about this place. The location is isolated but that never seemed to an issue. The people we met were friendly and good company. Sophie is a treat all by herself. A fabulous resource for local information and a chef beyond belief. Ask her to cook up some trout. It is an experience all Newfoundland travelers should experience.

Room Tip: Leave your luggage in the car. The room is only big enough for an overnight bag. Luckily, that isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We're so happy to have Sophie here to hold the fort until we can arrive. She does a wonderful job. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Tickle Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed 3 great days/nights at the Tickle Inn in early June. We booked here because of previous reviews and did not want to stay in St. Anthony. As well it allowed us to easily access not only St. Anthony but L'anse aux Meadow as well. Our host, Sophie, certainly made us welcome and the house was meticulously maintained. Time spent in the parlor, talking to other residents, was enhanced by the coffee/tea/ treats service. An added bonus, for us, was that we had 2 evening meals there. Sophie prepared exceptional 3 course dinners that were very much appreciated after a full day of exploring the area. We were able to see icebergs and whales and also the weather allowed us to take advantage of the trail that leads behind the house up to a high vantage point that overlooks Cape Onion and the bay. We would never hesitate to book this B & B again.

Keith & Joanne, Ottawa, Ontario

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive response. You had lots of great experiences while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codogno, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

amazing location, a closed and silent bay where you can observe whales and far icebergs.
the road to arrive to it is a god point to see moose
the Inn is a little jewel. Small rooms but a very tidy service.
the breakfast and dinner can be comparable to those of a good restaurant
special dishes and home made foods. very suggested

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tickle Inn. It is a long way from Italy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked here because of its location and the reviews. Our expectations were high, and we weren't disappointed. The hosts, David and Barbara and Sophie, couldn't have been friendlier or more obliging. Attention to detail in the amenities provided and cleanliness are top-notch. The conversation among hosts and guests was interesting and we enjoyed the after dinner story-telling and singing. Dinners were superb. Thanks for a memorable Canada Day celebrated in style.

Room Tip: Every room requires a climb up the stairs. We had a beautiful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You have informed us that "value" and "location" were supposed to be 5 dots. It is so very beautiful here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Tickle Inn is a wonderful old home located on beautiful cape Onion. But what makes this B&B even more special is the hostess & cook Sophie who is so friendly and accommodating. Be sure to enjoy her chef quality meals by having dinner there. The views and hike are the hills are great. This is the only spot that we saw a whale in Nfld. It is close to St Anthony and L'Anse Aux Meadows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tickle Inn. In early June we are blessed to have Sophie to single handily care for guests until we can get there in mid-June. Sophie’s friendliness, warmth and competence are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tickle Inn at Cape Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Inn at Cape Onion

Address: RR #1, Box 62 | Box 62, Cape Onion, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Cape Onion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Onion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registered Heritage Home on oceanfront property. Original home of successful inshore fishing family from the late 1800s to mid 1900s, now lovingly restored by family. Expansive meadows and hiking trails offering spectacular vistas. Recommended in many travel guides. Winner of several tourism awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Inn At Cape Onion Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.